April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

QMD

by DevWouter - Jam Entry

********************************************************
The game can take a while to load. Please be patient.
********************************************************

A simple puzzle game with a little story.

Use WASD or the arrow keys to extend your character.
F10 mutes music
F11 mutes sounds

A little secret: F12 forces to load the next level :)

Developed by: Wouter Lindenhof, Gert-Jan Hommersom and Max Aalderink

-------------------------------------------------------
CHANGELOG
1.0.1: Corrected working folder.
-------------------------------------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1775Coolness26%

Comments

Prelucid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38pm

~Couldn't get it to work. Error screen.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:02pm

can't play. Don't have windows :(

Tom 7 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:03pm

XML.lua:66: bad argument #1 to 'find' (string expected, got nil).

poohshoes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Crashes when I run it : (

DevWouter says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Sorry for that guys. The game had the wrong working path. This is now fixed.

Beanalby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Crashes when running on my laptop, win7 x64 laptop, ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5730.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: love.exe
Application Version: 0.8.0.0
Application Timestamp: 4f78fd8d
Fault Module Name: atioglxx.dll

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Very interesting game man :D but hard for me on the 3rd level D: .... also is very funny how it stretches. xD

Dax says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:35pm

I crashed here http://i.imgur.com/5W4OcUY.png
Then on my second play I went farther but the complicated level is hard without checkpoints.
Too bad you couldn't make the animation like in the title screen.

klianc09 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:41pm

WHAT'S WITH THE BLUE BLOCKS I NEED TO KNOW!
No seriously, great concept, although nearly unplayable because it is really hard. And it was kinda disorienting that the stretch "animation" didn't look like on the title screen, would have been nice if it was.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:43pm

This is so hard p_p.

I really like the core mechanic' but the difficulty ramps up way too fast. I'd really like to see where it could go in terms of new interactions!

DevWouter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:11am

@Dax: Yeah, it sometimes does that and we are not sure why. I think I will attach a debugger to it and see what is causing LÖVE to hang (or rewrite the bloody thing in C++).

@Klianc09: The entire story is in the source, but basically the robot (or whatever it might be) becomes sentient. Sadly our time was limited and we were unable to add the ending to it.

@NiceAlexanderAS and @nintendoeats: Thanks, to be fair even we (the guys who made it) are having difficulty with the game. But we also know how to cheat around it (just press F12)

May 1, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Dosn't work :(

May 2, 2013 @ 10:38am

Stops working while trying to load the levels :( I'm on Win7 64bit

intripoon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:55am

Compared to the other comments, the game runs and doesn't crash for me. However, I'm not sure about the stretch effect of the robot. In the screenshot it looks like its legs get longer, but for me, the whole robot sprite gets stretched. Besides that, I already got stuck on level 2. :(

spliter says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:19pm

The game mechanic is really cool, unfortunately I didn't manage to get past the key level, the game ramps up the difficulty really quickly and at times the framerate drops a lot for apparently no reason (mainly when stretching). I would love to see what else is done with the mechanics but it proved too frustrating to continue :/

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Crashes on load.

naufr4g0 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:18pm

I can play correctly the game on win7 64 bit.
I think game mechanic is quite innovative and gameplay interesting. Not sure about sprite stretching effect. Maybe it needs something more complex in animation.

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Awesome gameplay! Such a unique concept, it makes for a serious challenge! I am going to play this one for a while, lol.

yellowlemming says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:51pm

it just crashes while loading the first level. I am using windows 8 64 bit

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]