April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Atrakt 4096

by foumart - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Atrakt 4096 is minimalistic mixture between Sci-Fi action and a sliding puzzle.

Vanquish all alien spawns in this level based game, involving not only exploring and fighting, but planning and strategy as well.

This is the second post-compo build. The game now has better AI thought still incomplete. The UI was improved and additional sound effects ware added. Some of the annoying bugs around the explosives and the enemy lair are still around and ofcourse I introduced alot more new to the table :D Enemies still aren't pathfinding but I'm considering it as unneeded .. and there is only one new level. I'll talk about minimalism of my level design latter in a postmortem.

You can check my original submission through the source download link or by downloading windows executable.

Controls:
ARROW KEYS - movement;
SPACE(press) - switch units;

Action:
SPACE(hold) - activate EMP shockwave (Green Player); confuses the enemy with Nighmare ability (Blue Player)
SPACE(hold and release early) - looks around (Green Player); activate Invisibility (Blue Player)

R - restart level.
P - pause game.

Story: Atrakt 4096 is the name of a spacecraft sent on a resque mission for the disconnected off comunication human collony on Mars. In the interstellar voyage back to Earth the ship appeared invaded by Litoxyde alien. This species is feeding on oxygen and burning up in flames, meaning toral disaster for the spaceship while all passangers aboard are lying in stasis (cryo-sleep).
But two guards are awake: the Green Scout proficient in electromagnetic shocks and the Blue Wraith - adept in lurking and disguising. Their mission is to obliterate all alien spawns and save the ship's crew from certain death.

This game was developed in Flash-AS3 and is an extension of my Attract 4kb engine which consists of 4 kilobytes code(4 classes). Except that I have used the Tweensy library for unit's abilities blink effect and the help screen transition. The sound was generated with SFXR and the output's frequency was modified hence the echoing effect.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#433Graphics3.21
#529Innovation3.15
#531Mood2.91
#558Audio2.70
#596Overall3.13
#802Humor1.90
#1039Fun2.42
#1080Theme2.92

Comments

Brassawiking says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:54pm

I couldn't run it. Menu and reset hotkey works, but nothing else happens.

sick says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Does not work for me, nothing happens when i press arrows or spacebar.

Rialgar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

It starts but does not react to anything except pressing R which plays the level start sound again, so I think it restarts the level.

foul says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:10am

Hello, thanks for trying my game and I apologize for the bad experience. I investigated the problem and it seems to be a Chrome browser issue (http://productforums.google.com/forum/#!topic/chrome/HhKWdA3UQEk) I did not found a solution to the problem from my side, so I suggest trying the game in another browser, or just download it as zipped SWF from Windows link at the top.

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:11am

Interesting concept, but I had a hard time figuring out how to play it. Some more instructions such as basic mechanics and goals would help a lot. Maybe you could fill in that empty Help menu? ;)

richtx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:16am

No input for me.

Szedouu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:51am

yout game looks nice but havent figured out how to win

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Almost managed lv 1, got quite frustrating due movement of the slides... I don't have the patience to coax the meanies around to the right places to squish... Nicely put together though.

May 1, 2013 @ 9:18am

Really had no idea what was going on but the whole feel of it was nice. Like some kind of abstract Pac-Man.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:38am

Stellar visuals; they really fit the minimalism theme. One thing I wish was that the special ability key was separate from the one you use to change players. Sometimes I would unintentionally swap to my other character when trying to ward off aliens, getting mauled in the process. Increasing the player's movement speed a tad might be nice too.

Minor gripes aside, 'tis a fun and unique title.

loxo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:38am

This is a really nice game. I think you have successfully combined action and puzzle. It took me some attempts to win the first level, but in retrospect the first level seems really easy. Maybe a simple tutorial incorporated in this level could help to get started.

foul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:02pm

I'm glad that you had fun with my game :) I'm currently creating an animated tutorial to place in the Help screen for your ease. The game still has many bugs (like the oddities around the space key or related to enemy AI) but I'm determined to take rid of them ..

Rialgar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:11pm

I get the idea and I think is good, but for me the learning curve is much too steep. I red the desciption but still could not win the first level. The minimalistic graphics are nice, but maybe you should make the effects of the abilities clearer (in a visual way).

Jiggawatt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:54pm

A technically good proof-of-concept, but the main problem is a lack of explanation. Basic things like what you actually need to *do* in the game, what items can be pushed and why.

MRvanderPants says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:23am

Cool story and nice art, but it takes some time to understand the game. Maybe you could include some short tutorial or something like that.

juaxix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:41am

Could you make a video of the howto play please? I can understand the rules of the game :)
But it looks nice

juaxix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:42am

Could you make a video of the howto play please? I cant understand the rules of the game :)
But it looks nice

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:22am

Sci-Fi horror game!
I like the ambient and mood.
Good job :p

Alink says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:38pm

A lot of interesting mechanics and well executed, but quite unclear at first. I got stuck at stage 4 (just an empty room with a closed red square?).

SmilingCat says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:10am

Very nice! Interesting, with the safe and danger zones, and the mechanic of kicking the bombs into place.

Great job!

brookman32k says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Interesting mix between puzzler and action game ;)

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Wild and unique gameplay! So simple, too. I will be playing this one for a while!

bvanschooten says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:55pm

I played the postcompo version. Interesting concept and quite a complex game, I appreciate the effort of trying something new. The audio sounds like sfxr, but it is some of the best I´ve heard so far. As is, the game seems quirky though, maybe the game is too complex to get right within 48h? Sometimes the explosive ticks, sometimes it explodes immediately. The enemies also move randomly, sometimes they home in and kill you immediately and sometimes they wait or take a wrong exit, so you get more time and can complete the level. Completing a level seemed a matter of getting a lucky shot when the aliens open the door at the right moment. Also it did not seem useful to switch between the players, and I don´t understand when exactly the player characters die. Is level 4 the end of the game? It seems to be empty.

foul says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:55am

Thanks for the comments and feedback! I almost lost the judgement period due to some personal difficulties, anyways as i promised check the updated version with a lot of improvements: an entirely new AI, animated Tutorial and Briefing. There are four levels now, sorry but there is empty level again.. let's think of it as a minimalistic expresion that the alien invasion was cleared :D Just kidding :) Now i'm about to play some of your games at last :) See ya

cableplays says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:40am

Cool but kind of confusing and hard!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]