April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rhythm Serenade

by Whiteclaws - 48 Hour Compo Entry

PLAY ON CHROME FOR BEST PERFORMANCE

This version is pretty buggy and the game is pretty short ... I'm really sorry about that ... the new files got corrupted and I lost half the levels :( ... Please don't be too harsh to the game while rating ...

Have fun and enjoy !

Controls : W to jump , D to roll , S to stop rolling + Dash down quickly ...

P.S : You can't land while jumping ...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#521Graphics3.07
#630Innovation3.03
#722Theme3.37
#807Fun2.71
#905Overall2.84
#1120Mood2.22
#1894Coolness17%

Comments

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28am

I'm not trying to be harsh, but I legitimately could not figure out what the heck was going on. Some instructions would help a lot.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Liked the game mechanics and the variation of the levels made it interesting. The buttons felt really unresponsive - it was like I had latency issues. Unfortunately a bug which made me fall through the ground when I tried to jump stopped me from playing any longer.

Whiteclaws says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:49pm

@pighead10:

It may be because of your browser , please play on Chrome ...

_Rilem says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Cool concept, although requiring the user to press a key to land safely takes a bit of getting used to.
So i was spamming 'D' alot and discovered a bug which lets you hover in mid air, done at the correct point I was able to fly accros everything. :P

zatyka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Very cool concept, and I think the graphics fit perfectly with the theme. I agree with _Rilem that I had to retrain my fingers to do something when landing, but that's not a bad thing. I also found a few game-breaking bugs:

-Camera lost focus on me, and I rolled off screen
-Stuck in a wall
-Hover in mid-air

They usually occurred when hitting multiple keys.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:35pm

What zatyka said. But a very great idea. Liked it!

Typedeaf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Fun game! I liked how you controlled the player and the background was really nice =A

Folis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:28pm

It was a bit buggy, but overall I enjoyed the game! Worked great in Firefox too! Good job.

hirsch says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:29pm

I had a bit trouble with the controls but overall the game looks good and is pretty minimalistic :)

I don't know if theres any audio at all or if my browser doesn't play it :/

toonheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:29pm

finally figured it.. but sometimes the rolls just vanish in between rolling.

Went couple of spikes ahead :)

tony.pe says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:36am

I really liked this regardless the bugs pointed out. The idea of having to manually designate when you land is interesting and has a lot of weight behind it. Lead to some pretty cool challenges.

I hope you stick with this idea beyond LD, you could do quite a bit with it. It reminds me of The Impossible Game with a twist.

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:31am

Liked the general concept, at least the parts I figured out.
Must confess I didn't get it all.

The collision bounds often times are unexpected. The collision detection in general seems pretty unforgiven. Maybe it is the controls, I'm not sure.

mramaizng says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:16am

i like the idea, but i kept falling through the floor or floating in air.

May 2, 2013 @ 6:58am

I liked what you were going for here and the base visual design. The control scheme and switching states just frustrated me, though.

M0N0QUARTZ says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Good game, but lots of bugs :( like this: http://zupimages.net/up/3/475868216.png

markusfisch says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Good game! Interesting idea for a platformer. Took me a while to get it but then it was fun!

May 2, 2013 @ 2:11pm

I've found the same bug that M0N0QUARTZ has told before. Btw i like very much the concept of the game, an "impossible game" but with more keys to press and, for this reason, less boring. I enjoyed play it! Good work!
P.s. Maybe the "D" key is a little bit "lamer"

Conve says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:09pm

very Funny.

imagnity says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:54pm

You should adjust the jump velocity in relation with obstacle placements. And add sound. :)

I had fun playing it. Cool waves. Great job!

tacograveyard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Good concept, but a bit buggy. I managed to float through the sky across most of the level.

bvanschooten says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:11pm

The game look attractive, only I got stuck in the 2nd level. Could not make the jumps, kept dying for no apparent reason. Is this a bug? I did not get any sound on Firefox.

onzephyr says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:23am

liked the concept. visuals matched the concept and fit the gameplay well. controls took a bit for me to get used to but I managed then it all went pretty smooth. Nice game.

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:08am

The shape mechanic was pretty good, but you were right about the game being buggy. I randomly respawned at the top of the level and breezed through. No audio either, feels like it should have some.

wzl says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Interesting concept. Took a bit to figure out, but i like the gameplay that emerges. Awesome that you added that many checkpoints too! would be rather frustrating without them!
And BUGS :D sometimes i was rolling around midair, and then later on when i pressed right and up simultaneously it totally went nuts!
Good game though!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]