April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Save the princess of the minimalist world!

by Toastation - 48 Hour Compo Entry

/!\ WARNING : This game is harder than Super Ghouls 'N Ghosts on NES !

Info :
- Java with LWJGL
- Paint.NET
- SFXR
- Audacity

You are the hero of a minimalist world. Everyone know your courage and your strength.
An evil power, jealous of your princess kidnapped her.
Hurry up! She is dying! You MUST saved the princess. Explore the minimalist world but be careful at the blocks.

The goals is to save the princess at each level before she die. But don't touch at the blocks!

Important : I know that the last level (level 20) is very very very difficult so if you want to win the game press "V" to skip levels.

Could you please report bugs or level difficulty in comments.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#204Humor2.91
#339Theme3.76
#350Audio3.04
#512Fun3.03
#584Overall3.14
#906Graphics2.59
#978Innovation2.52
#990Mood2.42

Comments

PaidGEEK says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:08am

I have nothing bad to say about this xD Really enjoyable and hard! Potatoes!

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:35am

Wow, its hard.

Toastation says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:03pm

To be honest, I haven't managed to succeed the last level so its hard :) This is why I add the "V" key to skip levels. I want the player to see the last words of the princess

Colisan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Very good game, I didn't succeed to pass the 9th level xD (and I don't wan't to use 'V', I don't deserve to see the end ^^)

Martze says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:32pm

The invisible blocks are a real pain in the ass.

Also, you can't move diagonal?

zairon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:33pm

This is a pretty fun but hard game.

Toastation says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46pm

@Martze - It depends of the screen, decrease the brightness of your screen to see them correctly. In fact they are not invisible but a little bit darker than normal blocks
- Diagonal? Too easy! I want the game to be hard!

@zairon Thanks!

siondream says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:01pm

I loved the simplicity of the mechanics and even the graphics, they're nothing extraordinary as you surely know, but they're very cohesive. A few things on the gameplay:

- Bullets are cheeky, can't see them coming! Maybe that's fair enough, they're smart traps.
- The red blocks are cheeky too! You necessarily have to die to uncover them.

Besides that, it's great! Good job!

Toastation says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:20pm

@siondream Wow thank you ! I know the red block are cheeky, but on my screen they are a little bit darker than normal blocks. I should make them darker.

NuSan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Very challenging, i will need much more patience to beat it. I like the idea, but i could not realy grasp the bullet patterns, so sometimes it's more luck than real skill or learning. An option to move diagonaly would be great, or at least use the last key pressed, instead of having like UP overide a LEFT input. Good game.

Beldarak says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:28am

This game is more stressful than the last 4 hours of the jam :D

Toastation says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:01pm

@Beldarak Thank you, it's what I want you to feel when you play my game *muahahaha*

May 1, 2013 @ 9:49pm

I Like mode that game is hard. Liked art style!

Toastation says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:46am

@PabloAlexandre31 Thanks!

PPLo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Well, you didn't lie about the difficulty! The 8th level is haaaard!
For the game itself, I liked it! Again a simple creation nicely made and with a good difficulty. Great!

danblack says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Good game, good challenge. Not the most original but a lot of game done really well. Well played

P.S. I used my winning time machine to go back and stop any other time travelers from changing the theme to potato ;)

Toastation says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:06pm

NOOOOOOOO! Why did you do that? :(

May 4, 2013 @ 5:25am

Fun and interesting game. Challenging, but not frustratingly so. Although the speed-tiles are more of a hazard than a help :P Got up to but not past level 8.

Toastation says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Thanks :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]