April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Phase

by seaney11 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game was created in Java. In it you are a dot and have to escape where you are, defeating guards, getting over obstacles and "phasing" to alternate realities.

To run choose either the runnable jar or exe file go to the google link then press file - download.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1979Coolness10%

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:52am

Reminds me of Sugarcube: Bittersweet Factory. :)

kyru says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Neat concept for a game, I had fun working out which reality to work through and between on levels that really needed it.

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:18am

Some more graphics and we are good to go. Liked it. :)

Prudiiarca says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:01pm

There were several bugs i found...
a) sometimes the player spawns, falls out of the world, spawns again and never gets on top of the spawn platform
b) i don't know if this is a bug, but jumping got so high that i could jump directly to the portal
c) i paused the game to fix error a). Pressing select level then i could only select the first level (i were level 4)

seaney11 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:10am

Prudiiarca, I'm sorry you found these bugs. The first 2 are due to this game being optimised for quite a powerful computer, and me not having the time to figure out how to change that. As for the last one, I do not know what went wrong there, as I have tested that feature (selecting level when paused) quite vigorously and have found no problems. Thanks for all the comments everyone.

dertom says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Hmm,..didn't get it to work. The game starts, I could read the instructions and even choose the level which pops up a new window. But the level itself won't show up. The pause-menu (hitting esc in level-mode) works,...

It really looks as if the level is just not rendered!? There is no exception thrown...

System: Linux32 / openjdk6/7 (both same problem) Is oracle-jre required?

moomoo112 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:13am

jump seems to be overpowered, I could make it to the exit in one leap

Jellycakes says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:49am

Pretty cool. The concept was really nice, although the characters jump was so high that I hardly needed to use the phase mechanic. Good job anyway!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]