April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Simple Circle

by zatyka - 48 Hour Compo Entry

25 Levels... 3 colors... 1 circle.

The goal is simple; get the circle to its home (the square with the circle cut out of it). There are 3 different shapes to help you accomplish that goal. Every level can be solved multiple ways; the real challenge is using as few shapes as possible.


Controls:
- Drag and Drop shapes with left mouse button.
- Right mouse click to rotate shapes.
- Double click or drag shape outside of level to destroy.
- M to toggle sound/music

Assuming you don't clear your temporary internet files, your progress should be saved as you progress through the levels. If you beat the game, you'll see your total number of shapes used on the main page (lower is better). My current lowest is 70.


Made in about 16 hours. I hope you enjoy the game. Feedback is welcome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#49Fun3.80
#95Theme4.11
#105Overall3.76
#144Mood3.50
#227Audio3.25
#439Innovation3.27
#481Humor2.33
#512Graphics3.09

Comments

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

Very cool. Really liked the mechanics and the simplicity. Could spend much more time in this. Liked the art, sound, and physics. I'm jealous - I was originally planning to go physics based, and you did it.

Fervir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Pretty awesome puzzle game.
Reminds me of the incredible toon machine from way back when.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Occasionally a game appears each LD that astounds me with both it's simplicity and it's beauty. This is that game. Beautiful ambience and great game mechanic. Well done indeed!

pknowles says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Very well done! Quite a fun game, good atmosphere with music and tutorial dialogue. You can get away with some rather questionable layouts since placement collision isn't checked for rotations, which imo improves the game.

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:30pm

GREAT game, very impressed! The music reminds me of runescape a bit.

One suggestion- its kind of annoying that the pieces dont place if you click them too far into gray, maybe have them bump out automatically?

syawqy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08am

really fit the theme

evoker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:30am

Nice game. Very well put together and fun to play.

_Rilem says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Very fun to play actually! :)

The sound that plays when you get the ball to it's home is a bit harsh for the ears though. :p

The music sets a great mood and the game fits the theme really well.

Good job!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:24pm

I can't run it (web,chrome) . When i click to start level i see black screen and button "back to menu"

brantkings says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Had lots of fun with this! If this was made in 16h, congratulations, man!

zatyka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:03pm

@RealyUniqueName

So sorry to hear that, you can always use the Windows or OSX downloads instead. Unfortunately I'm unable to duplicate the issue with the web version.

If you'd be so kind, could you give me some more info. Are you using the most recent version of chrome? Did you happen to try on any other browsers. When you click "Click here to begin" does the screen go straight to black? Does it fade white, and then go black?

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:11pm

I love a great physics puzzler and this is a great physics puzzle. Therefore, I love it. Excellent job!

Cosine says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Like the game! The moving text is very cool.

SuperDisk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Cool game! I really like this one a lot.

Hayawi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:35am

Very nice mechanics and simplicity, well done, and the music fits perfectly

HybridMind says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:37am

Good work on this solid minimalist physics puzzler! I got all the way to level 13 so far. Quite polished.

May 1, 2013 @ 2:59am

Love the use of the camera when hitting play. Clever take on the theme and a great game overall. Congratulations!

Yann says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:40am

Nice ideas, and cool mecanics (:
At some point I got stuck and ragequited though and then I remembered that I had some sleep deprivation. So I gave it another try today.
Definitely a good entry (:
The thing that made me ragequit I think is that you spend some time figthing against the UI.. You don't have any indication if you'll drop a piece at a valid place or not. It would have been easier if the piece turned red when invalid, or something like that.

But some good puzzle overall o/

zatyka says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:30am

@yann I completely agree about the indicator. It was on my to-do list, but I ran out of time, and felt that it would be too much of a new feature to add in after the deadline. Thanks for playing and the feedback!

Morgawr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Wow, this game is great, I spent like hours trying to solve all the puzzles with as little figures as possible. Great adaptation to the theme, kudos to you!

Jim Haslett says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:35am

I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this game!

john_conder9 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:38am

This is amazing and you'd never know it was an LD game, which is just even cooler. Great work!

