April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

JOHN

by LPGhatguy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In the spiritual successor to UNBOUND, JOHN, you play as as young boy caught in a terrible dream. You must escape the nightmare you have formed around yourself or lose yourself there forever.

This game is a very short story game, spanning around 2 minutes. Stereo headphones with deep bass are recommended for the best audial experience.

Additionally, the game runs at 1024x768. I may release a version with a wider aspect ratio, but lack of sleep and time have prevented it in time for the compo.

For Mac and Linux users, head to love2d.org to download LOVE 0.8.0 to run the .love file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Mood4.12
#57Audio3.74
#352Graphics3.33
#811Innovation2.79
#888Overall2.86
#1053Theme2.96
#1141Fun2.26
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

johnste says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08am

Unfortunately very short, almost felt like it ended where it should've started.

I like the presentation and the horror/insanity stuff was well done!

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:37am

Pretty well done for a relatively short game. The spooky ghost thing with the sound effects was a nice touch.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:41am

I really enjoyed the visual style and I've not seen a horror top-down game like this done before. It's certainly an interesting thing, though, as johnste says, it does feel like it's over just when it's about to start.

William Bundy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:43am

I didn't notice that it was a dream before I played the game. The mood and atmosphere is all there, but to make it simply a nightmare, and not someone's life detracts from the experience.

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:09am

As a John those voice clips were especially creepy, nice work!

Ysty says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Fantastic. As others have said, a bit short, but it manages to create a really creepy tone very well.

Nanolotl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:42am

Interesting. A lot of the fade-outs were just an annoyance rather than having any atmospheric effect.

peaveyj says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:49am

Nice ambiance and audio. The feel of this game is really well established. It reminds me Alan Wake for some reason. Good job!

TehSkull says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:08am

Creepy. GREAT mood. Bugged like idk what though. Definitely fix that movement bit, whatever's causing it.

Alec Von Arx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:13am

I jumped at one part haha if this was the prequel to some larger epic game, I'd buy the game hands down! Great start!

Goodlookinguy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:35am

MadMichaelofMetal (using my brother's account)
Short but sweet. I played this game my Ludum Dare Relax Stream and really got into it. Review on the stream.

Phase says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Wow, creepy! I like it. Audio was very nice. One thing that bugged me a little was the control scheme... maybe I'm just used to WASD but it seemed like I should have been able to move sideways.

LPGhatguy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:35pm

@Phase:
I had originally had support for strafing, but ultimately removed it in an attempt to keep the player moving the direction they're facing. I'll consider it when making another game with a similar movement scheme.

May 2, 2013 @ 9:17am

Very moody, I liked it! (;

TeamEagle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:37am

I just keep getting gameover and having my movement being stuck in a room, it's the only way to go though. Am I doing something wrong? Or is it a bug.

LPGhatguy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:32pm

That's the end of the game.

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Kinda bugged for me a few times. Kept repeating the first thing I looked at multiple times. Don't know why. Seems like some kind of queue was registering presses a lot. But it was really cool with the sounds, screen effects and scary black thing running after you. Etc... Very effective.

acro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Creepy and atmospheric, shame it's so short I'd like to have seen more. Good use of audio.

SuperDisk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:48am

You can play the .love file in browser with the LOVELINESS chrome plugin! Didn't need to download the windows exe at all :)

As for the game: I actually got kinda spooked, and the circle made me flinch. Good work!

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Excelent mood, too bad it was so short, awesome otherwise! :)

May 7, 2013 @ 6:02am

Spooky!

zkenshin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Really good mood. But I did feel you shouldn't be able to keep walking during fade outs (which others have mentioned, may have been a bit long). Nice job though. :)

vrld says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:47am

Wow.

alts says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 8:24am

Eerie game. Really enjoyed how the audio manages to make you afraid of a blurry round shadow. Very effective sound use. Well done. I was confused at the end. I wasn't sure if I'd done something wrong or if there was a bug.

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Definitely way too short, but that's a compliment, it's well done. I appreciate that you opted for mouse control to choose a direction. The title screen feels like it should have been typed rather than crudely drawn- you're allowed to use fonts in the LD! Also, there were parts of one level that appeared as if floor, but I couldn't walk to them. Invisible walls aren't fun.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]