April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Traffic Jam

by iiechapman - Jam Entry

Here is Traffic Jam, the game you play with only ONE BUTTON,
We decided that minimalism meant to distill an idea of gameplay to its most basic essential elements. The game is played with only one button, the mechanics all become more subtly apparent as you use the single button to interact with the game.

Objective: Dodge the other cars
Ram into cars the same color as you to go faster
Ram into the psychedelic cars to enter BONUS MODE
String together consecutive hits to max out your C-C-C-COMBO!!!
Try to beat your C-C-C-COMBO or your friends!!!
Runs on Mac OS 10.7, ports to Windows and Linux coming later, source will be up soon.

Created with C++, OpenGL, SFML, Xcode,Photoshop,Garageband and Audacity.

Have Fun!!!

Update: Added Source Code, if anyone out there could help me port this to Windows, linux or any other system, let me know! Otherwise I will try my best to get it done myself!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:16am

at least a web version would be good... :(

iiechapman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:38am

I wrote the game from scratch in C++ and OpenGL, porting to other platforms is not my strong suit unfortunately :( , I would love if post-ludum I could network with people who could help me ! Next time there will be multiple ports!

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:28am

Hey, it closes right away on my Mac...

iiechapman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:30am

Prelucid, what machine are you running on?

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:30am

BBQ CHICKEN!

Potato mode's hilarity aside, this is a really solid game. I like it a lot.

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:56pm

MBP 17" Early 2011 - 2.3GHz Intel Core i7
AMD Radeon HD 6750M 1024 MB
Software Mac OS X Lion 10.7.5

iiechapman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Prelucid, strange your machine should be able to handle it, does it show an error log, or can you check your console log? And even better, could you send it to iiechapman@gmail.com. Im surprised that its having trouble on your machine. Ive tested on a bunch of Mac's running 10.7.5

iiechapman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Anyone who visits this and could help me port to linux or windows, let me know!

Cory Martin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Out of the dozens of LD games I've played in the last couple days, this is actually the most fun. I love it. The one button controls work great and the gameplay is really exciting. Though it's kind of annoying when it switches colors right as you're about to touch a block that's currently same color. I realize you can prevent that as a player by paying better attention to when it's going to change, but that's proven really hard to do for me. Also the rectangles would look much better if their outlines weren't rounded. But this is still a good game.

iiechapman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Cory I appreciate the input tremendously and I am glad you enjoyed my game. The lines where placed to ensure the player can see each rectangle, especially when the timer in the center is of the same color. The "roundedness" of the lines I felt gave them more character which I thought was cool, but at that point it comes down to peoples opinions. BTW I tested the game with the lines "straight" and it felt much the same in the end.The straight lines felt "sterile" to me so thats how I decided to change it. Thank you for you input, thats what this is all about for me!

Hume says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Controls were easy. Did they reverse on me at one point? Seems like it maybe that was intentional. No problem anyway.

Gameplay was simple, once I understood I wanted to hit some of the cars. Yeah, I read the instructions, but when I saw the ASCII art I sort of glazed. Sorry, really tired.

Love the different modes, all the audio clips. Actually I need to emphasize that: the audio is great and really funny.

Appreciate the OSX love too.

DarfnageL says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:52pm

@Hume

Your's truly here worked on the sound and music with iiechapman and we really appreciate the comments! The game saw a couple renditions that iiechapman can speak to in his part of the post mortem, but we had a lot of fun putting in the audio work to make it an enjoyable game! There will be a link in the post mortem to here some of the behind the scenes audio that didn't make it into game, so stay tuned!

dick_claus says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 3:55am

I like combos. I've done 20 combos :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]