April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Despicable Caverns of Deadly Doom

by BumpkinRich - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here's The Despicable Caverns of Deadly Doom. A Scott Estima adventure!

Play with arrow keys / wasd - works best with a joypad though (tested with XBox contoller)

It's an ode to the games of my childhood and the hours of joy I got from my speccy.

The theme got me thinking about the simple game-play and how the world was expressed in a few blocks.

I think I got a bit carried away and probably added to much complexity with different game modes. But I've really enjoyed putting it together - and playing it. Hope you enjoy it too.

Oh - and it's got a high score table so you can show me how rubbish I am at my own game.

Here's a breakdown of the level names:

The First One
Up N Down
Temptation
The Wrath of the FSM
Enter The Zaps
Corner Plot
Ziggy
Arrow Head
Wind Around
Shall Shant
A Can of Cant
Potato Reference
Peanut Library
Hello Elton
Level Name Here

+ 2 bonus levels.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#61Fun3.75
#119Audio3.53
#142Humor3.13
#352Overall3.38
#455Mood3.00
#652Graphics2.91
#881Innovation2.69
#984Theme3.06

Comments

sparksgently says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42am

The third room seemed to ramp up the difficulty considerably. I didn't see how I was going to get through the room without running out of fuel. So, that's as far as I went.

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:46am

I got really frustrated until I switched from keyboard to Xbox controller. Really smooth controls with a controller.

runonthespot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Felt like an old BBC game. Quite a lot going on for the timeframe. Not bad,

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:28pm

yep third room is hard :)

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Very cool, blast from the past indeed... level 3 is indeed a bitch! :)

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Decent entry. Lack of speed control gets frustrating, but fun overall.

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:27am

Fun game, well done! :)

BumpkinRich says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Thanks for playing, and the feedback.

Going to make a 'post dare' version that it a bit more forgiving so people can get past level 3 if they want to. I'll try and get a video of the whole game up too so you can see where it goes :)

I did most of the testing with keys but it's much easier with a joypad.

If only I had one of those android with a joypad thingies :)

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:10pm

I find this game to be pretty addicting. I do like the fuel aspect to the gameplay

tiffi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:11pm

+ for global highscores

Gravel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:11pm

It reminds me some old and lovely games on my ATARI ST, especially the sounds.
Well done!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:17pm

I like a whole ton about this, but (like a few other games on here) the lives system ruins it. The thing is, the challenge doesn't come from the actual flying, it comes from planning out your route. Replaying a route that you've already proven to be optimal is just frustrating.

That also kind of invalidates the scoreboard, though if you didn't have lives I suppose that the board would also be irrelevant.

On an actual mechanical level, I think this game is pretty rad. It would be really nice if you finished up the controller support, because that is so much better.

I quite like the explosion when you die.

reheated says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:42pm

This is so well done. Reminds me of the games I never had the skill to play but often watched my older brother play. Can you provide us with a list of level names?

Jesse111 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Great game with a classic feel! Level 3 is extremely unbalanced for difficulty, though! It took me 5+ tries, and even then I finished with maybe 1% fuel. Then the game resumes being considerably easier again!

reheated says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Also, I disagree with nintendoeats. Lives are fine and surely the right thing to do in this style of game. And for me, 90% of the challenge was flying (but I'm not very quick-fingered).

kyyninen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:53pm

I agree with nintendoeats about lives system. Otherwise good game and definitely keeping my eye out for post-compo version!

BumpkinRich says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:00pm

@nintendoeats - Until a few hours to go I had a system of continuing but it was confusing when you beat your high score and came out. Looking back you could continue from the high score page which would allow you to see the whole game.

@reheated - I've edited the game description to add the level names.

patrickward says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:32am

Fun and addictive game. I like the game play, but it's a tad too fast for me. I think the lives are fine, but it would be nice to be able to repeat a level. Or, have power ups that give you more lives.

KHANanaphone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:50am

Worked really well w/ controller

galman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Nice game! It was a bit frustrating for me (3rd level!) but nice game in overall. Well done :)

AndyBumpkin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Coolies!

Felt easier once I knew I could go diagonally and got my head around the fact I could simply switch left/right without having to go through up/down first.

Nice music too :D

BumpkinRich says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Just uploaded a post dare version which allows you to continue and eases level 3... slightly ;)

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Great mood. Sounds to me like one great Atari game :) Congratz!

recursor says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Hey. Where is the link to the your source code?

tankete says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:24am

Really liked the overall presentation, including multiple modes, high scores, mute option. The main mode got tough quickly. Great job!

BumpkinRich says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:08pm

@recursor - thanks, was sat there all along but linkless. I've just added it.

May 15, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Cool game, but i would have prefered controls like in the old snake game where you only have to use left/right to rotate all the way... :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]