April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Blind MazzzZZZZe of Colors

by fr_automatik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game where the only thing you can see is one color.
You are in a maze, but you can't see anything. You have to get to the potato at the other end of the maze.
Be warned, walls are deadly.
Note: If you don't understand something, use the konami code on the main menu.
Then play.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#14Innovation4.19
#42Theme4.26
#443Audio2.88
#455Mood3.00
#650Graphics2.92
#812Overall2.93
#1072Fun2.37
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22am

Wow... I really like the idea! :)

Ysty says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Really great idea. Controls were a little bit finicky, but otherwise it was well implemented.

Zccc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Very innovative, but a bit weird, I lost myself pretty quickly xD Still I love the concept

kacperski1 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Very clever idea, but I haven't made it to the end of the maze D:
Still great game.

MrBlade says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:41pm

This is a very neat game! I enjoyed how each color represented a different bit. It was hard to get the point of, and I ended up just giving up. Part of what really made this game fun, was that there was there felt like there was a really set back when you died. Different and interesting.

TheBenjaneer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Nice Idea!
I've been unable to complete a maze so far though :/
It'd be nice to get a chance (interactively) to see the RGB in comparison to a visible black/white level during the tutorial/instructions just to get a feel for how it reflects upon the game-play. Might make the controls a little more intuitive.

Other than that, no complaints, Nice job!

kyyninen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Concept is creative, but... I don't know. Maybe it isn't just for me. Presentation was beautiful and sounds alluring!

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Interesting idea. I understood the concept but had no clue what I was doing. I was turning until the red went down then moving forwards, but that seemed to be fruitless.

inko says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Dammit! I'm just too stupid/impatient/lazy for this, sry mate. But cool concept nevertheless! I might try it again some later date.

mort96 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Interesting concept.

Spiridios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:12am

Since you die if you touch a wall, I think the controls would be better if you were confined to the four cardinal directions. I didn't realize they weren't until I activated the cheat mode. Like the game idea though.

infernet89 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:46pm

This is a very original idea, but way too challenging for me!

@SamPotasz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Neat idea! One change that would've helped me would be to have the player turn whenever they HIT "left" instead of holding it down. Sometimes it felt like I turned too quickly (although I'm not sure if that's what's really going on :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]