April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pretentious 'em Up!

by ArkadyDracul - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is a classic "shoot 'em up", but with something different. You are a pixel that goes against enemies very detailed, but why?
I hope you enjoy "Pretentious' em Up!" and in the end the whole moral / metaphor that the game hides will be clear.

Have Fun!
------------------------
Controls:

W A S D :: Movements
G :: Confirm / Fire
R :: When you are dead, if you still lives, this will be respawn

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#294Humor2.67
#521Audio2.76
#754Mood2.69
#786Fun2.73
#897Overall2.85
#942Graphics2.55
#956Theme3.09
#1192Innovation2.13

Comments

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:45am

After I died, it just sat there with enemies still flying around and I couldn't figure out how to restart.

ArkadyDracul says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:14am

R-Key there are instructions up here :-)

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:45am

cool one!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Cute!
I love how you can wait as long as you like before you respawn.

DarioOliGPI says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26pm

First of all thanks for trying my game and for positive Feedback :) Very fun space shooter. And original interpretation of the theme ;)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:02am

Sadly there's no Win32-version. :(

notepid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:57am

I could not get past the intro-screen. I tried all the keys on my keyboard and mouse, but it would not let me play.

ArkadyDracul says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:59am

It is, You just do not have updated your .Net frameworks and xna redist :D

manabreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:01am

This was fun! Nice how the enemies are not-so-minimalistic at first, but then you turn them into squares. :P

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:38am

Nice polished little shooter. I completed it. Maybe it is even more fun when you are able to shoot faster, and with some enemies with more complex movement patterns.

Zhrack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:40am

very good!

SpaceStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:41pm

What did you program it in?

ArkadyDracul says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Game Maker Studio Pro :)

Ninjaxio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:28am

Difficult, but awesome! Nice game, and fits the theme.

tankete says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:31am

I know you listed the keys above, but really wish firing were something other than G. I liked the sound and gameplay. Perhaps you could give a bit of invincibility when respawning?

Purplescape says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:09am

An interesting concept and good use of the theme. The controls were a bit hard to use, but not too much trouble. Good work.

saggiosoft says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:37am

Very good!

dsoft20 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:24am

Nice game;P

spriters2000 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Great game! Very hard but still nice.

May 3, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Cool graphics, decent gameplay. Enemies get all bunched up on top of each other sometimes. G and R are really weird buttons to use, maybe just merge restart and shoot onto the same button and put it in a more predictable place like spacebar. With the gameplay as you currently have it you might as well just make it automatically shoot, there's no reason to every really stop shooting. Could use more contrast to the gameplay, instead of shooting everything maybe there is something to collect or avoid shooting. Also.. you really aren't supposed to use other people's art for Ludum Dare 48 Hour entries! I would have rather seen something you did yourself.

LionelJitro says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:14pm

I loved the death animations! As well as the gradual pixelation.

Just so you know for the future the 48 hour comp doesn't let you use other people's graphics, you say "Good Graphics by Skorpio". The G for firing is a little bit awkward.

I enjoyed playing it and it's a good take on the theme.

Well done.

Infin8 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 11:20am

A bit too slow paced, shooting enemies is kind of painful. I guess the metaphor involves your ship getting more complex and powerful?

infernet89 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Basic enemies takes more damage than me, this was quite annoying for me :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]