April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Nine Tails

by dualtagh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Nine Tails is a minimal puzzle platformer, based on the idea that cats have multiple lives. You use this to your advantage.

Controls: Arrows to move, 'Z' to jump.

bugs:
* Can climb walls
* can sometimes jump in air


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#119Innovation3.77
#120Humor3.27
#210Fun3.42
#386Mood3.11
#406Overall3.31
#565Audio2.69
#775Graphics2.74
#1087Theme2.91

Comments

RyanK says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:30am

Great idea.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Amazing idea!

The game was a little buggy though:

*If you hold an arrowkey and jump and keep holding it as you land the walking animation stops.

*By holding down an arrowkey towards a wall and repeatedly jumping you can climb

dualtagh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Thanks, Yeah I know about those bugs, I'll try fix them after work!

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Nice idea of using your deaths to your advantage.
I agree that it can be a little buggy in places, for instance climbing using just your chin feels like cheating.

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Pleasant game.
Level design is ok.
Like already said, some bugs, but no one very important

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Great idea. btw I have finished it but still can't understand why it's named 'Nine Tails' o.o

dualtagh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Cats are said to have 9 lives, and Nine Tails sounded better :P

terrivellmann says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Cool, nice idea.

arnaudmolle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Some tiny bugs but nothing really important. Your game is fun, I like the idea.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Fun! Liked the whole idea. Good job. A little bug, but nothing ruined the experience.

sfernald says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Very fun take on a popular genre of game. Clever use of cat's nine lives, lol. This is one of the best games I've played this competition. Fantastic job! Simple yet fun and challenging.

ignifluous says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Nifty. "Over my dead body" now carries a whole new meaning ...

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Really clever idea. Had fun!

Bluebutton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Cool game, but wasn't this one of the other potential LD themes? Death is good?

Diamonde says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:57pm

This...so...cute! :):):)
Also really solid and interesting gameplay, if only a bit too short for such a fun game!

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Really clever idea. Had fun!

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:57pm

This idea is so fantastic... use your life :D GREAT GAME

KHANanaphone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Music was weird, but neat idea.

MauMaGau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Absolutely loved the idea, had me chuckling all the way through. The level design was great; a lot of these games don't introduce the gameplay as well as this. Was totally ready to spend half an hour playing through the rest of levels, but I can't blame you for running out of time.
Nice one =D

d_durham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59pm

I really like 'self cooperation' games like this, and this one is pretty nicely done. There is something darkly brilliant about jumping up onto a pile of dead cats. Good job!

BumpkinRich says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Great idea. Was sad it was a bit short but feels like a lot of experimentation went on in creating it. A bit buggy and felt sluggish but there's a great game in there waiting to get out.

jolle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:01pm

I like this. Can't currently think of anything that works quite like it, although a certain movie comes to mind (not saying which to not spoil anything).

It's a bit buggy. You can climb walls, and sometimes when I died I became two corpses. Still fun!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02pm

nice game it was really fun
i found a bug when your on a moving platform and you hit a spike you can sometimes stay alive and it makes lots of dead yous
but still awesome

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Great!

Cyboot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:06pm

A game where dieing is good? You have my vote ;)

Great game, like I said very nice concept and solid graphics (fitting to the theme).
small side note: Sometimes you spawn in the wrong position but its not a big problem, just another live to loose :D

dualtagh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Thanks for the comments guys, Yeah there is a few bugs and it's a pretty short game! just ran out of time, thanks :)

Brassawiking says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Good use of the physics. Nice variation achieved within 48 hours.

phnxphire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Cool game. Although there were some bug such as being able to scale walls if you keep pushing space bar against the wall but it was still cool. Best of luck.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:58pm

I played this game and the first time I killed the cat I was like:"No way he did this" xD

Really fun but I feel sorry for the kittens :(

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:54am

I absolutely loved this game. You could go flying-cat and fly out of the level and have to restart, but, the concept was so funny I found myself killing the cat as much as I could. Uh.. yeah .. and this happened: http://i.imgur.com/Lb13RMA.png

But, all joking aside it's a great game! I love it. I wish there were more levels!

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57am

Also, I wanted to say, I was kind of disappointed that I had more than 9 lives, but whatever, minor point :P

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:56am

That was really cool. I love the mechanic that when you die you add a corpse to the level while removing a live from the world.

dualtagh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:14am

@john_conder9, haha nice! Yeah there are some issues, and if I had time there would me alot more levels! thanks!

jtzp4 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:10am

The wall-climbing issue makes it very easy to clear some levels ...
But anyway the idea is cool!

kunzbe says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:10pm

neat game mechanics! really innovative.
The music tracks kept going faster to the end, awesome

jim3wg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Nice remember a popular flash game that i forgoted the name

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:32am

Smart little game, great concept! A wee bit glitchy but not a problem as it helped me beat one of the levels quite quickly. :D

May 2, 2013 @ 11:55am

Like the idea and enjoyed playing it. Congrats!

May 3, 2013 @ 6:12am

Neat idea using dead cat lives to trigger things or allow access. Character movement needs polish, etc, but there's promise here. Keep polishing and working on it.

dualtagh says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:59am

thanks all!

Jan.M says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Haha, pretty amazing one. Lets try if my cat likes it as well. (Don't think so)

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Really like the concept. Fix the bugs and you will have an awesome game.

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:56pm

WHAT? omg that is effed up. BUT I like it.

May 9, 2013 @ 11:03am

Hahaha :D Love it. Absolutely. It's dark, it's funny, it's absurd and it's great. And the jump animation is just perfect. If you spent half the weekend on this animation, it was worth it. Forget about the little bugs, this is one of my favourite entries, good job!

May 9, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Nice work with the level-design! I like how the levels keep getting more complex.

Jonapulse says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Kickass idea. Bugs were a bit of a distraction. HA! DEAD BODIES!

TurboDindon says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Mwaahahahah, you're a genius. The concept is just great. x'D
I laugh during all the game. The cat is huge.
You made my day.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

intripoon says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 12:09pm

As others have commented, I think it's possibly to cheat easily. You can jump into a wall and keep jumping to climb it. You can do some maps that way without dying.
Apart from that a great game concept. I would have loved to play more challenging maps.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]