April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

To What End?

by Shugor - Jam Entry

Controls:

Arrow Keys - Move
Z Key - Shoot Gel
X Key - Pause

The aim of the game is to get to the end of the level and beat the boss. simple enough. Pick up the blue gel on the ground and throw it at enemies to defeat them. The concept is simple but the game ended up being incredibly hard and infuriated all of us. I hope you enjoy.

oh yeah and on the far left side of the map is the potato room. The music changes so you'll know when you've got there. I suggest you dont go there.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#138Mood(Jam)3.40
#191Humor(Jam)2.48
#192Audio(Jam)3.18
#271Overall(Jam)3.14
#298Fun(Jam)2.82
#340Theme(Jam)3.10
#342Innovation(Jam)2.75
#354Graphics(Jam)2.90

Comments

martijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Aargh, it still has the default gamemaker loading bar and icon. (go to global setttings to change them)

Also this game is oddly depressing

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Very mysterious feeling. I really enjoyed the story, good job!

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:06pm

I loved the mood and music, and minimal pixelated graphics. One thing I thought detracted was that the story text was easily missed as it was only visible when I was on the block. I found myself having to go back a step or two to read it each time. On the upside, I wanted to read it all :) The commentary was a nice and funny touch. Well done!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Definitely is hard, but it was interesting. Kind of made me think of Binding of Isaac, though the gel thing was interesting.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Good mood... feels good to play it... like :)

QXD-me says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Weird, I liked it.

p.s. Nice commentary

FREEZX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Cool game. Loved that gloomy mood, fits the story. Also the music... Awesome!

ahm99 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:32am

I had to give up :( Cool game though, good job :)

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:01am

The visuals were cute and simplistic, and the gameplay pretty good. Sometimes the enemies just seemed to press up against walls, but they were still decently challenging. Really nice game here!

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Nice game. The music feels pretty right. Good job!

Jellycakes says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Pretty nice, really hard though didn't manage to complete it. But it was still pretty fun to play. Good job!

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:29am

This game's mechanics make its difficulty border on unfair, since enemies spawn even in places you've cleared, you have limited ammo, your vision does not reach very far, and enemies either swarm or hide in a way that you often get hit trying to get a line of shot on them.

With all that said, I liked the art style and the theme and mood were superb, somber (which is appropriate for the topic at hand) and, to me, kind of frightening. The effort to find your body becomes almost a survival horror game, which is very interesting.

Overall, good job on the game! The mechanics may make the game a bit overly frustrating, but the difficulty reinforces the themes at play. Superb crafting in either case!

evoker says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:12am

Nice game. Graphics and audio really set the mood. Only criticism is the way narration is done by activating hot spots on the floor--it breaks linearity and I think it could've been handled better (perhaps make the text not reappear after you've read them once?). Nonetheless, I enjoyed myself and I'm looking forward to finishing the game.

hissssssssss says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:44am

I loved that there was a commentary option.
This game had a cute, yet eerie atmosphere. The colour palette was great. I enjoyed it a lot, but the walking speed is slow enough that I might not go back and beat it.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 2:22am

I like it, if it weren't for the difficulty (things surprise you out of the dark) and how easy it is to miss the text. Lovely narrative.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]