April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

For Victory!

by poga - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game with only the final winning step

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#306Humor2.64
#590Theme3.50
#884Innovation2.68
#1135Graphics2.24
#1196Fun2.15
#1229Mood1.84
#1284Overall2.24

Comments

Ace says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46am

Pretty good game, very minimalistic. Though maybe you should tweak it so that the game doesn't play itself.

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:51am

Good concept. But is there a way to lose this game? A challenge would be great.

lekochen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:48am

XD

FenrisWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:31pm

This was a super minimalistic game. But maybe a little TOO minimalistic. I would've liked something a little more to happen. Good concept, though.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:31pm

well... minimalist ^^

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:32am

I played this for longer than I expected I would after I realized what was going on. I kept waiting to "die" but realized it probably wasn't going to happen. Funny how something so simple can make a person set up and actually pay attention.

SuperDisk says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:07am

Doesn't seem to be a way to lose, but still a cool concept.

Jod says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:23am

Some kind of timer would have made the goal achievable :).

Awennor says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:55am

Good take on the theme and on the mechanic, but lack of timer and goal was a pretty big flaw

lambomang says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Hah, nice game :D
But like others have said, it needs a way to lose or a way for the game to end.
Like maybe a timer. Add more time when you catch Marios, lose time when you miss maybe?

alts says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:27pm

I'm a little embarrassed by how long it took me to realize what the silhouettes were. I appreciate the extreme approach the the theme. As others have mentioned, some framework for meaningful interaction would have been nice.

May 6, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Heh, that looks familiar somehow :) Would be nice if you got more points the higher up the flagpole you catch the plumbers. And I suppose some challenge or a way of losing would be needed for it to be a proper game.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:23pm

A game were you can't lose :D

dertom says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Hmm,..actually I did like the game, but is there a way to win or loose or is it just the gameplay? I think if there would be something like levels with increasing difficulty (speed, amount, angles, whatever) it would be good game that would fit 1000% the theme.
Nontheless, good job!

paulopn says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:06pm

I had a laugh at the idea, but it really needs some kind of challenge (and sound)...

Turtle says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:13am

Really clean and straight mock of the classic

mildmojo says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:27am

Cute idea, but it would feel better if each "win" had a little more ceremony to it instead of just feeling like an ever-increasing score.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]