April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalism

by hypp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In a newly created universe
the colors float around
freely. Bring order to chaos!
Controls: Arrows

Well, just like last time I didn't really have time...
Anyway, at least I completed something!!!
And the music turned out quite mysterious.

To start the game, click in the game window and press space.

Tips and Tricks:
* Collect all colors to see the end screen

Troubleshooting:
* I have tested it on OSX and Windows, it should work on Linux
* On OSX you might have to use a different Java version
* On Windows you might have to update your graphics driver

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#227Audio3.25
#339Theme3.76
#512Mood2.94
#788Innovation2.83
#812Humor1.89
#1006Overall2.73
#1054Fun2.40
#1060Graphics2.35

Comments

BipolarMike says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:17pm

It was definitely very minimal! Liked the audio :)

kyru says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Music was good. It interesting seeing the picture come together as I collected colors. Edge of screen sound made me cringe every time I hit it.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:30am

Lovely sound effects.

KayZ says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:01am

Cool idea. More universes to create would have been nice. I like the sound when hitting 'the end of the universe'.

May 1, 2013 @ 8:08am

Would be cool to see what you could do if you had time.

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:16am

Cool game! Nice audio and idea.
I encounterd a moment, where one triangle was outside the playfield (on the right), so I had to wait a moment, before I was able to collect it. Its not tragic, but could be a bit frustrating if a triangle would fly right next to the edge for a long time.
I was thinking "Upgrade my magnet radius", but the controls were good for me, so didn't have great problems. Well a magnet would have kind of broken the game, because you would end it too quickly.
The RGB idea was cool, but you should either put some green in the upper part of the image or create more levels, because the green seemed to have no effect until I got to the bottom of the playfield.

pragma says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:21am

It's a good concept. I wish it had more levels.

May 1, 2013 @ 8:24am

Really enjoyed this. Could've happily spent a long time "painting' the universe. Thank you!

kddekadenz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Booooring. Honestly. The sounds are ok, the music annoyed me over the time. I think there were too much objects to collect to grab my interest till the end.

markusfisch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Nice idea and good music!

Jod says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Cute little game, the audio served quite well! I was pleasantly surprised when I realized that catching colours would allow me to see more.

Salamander3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Novel idea, though the very precise collision was a bit of a pain. Quite artsy as LD games go, but still quite enjoyable.

Almax27 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Really liked the atmosphere this game created, the collision box on the player was a little offset and made me feel cheated at times but overall I quite enjoyed the experience. Good job!

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:28pm

It's really a minimal.
Cool concept, good job!:p

dotteri says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:36pm

I love that simple but immersive music. Simple controls. Simple but deep story... I've enjoyed this from start to end.

PsenFilip says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:33pm

The mood manages to be quite nice. Musics contributes a huge factor on there, I suppose.
Think the game elements are literally minimal. Actually they are way too tiny.

I don't quite get the setting at all. I failed to get a meaning out of it.
Either way, at the end I have created a beautiful universe.

Foxtacy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Yeah sorry about that, the controls of LOWBAT Really need a bit of tweaking. I'm planning to do it soon :)

May 3, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Good audio as usual!

Zim the Fox says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:14am

I didn't like the sound when you hit the end of the level x3

The idea was nice, would have been interesting to have a the ability to make universes with so much of a certain colour. Like, I don't want any blue and only a little bit of green, let's see how it comes out.

It was interesting however and I loved how the stars seemed to twinkle at the end. Good work!

Also, thank you very much for commenting on my game!

Nehmulos says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:00pm

I can confirm that it works on GNU/Linux with open Java.
Would have liked more variety and levels.
Nice transitions in visibility and that overview in the end.
I found the music very funny, well done there.

Rialgar says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:09am

Nice Idea, you can build upon this by creating different images and maybe making one of the colors represent walls/slow down zones, so that you can't see them at the beginning but after collecting some colors, it gets clear

wademcgillis says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:24pm

The little dot is too little.

Misael.K says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:44am

I liked the ship's inertia, and how the controls can still be responsive with that kind of movement.
Now, the bounding boxes felt too small, more than once I would run over a color without anything happening. There's also some contrast issues, blue on black is hard to differentiate.

May 12, 2013 @ 9:57am

Interesting idea. Not sure if I actually enjoyed playing it, but interesting for sure

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]