April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Down

by HunLyxxod - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here is my entry for the Ludum Dare 26. This is a Hexagon-like game: avoid the obstacles and try to survive longest.

Use the arrow keys to control the ship.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#181Theme3.97
#357Audio3.03
#595Fun2.94
#611Mood2.81
#705Overall3.03
#872Graphics2.63
#908Humor1.78
#1157Innovation2.19

Comments

ella guro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:42am

the .exe doesn't seem to work for me. it seems to open fine but the actual game window won't show up.

Diventurer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43am

Alright game, but got boring really fast. :S

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43am

Great job it's pretty polished for 48 hours. It just needs something to give it replay ability besides score. I only could stand playing a few times. It's not minimalism but challenges/achievements sort of like jetpack joyride games could extend its life.

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:08am

Your game starts, but I do not see a window.

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:24am

@ella guro, @My milked Eek: How do you know the game starts?
What OS are you using?
What is your screen resolution?

shotiris says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:46am

Yup, game window... where is it at? No play, sorry :(

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:13pm

I uploaded a new version to fix the window not showing when the screen vertical resolution is less than 1000px. Sorry about that.

wy477wh173 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Really simple, fits with the theme, but there isn't alot there. A decent helicopter clone, good job.

garygreen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:24pm

I really like the straightforwardness of this game and the monochrome graphics. Very frustrating though as I die far too quickly.

Celticraft49 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:52pm

I enjoyed this game, it was a similar game to Fall-Down, a game I enjoyed on the app store.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:30am

Fun little game to play. It doesn't really have much replay value for the type of game it is, you need something to keep people playing it! But good job, nonetheless :)

ananasblau says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:50am

this is surprisingly easy to play. normally i hit the walls all the time with those endless runner games but this one not. 1046m was my second run.

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:45am

I knew because there was a window in my task bar and I didn't see the actual window.

It works now.


Fun little game, but as others mentioned: little replay value. What could have been a nice addition is a speed up button.

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:18am

There is something that I don't understand:
The only objective of games like Canabalt, Escape or Hexagon (not super hexagon) is the score. They have no achievements, no leaderboards (at least in their first version), the level generator is the same each time you play. Hexagon have the notion of player level (line, triangle, …) but it's almost the same as the score.
And even if their only goal is a better score, they are not boring. In fact, they are considered addictive.

So, what doesn't work with my game? Ok, they have better graphics, better music, better realization, but it's not replay value, isn't it?
What gameplay elements my game lacks?

@My Milked Eek: The farther you go, the faster the game is. If you reach ~2500m, you will want a speed down button, not a speed up.

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Can't play, have a mac.

yokcos700 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Nice game; I quite enjoyed it. As was mentioned by others, I lack the urge to play more than a few times. But each time I played was a treat.

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:27pm

nice)

berkano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Great music! I got to about 1000m then it was too tough for me.

Salamander3 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:55pm

This was enjoyable, the different levels each restart was a nice touch, but I'm not seeing the point of the score board if the levels are changing. Felt polished and played well, however.

fishbrain says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Very simple and minimal, classic gameplay, well executed.

danblack says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Not original but on theme and nicely done. Good game but needed more variety to keep it interesting.

JMickle says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:10pm

i got 1487

Broxxar says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Reminds me of super hexagon in game play. Cool stuff.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]