April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pix

by Holofire - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A minimalistic game with pixels and colours. The aim of the game is to get the blue pixel to the green pixel. However, you must travel across every light gray tile along the way.

There are 30 levels in total, each slightly more difficult than the last. Can you complete all 30 levels??

Linux version needs to be run through terminal, sorry :(

My twitter: @ItsHolofire

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#42Fun3.84
#57Theme4.20
#100Overall3.78
#386Mood3.11
#497Graphics3.11
#510Innovation3.18
#690Humor2.05
#756Audio2.37

Comments

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:21am

Linux and Mac ports up tommorow, way too tired to day atm.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:21am

Awesome Game!! :)

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Works with “java -jar Pix_Linux.jar”, but why use wasd and not the arrow keys? I have to change keymaps to play the game…

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:43pm

I did add support for arrow keys. Not sure why It wasn't working for you.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Very good game, I like the gameplay, and the variety of pixels along the levels.
The only bad thing is the audio which becomes annonying after a few minutes...

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Very challenging and addicting!

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Best game so far, well done! Some of the levels are too easy (and not sorted correctly) but all in all I had fun and wanted to complete it. The movement sound can be annoying after a while though, and it would be nice to have key repeat.

XtremePrime says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Had so much fun with this game! It is both challenging and fun to play.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Very cool, it's like playing a path-finding algorithm :D
I wish there was a way to keep the key pressed to walk instead of tapping it like crazy.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Great game! You had me scratching my noggin on several levels, which is all I wish from a puzzle game. :) Level order was a bit off from time to time but thats a small complaint.

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Excelent game, the best one I've played so far!
Level 18 is a thing of pure evil! :P

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Nice and challenging game!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:10pm

This game is incredibly satisfying - the blip and progress bar are really effective. Looks great too :)

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Thanks for the feedback guys. Three things I would improve on if I could do it again would be:

- Improve level order so it doesn't go from an insanely difficult level to an really easy level.
- Modify the movement sound. It can become really annoying.
- Add a way to move multiple pixels in the same direction without repeatedly pressing the button.

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Solid puzzle game with fun levels! I quite enjoyed my play of this. I stopped at level 14 because the challenge/satisfaction level wasn't ramping fast enough. I think a few more block types adding flavor to your 30 levels could have pulled me through. The yellow block certainly added value once it appeared.

Your progression (what I saw of it) was very good. You taught concepts and then explored them. I was never left thinking a level had a bug (because it ramped up the difficulty too quickly.)

Very solid entry.

TheMaster99 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:48pm

fun as hell :D I had to stop myself from playing just so i could finally rate it.

LostDatagram says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Very good, enjoyed playing all of the levels of this game. Two things: the sound quickly gets annoying; some of the colour combinations were very hard to distinguish for me (I'm colour blind).

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:51pm

LostDatagram, thanks for playing. I appreciate the feedback and will consider the colours in future :D

shohs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:07am

Pretty nice game. The only thing that annoyed me about it was the sound, but beside that pretty good game. I beat all 30 level, though some of them took me a lot of tries.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:40am

This was a fun puzzler! The beeping became a little annoying. I got to about level 18, at which point I thought things were starting to get challenging. I liked the addition of orange blocks that server as, um... overpasses? Are there more blocks later?

Thanks for releasing a Linux port! Do you have twitter? I'd like to call you out for this lovely game.

Holofire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:42am

Yes, its @ItsHolofire , Thanks for playing :D

nilstastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:49am

Pros: Very fun, easy to get into the game and i would probably enter a trance-like-state if i played all 30 levels. =)
Cons: I would like to be able to move multiple squares by holding down the key

glisk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:07am

This game is really nice, it's quite difficult and needs thinking to be completed. Good job

Hegemege says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:14am

Awesome puzzle game! The controls are really good, the game mechanics feel intuitive and the steady difficulty curve kept the player happy for being able to complete even the hardest of levels in a reasonable amount of time (I beat all 30 of them in 20 minutes I think) Again, really great work!

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Fun little puzzle game. Could have done with a steeper puzzle difficulty, I found myself getting bored while doing the same thing over and over again. Also, a soundtrack would have been awesome.

T800 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:53pm

brilliant :)

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Simple and clever puzzle game. I like it

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:58pm

My daughter says that she has seen this on Club Penguin. Competently executed though - nice job.

Holofire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:11pm

@badlydrawnrod: Hah, I know exactly what she means. I had CP phase once...oh the memories.

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:14pm

I think I've already seen this concept, but this adaptation isn't that bad. The levels are difficult enough, made it to level 19 :)

naufr4g0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Awesome puzzle game! I love the level design and the colors! :)

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Pretty good game, I liked the colour scheme and the simplicity. Good job. Also, beat level 30 ;)

M0N0QUARTZ says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Good game, sounds make me crazy!

Pickehut says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Great game! I enjoyed the level design a lot!

Smaxx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Very entertaining, although that "step sound" is getting a bit annoying over time. And the file size could be abit more minimalistic with 16 MB. :)

Holofire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Ah, thanks for pointing out the file size Smaxx. Ill take that into consideration next time.

Zccc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:57am

Very good puzzles, I really enjoyed it!

hirsch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:54pm

The game worked fine for me and the concept is really fun. Level 7 was quite harder than the following ones.
The minimalistic sounds did the job and overall its an addicting little game. :)

dotteri says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:15pm

I've spent a while with this nice puzzle game. Ths sound is a bit annoying but is ok. Really a nice challenge. The graphics are simple but with style.

nintendoeats says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:03am

I am red/green colourblind. I see 3 colours for 6 blocks. I don't think that I can play this. Sorry :(

Holofire says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:52am

@nintendoeats: Hah, you dont need to say sorry. My fault for not adding in an alternative color pallete or pattern on blocks. LastDatagram has given me some advice for the remake of this, Pix+.

plash says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Notes:

- Woah, 30 levels!
- Ah, movement lays tiles that prevent you from backtracking.
- Level 2. Bar at bottom shows the number of tiles you have covered?
- This is going to get hard. I have to pay careful attention to my moves.
- The movement sound is a little bit too high in frequency and volume.
- Level 9. This is not proving to be as difficult as I expected. Well-done difficulty curve? We shall see.
- Level 10. New tile; allows player to move over twice.
- Level 14. Definitely adding to the difficulty.
- Finally got it! On to level 15.
- That was easier than the last. Level 16.
- "HOLO". I almost kept my name in one of my levels. Replaced it with Gomez's fez.
- Level 18. Very difficult until I put two and two together. Channel would not be fillable later, so must be done first.
- Being introduced to teleporters. Some of these are very easy.
- Level 26. I see a key on the map.
- Level 28. This one took a while.
- Level 30. Hoooo.
- Won! Took three tries.

- Great game. Good number of levels in there. Fairly good difficulty curve.

Things I would change:

- Make the movement sound less harsh.
- Make movement key repeat. Tedious for tough levels.
- Hardcore mode: moving back onto light blue kills you!

Holofire says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:23am

Wow, thanks for playing plash. I appreciate the comments.

So, I am doing a post compo re-make of Pix, which will be named Pix+ (I know, amazing name....). Anyway, here is a brief list of what will be added/changed:

- Level curve will be altered and more levels will be added
- More gameplay mechanics. For example, ice tiles that when you move on them, they force you to continue in that direction until you are off an ice tile.
- Massive changes to sound. The beep...that infamous beep.
- Fancy movement and tile placing animations. FANCY!

moomoo112 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:07am

nice concept, this was an enjoyable play

Holofire says ...
May 22, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Turns out I made it into the Top 100...just. Thanks for playing and rating!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]