April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rhythm Rogue

by bowlercaptain - Jam Entry

The second Ludum Dare game made by ZX Programming. Enjoy!

It's a roguelike, controlled with WASD and the arrow keys or a configurable gamepad. Unlike the average roguelike, however, motion only happens on the down-beats of the rhythm, and the music of the room controls the way that the enemies and your attacks behave, applying bonuses to certain attacks on certain beats or against certain enemy types.

Designed, programmed, arted, and Bfxred by Gidaio and Bowlercaptain. Two drum samples from drumhits.biz.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#62Innovation(Jam)3.70
#257Audio(Jam)2.96
#269Theme(Jam)3.27
#387Overall(Jam)2.84
#408Mood(Jam)2.52
#421Fun(Jam)2.45
#432Graphics(Jam)2.61

Comments

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:01am

I love everything about this game concept. You got all of the elements of a rhythm roguelike wrapped up in minimalism. Nice job

TehSkull says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:55am

I don't really understand how to kill anything on this game. I'm supposed to deal damage somehow but it's not really working. Also the slow pacing of the game was a real turn-off.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:56am

Very clever concept! I love the innovation there!

It isn't really used to much effect, though. Attacking and moving on the down-beat is a cool idea, but the enemies are just unavoidable swarms with no real variety and, so far as I could tell, weren't much of a threat. I never came across any items or anything interesting to find, meaning that, as a Roguelike, it doesn't really have any of what makes a Roguelike fun. Instead I was just holding down keys to move and trying to tap space to the down-beat. It's a neat idea, but I feel like it needs a purpose and was lacking one.

Still, kudos for the neat ideas!

ethankennerly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:01am

The beats during a fight entertained me! Clever. If you continue to develop this, have you considered giving an indication when I'm off the beat how much I'm off the beat by and whether I was early or late?

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:05am

I'm not sure at what I'm supposed to do... ?

bowlercaptain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:37am

We seem to have missed mentioning that you attack with the arrow keys or joypad buttons - space only begins the game or goes down a floor.
Also, if you'll suffer through the first floor, I think your pacing worries will be resolved.

Msquirrel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:34am

Really clever concept, nicely done, difficult to avoid or kill the enemies though :S

triplefox says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:38am

This is very cool and I got into it more when I figured out the details of the controls(tapping the arrows to the beat, not holding them down), however the balance and other mechanics need work for it to shine. Please work on it more, it has potential!

Frosnite says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Quite cool! Took me some time to understand until I read the description, but once I got started, it was really cool :D. Cheers!

The4thCircle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Found it a bit hard to get on with, but really liked the concept. Reminds me of the dungeon subgame in rhythm tengoku. Less minimalistic than most rhythm games I've played, such as the aformentioned rhythm tengoku and beat sneak bandit, which are based around one touch controls. Liked it though.

Beldarak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Nice concept but the controls definitely feels wrong. Don't know if it's a bug or the same for everyone but I need to hold the key some time to move.

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Very interesting concept, I like it. Hard to get the controls though.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:36am

too slow for me -- but was a very interesting idea so hi points for innovation -- nice effort

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:41pm

"It's not a Win32 valid application". I'm using WinXP 32-bit.

SuperDisk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:27am

Great idea! I play an instrument so this kind of makes sense. (up/downbeats)

May 5, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Sadly it seems there's no Win32-version of the game, so I can't play it. :( (WinXP, 32-bit)

KHANanaphone says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:45am

I'm impress by the AI for some reason...they know which side to attack from.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]