April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimallist

by commanderstitch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This was a very interesting game to make in the sense that i wasn't entirely sure i'd get this far.

It was very much a learning experience for me as i was able to do several things that i haven't been able to do before. very exciting things.
I know there are things it lacks and things i wish could have been better, boss fights for one was one that i really wanted to make better, but you live and you learn.
there is one game crashing bug i know of. it's found in the
instructions. Do not collect an item from a boss while having the inventory window open. there you go.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#223Humor2.84
#569Graphics3.00
#864Audio2.17
#926Mood2.50
#980Fun2.50
#1003Innovation2.47
#1091Overall2.63
#1301Theme2.38
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

TheFudster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:41am

Nice work. The controls are a little goofy for me though. I found using the mouse a bit awkward.

daniel2357 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Nice Game. Is it just me or when you lost- if you try again you loose after a second?. In Summary - nice game :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:05am

so not really sure what the object was -- i like the graphics -- what is the ninja doing? get job!

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Coolio. A few things:

* I seemed to be able to knock enemies through the walls
* It'd be nice to add an invulnerability period after the player gets damaged
* The game lagged for me at times

The sprites and sounds were nice though, and it was fun to smack things with my purse. Is the ninja killable, by chance?

nintendoeats says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:08am

As discussed in IRC. Pretty fun game, needs refinement.

SuperDisk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Weird/fun game. The sounds kinda hurt.

Graphics were nice.

Switchbreak says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:00pm

I am pretty baffled by what's going on here.

itsZN says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:17pm

A little hard to play, and the repeating sound is weird.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Some cool ideias :)

BrothersT says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Nice graphics, but it took way too long to collect 100 pieces of gold, so I had to give up at 45 unfortunately.

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Fun and funny! love the art!

cardboard says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:35am

It took me awhile to figure out what to do, but that was probably because the first boss got himself stuck in a wall. Because of this I just wandered and collected gold while avoiding the ninja. Once I got the bazooka the game became significantly more fun :D I killed the first boss by shooting him through the wall. Although it lagged at some points (because of the bazooka) I ended up beating the game. Pretty good graphics. The bosses were unique and interesting for the relatively short amount of time that they lived >:D The one thing that annoyed the crap out of me was the sound of getting hurt being played multiple times at once. Overall I really enjoyed it.

kurrik says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:32am

I think I would've liked it if the enemies bounced back or something after hitting you, felt kind of weird to have the ninjas just suck a bunch of life. I feel like there's a cool/weird vibe though which could be built upon.

acro says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:22am

I didn't see any boss, but the help message hyped it up. :(
Apart from that... WHAT the HELL is going on!! First I thought I was a hobo on a scooter in a shopping centre full of Super Saiyans. Even though it said "click mouse to fire" I still took about 5 minutes, and 50% damage, before realising why the handbag only fired downwards. (I needed to move the mouse to aim) So I'm a goofy lil' old lady? And there are ninjas phasing in and out of the walls with a surprisingly cool smoke/dash animation, and they say "impossibleeee" when killed. The 'getting hurt' sound effect actually hurts the player's ears. And what freaked me out was, the lil lady's voice sounds different between saying she's out of attack and saying she's recovered her attack stamina.
In summary: this is INCREDIBLE! :D

theomnis says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:12am

I liked the crazy chef looking guy.

Bloated Hippo says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:30am

I like their hair ;)

voxel says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:08am

BEST AUDIO PRIZE
BEST BLOND GROCERY WORKER GRAPHICS PRIZE
most annoying ninja.. prize.

I hope you enjoy your prizes as much as I enjoyed your insane game

Dotanukii says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:18pm

I found the controls to be stange at times, and the objective wasn't very clear. I didn't know what the little black enemies(?) were for and they never posed a threat, and were just annoying. I liked the concept of finding the items though and going through the different shops. Pretty good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]