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:45am

Great puzzle game! The music is quite nice! You've put a lot of thought into your level designs and it definitely shows! :D

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:32am

Expertly done physics, clean sprites, and great audio. It's like a minimalistic version of The Incredible Machine. Give it a go, people! :)

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:41am

@Tyro

Thank you for the kind words (Actually, thank EVERYONE for the kind words), but I can't take a huge amount of responsibility for a majority of the physics. The engine I used (Construct 2) is powered by Box2DWeb that does the heavy lifting.

madlee says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:43am

awesome job, my only complaint is that it was too easy to accidentally remove shapes when placing near the edge. maybe some sort of visual indication that the piece is going to be in an invalid location would be helpful. lots of fun, and challenging!

markusfisch says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:01pm

That's really a very good puzzle game for only 16 hours work! Very well done!

rujo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:42pm

very nice and well done entry. maybe the idea is not the most original one but is well developed and adapted for the theme.

Angerus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Very nicely done and have a interesting level design. Didn't make it to the end this time but maybe next time ! Great job!

sharbelfs says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Good puzzle game. Simply and fun. I love the music of the game too.

evilDan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:29am

This was really good! The levels are very clever!

Jorjon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:24am

Incredible Machine much. Great job, though I got stuck at the "tricky one".

zatyka says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:38am

Thanks for the feedback everyone. Believe it or not, I've never actually played any Incredible Machine games. However, after looking it up, I can definitely see the similarities.

ThirteenWB says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:09am

Fit the theme well and was a good concept. The physics was extremely well done and the audio was really nice :)

Foxtacy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Awesome.

This game hooked me up for like 10 minutes!

Just a little suggestion. It would be nice if you could, idk hold shift to duplicate a shape!

Good Work!

Foxtacy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Umm... i'm looking forward to improving my game here so,

If you could clarify that a little bit for me i would be thankful ^^:

"The platforming mechanics could be definitely be tightened"

What exactly do you mean? The controls? the jump height? the overall game speed?

Thanks for your help :3

Foxtacy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Ah nice! some of the things you pointed out i have fixed already. About the slow fall, yeah, i think i need to tweak that a little.

But thanks! your review was really helpful ^^

Zim the Fox says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:24am

First of all, thank you for commenting on my game :3

There is no Audio in the web version for me, I'm, running Maxthon; so I got the Windows version and it is amazing. I gave the audio a low score however because the 'ping' is KILLING me.

The game is fun though, good job! :3

Dir3kt says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:53pm

cool a mini TIM :) Impressive amount of levels!

MetroidMan347 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:48am

Very nice! Liked the music.

Zillix says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:15am

awesome work! great puzzles, music and mechanics. very polished, particularly for only 18 hours of work.

might be worth adding the sound toggle key (M) to the controls list!

zatyka says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Whoops. Just added the music controls to the description. Thanks!

Jonapulse says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Simple. Fun. Very well put together--I liked the zoom on play.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:14pm

The audio "beep" sounded extremly annoying to my ears and I wish I could mute the music (not "bad", just, not my style). Also, you could've introduced shapes a bit faster to give a better "variety" feeling. I'm stuck at lv13, which my be too hard for me ?
But the game is simple yet very enjoyable, it reminds me "The Incredible Machine" (lite version :D), and scoring by using less shapes is smart. Also, the zoom effect is immersive. Good job man :)

JustinMullin says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Fun little physics game. I got a little annoyed with the arbitrary distance within which I could place things, but that's a minor quibble. I had a lot of fun. =)

sparkleswirl says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:41am

Really nice game. Great level design!

Spiridios says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:27am

The goal sound is pretty harsh - as my wife can attest while I was playing. Placement was a bit touchy, definitely need to constrain the pieces or warn the player that they're about to place it in an invalid location rather than having the piece snap back. However, it was quite a fun physics/puzzle game, good job!

Xeke_Death says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:14am

Not sure if intentional, but I was able to rotate the shapes after pressing play. Was an entertaining game. Got 78 shapes on my play through.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]