April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Block Runner

by Flai - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Wow, didn't think I'd finish this. Started 5 hours before the deadline and had lots of trouble with collisions. This was the fourth game I started for this LD (two of the games before were playable and quite far, but I just felt.. I don't know, I felt that they weren't just that good ideas after all).

Anyways. It's a simple runner game, so jump and try to survive :) Press space to jump and hold it to jump longer. Unfortunately I didn't have much time to make the content, so there's only 6 different sectors which means it'll be quite boring :(

Requires XNA4.0 Redistributable.

PS. Almost forgot! When you have died, press enter to restart the level.
PPS. Forgot to write editor controls. Left click adds solid tile, Middle click adds air tile and right click adds lava tile.
PPPS. Oh, and more thing. Holding down the middle mouse button and dragging outside the tilemap-area in the editor moves the camera.
PPPPS. 4th PS :) Anyways, just in case someone didn't understand, the game is "sector-based". That is, when you create a sector in the editor and save it to the "Levels" folder, the next time you play the game your sector can come at anytime.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#325Theme3.77
#786Fun2.73
#790Overall2.95
#942Graphics2.55
#952Mood2.47
#1129Innovation2.23
#1594Coolness37%

Comments

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:54am

Bonus points for level creator.

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:44pm

the game crash when i click on the .exe

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Wow, a level editor... It would be nice if it automatically restarted when I failed, preferably at the same starting place so I can learn from my mistakes.

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Glad you didn't give up! Pretty impressive for only 5 hours of work, including multiple levels and an editor and everything. The jumping mechanics aren't bad, but I feel like they could use even more tuning since they're so central to the game. Well done, though! I'm curious what your other prototypes were...

bushmango says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:42pm

I love that you included the editor. The game itself was WAAAY to hard for me.

dark_hunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:41am

A little bit harder on some places.

zinfandel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:32am

Very nice game. I died a lot, maybe make it so the space effect is more pronounced - that we can jump longer. And less things which can kill us.
I love the overall mood here.

Flai says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:07am

Thanks to all of you for your kind words :) !

@egos

Hmm.. Are you sure you have XNA4.0 installed? Also your computer must have good enough GPU to support it, but since I used XNA's "Reach" Mode, pretty much every GPU in the past 8 years should support it :)

@metadept

Yeah, I'm kinda planning to port this to Windows Phone (and obviously add more sectors /variety etc.) and I'll definitely tweak the jumping. Maybe also make the collision a little bit forgiving, like if you just barely touch the right side of the block, it doesn't kill you.

Anyways, my previous games: The first one was a platformer. I had a sort of unique idea for it but I scrapped it before I implemented it. Collision and moving was working already though when I scrapped it.

Then I started making a roguelike game. Got dungeon generation kinda working, had enemies, had stats, had moving (didn't have attacking or items though). Here's a screenshot of it: http://i.imgur.com/RlAT2Eu.png

The third one was this puzzley game where you had to connect all the dots with the same color to each other without the lines between them intersecting with any other line. I thought that it was good idea at first but didn't come up with even a single decent level :( I had a level editor for this too :P Screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/ZAce8Wx.jpg

Pixelboy_85 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Yay for level editor! Great entry.

mortl8324 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Very cool game. A bit unforgiving though. I pretty much never died to lava but always died cause I barely touched the side of the wall... Other than that, GREAT game!

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Great game. Could have been easier on some levels. But great. Also Level editor!

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:42pm

I died way too many times, and it crashes too much, but all in all it seems quite good!

+1 for level editor!

timtipgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:29pm

another +1 for the editor.

Joror says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Too much platformy jumpy for me, but color-scheme is really expressive. Couldn't get the 'long' jump by holding space?

Flai says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:10am

@Joror

Hmm, holding space should make you jump longer, though the effect is not very strong. Most likely you just didn't notice it :P

Rafael Sales says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Great runner. Interesting and simplistic solution to the theme. Congratz! Keep working dude

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]