Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Greyspace

by Spierek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Do you want to take part in a labyrinth enrichment enrichment?

Greyspace is a short FPP puzzle platformer with simplistic visuals, extravagant controls and a TERRIBLE SECRET WAITING TO BE UNCOVERED. Also, there's some easter eggs.

Controls: WSAD/Arrows for movement, Space for jumping.

PS: This was my first ever attempt at doing anything in Unity and SketchUP. I've started about 10h late, learned everything from scratch, and still managed to turn up a game - that is a success for me, even if the final product isn't really groundbreaking. Still, I hope you'll have fun with the game.

Follow me at @Spierek for random gamedev info, and visit my portfolio at http://spierek.net for more of my games.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#47Humor3.71
#72Overall3.85
#102Graphics3.91
#115Mood3.58
#210Fun3.42
#227Audio3.25
#265Theme3.87
#824Innovation2.78

Comments

saguaro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:22am

I really liked the feel, especially of the room with all the blocks. Very nice.

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:26am

Awesome! I always love Unity games that give the instructions as part of the game world. I really about messed my pants when I got to where everything just opens up!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:31am

Liked the gravity room :)

Follett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:31am

That was amazing and my favorite game so far!

Zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:36am

ooh, I like this. nice, clean feel to it. well done.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37am

Great game. Graphics are nice, quite fun, and humourous at the end.

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:42am

I'm trying to convince myself not to give this 5/5 for every category, but I can't justify not: Short, sharp and shiny. Nice humour, art, mood.

Spierek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:53am

Wow, thanks for all the praise :) I'm glad that you liked the penultimate room; I put a lot of work into making sure that it will "wow" the player.

I only regret not having enough time to place decals (orange stripes) in all of the rooms and creating a "dun dun DUN" sound effect for the final reveal.

alts says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:40am

Interesting world. The visual effect of having all of the walls be the same color regardless of direction provided a nice sense of disorientation (in my mind, a good thing). I started to get some performance problems (macbook pro) around the point where the twist occurs, and that made executing some of the jumps trickier than it was intended.

Spierek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:49am

@alts: Ah yes, that's why I didn't go all out with the floating boxes, because I had no way of testing the game on other machines before release. I'd like to have 2-3 times more boxes (especially smaller ones) to provide a better feeling of "fragmentation", but in the end I toned it down because of performance.

I'm sure there are some better and cheaper implementations of that than "copy and paste and scale and change script values" but at the time I couldn't find any :)

GetFun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:04am

BEAUTIFUL!

noa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:06am

It's very nice ^^ but the music is a bit repetitive...

euske says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07am

Reminds me of Antichamber.

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07am

Haha, that was awesome man. Mad sensitive controls though! But yeah, super cool and well-executed.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:08am

Interesting game. The ending made me laugh. A mouse sensitivity setting would have been welcomed :)

mostley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:03pm

awesome!

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Good atmosphere. The controls are a tad sensible but they sure feel good for the purpose.

Only find disturbing that the music loop resets at the beginning of each room.
Overall good experience.

Spierek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:38pm

@PsenFilip: Good point.

That's why I just uploaded a fixed version. Now features:
- continuous music playback,
- some more audio goodness on the penultimate and ultimate level,
- proper camera positioning after respawn,
- fixed meshes,
- improved performance.

Have at it!

KEFIR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Very nice! Why potato didn't say anything? :))

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07pm

lol potato

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Really cool game. I liked the artistic style. But not the potato ;) Thanks for a nice game!

AstroEngiSci says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:17pm

I liked a lot of the humor in the game, especially near the end. The music was nice, tool. Good job.

belickim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:25pm

It has this vague feeling of scientifically themed mystery, just like the Portal games. Gameplay, visuals and sounds, are all perfect, length is the only flaw.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

Play this game. Everything in it is perfectly f..... :D
Best moment in any game i've seen so far on this dare.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:28am

Liked it, some part of me is telling it might be inspired by portal. Was a really good ending though, I liked the plot twist. Good one!

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:17am

@Jellycakes - I was probably indirectly inspired by Portal and Antichamber (haven't played that second game though). Not in a "I want to make a shorter Portal way", more like a feeling of "gee, this game is looking a bit like Portal" gradually rising throughout development.

ColdBrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:09am

–°onceptually! I like it!

DST says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:53am

Oh this looks very interesting! I need to find a computer which can run unity webplayer!

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:27am

@DST - I made some standalone ports (Win, MacOSX, Linux), so that you don't have to look around :)

DST says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:56am

@Spierek
Thanks! It works great here on x86 linux! Very nice concept and well executed too! :) I think we need more "enrichment" facilities ^_^

fishbrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:38pm

lol!... that was good fun... great ending :)

Andy Go says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Unexpected end :)

dstozek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:07pm

I loved the mood of the game and the "everything is..." moment!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:34am

Good work! Visuals and texts are great. Also liked various kinds of platforms =)

tudd says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:03pm

pretty good

the potato was funny but it didn't fit at all

love the fake errors though!

maybe a version that's longer and with less potatoes would make a sellable game!

Xgor says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:59am

Really nice. I really like the clean look of it, it works well with the theme. Gotta say I wish it had a jump sound though.

GameNacho says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:21am

Good game, what an epic stare at the end

Spierek says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:21pm

@Xgor - I thought about implementing one, but figured that it might be too annoying for the player.

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:25am

We could feel the Portal influence here, really nice! Was that a cellshading shader? (black borders etc.) The visual effects were surprisingly well done!

Sebastian says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Very cool fragmentation effect! I like the 'choose your path' element, despite it not making very much of difference to the game. A few more rooms would of been nice :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Love it! Watch out for less effective jumping

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]