April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Kill Tower

by KHANanaphone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Last time I did one Ludum Dare, I chose to make a game that took waaay too much time to create the engine, so the level design was terrible and no one really enjoyed playing it. Since my interest is more geared towards level design, this time I made a relatively minimalistic puzzle game, and spent most of my time on making tricky puzzles. It was much more relaxing.

You have to use magic to blow up various skeletons within the alloted amount of moves. Each puzzle gives you a few more moves than necessary, but if you can solve them using the miminal amount of moves (the minimum that I found, or maybe better), you get a gold star for that level. Gold star them all and you might get something exciting! (feel free to work together, it's hard to tell how hard a puzzle is when you're the one making them.)

Made with Silverlight because...well there's no good reason.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#103Fun3.62
#176Innovation3.64
#243Overall3.50
#618Humor2.14
#752Theme3.34
#802Mood2.63
#1066Audio1.38
#1066Graphics2.34

Comments

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:28am

The game is very clever! It seems you've managed your time really well!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Oh geez, it gets tricky pretty quick for dumb ppl like me haha ;)

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Simple, brilliant level design. Looks like what you wanted to do this time worked!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Interesting puzzle. I like the way as a player you slowly learn the capabilities of moves... eg. fireball centre damage. Good Job!

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Nice :) It's very strategic and fit well the theme

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Excellent puzzle game, I'm up to the 4th floor, but I'll leave it running so I can come back.

Since you asked about difficulty, I have almost all gold stars at this point, but had to replay a couple of get them. Got completely stumped by 1-3 until I caught on that the center of a red click took more damage(probably missed a tutorial message).

An undo button would be great, especially now that puzzles are 15ish moves each.

jhonpi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Awesome puzzle!, the best so far. Well balanced gameplay and well designed levels.

Jhelle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Enjoyed this puzzle game alot. You should polish it and bring it to mobile market, cause the idea is great. Good job!

Rubi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Great game, not very minimalist but has great gameplay...

McBeef says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Awesome puzzler. Clearly a game where level design is king!

KHANanaphone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:53am

Thanks guys, undo button is a good idea.

delfino says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Nice puzzle, I enjoyed playing it. First Silverlight game I've seen this year, it's nice to see a variety of technologies used

jadams says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:24pm

The time spent on designing the puzzles really shows. I've not finished it yet, but I'll definitely be going back to it.

May 2, 2013 @ 10:46pm

clever game ..good job :)

ecool377 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:49am

Cool Concept, would like to see a game kinda like this.

nseward says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:28am

Easy to learn. Fun to play. Kudos.

shatterhand says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:33pm

One of the best games I played so far in this Ludum Dare.

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:08pm

"The Tower of Kill" is the most evil sounding place ever! :D

Really well designed puzzle game!

KHANanaphone says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:38am

Yeah I actually made the game name before I had any idea what I was doing. I'm a big sucker for lame doomy-sounding names. This game could use a real name though....

Also wondering how far people are getting. I know one of my friends went on a binge and was able to gold-star the entire game.

May 6, 2013 @ 7:56am

Best name ever. Got stuck on the "fire room". This game is actually a game, great work.

Evil Cult says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Really nice game, one of the most fun I've played so far this LD. Unfortunately my brain gave way at 4-3(Honor guard) and I couldn't complete the level. Level design was great and the difficulty curve from level to level seemed pretty spot on.

manax says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:34am

Fantastic level design. Nice work with so many levels. Some very nice puzzles.

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 1:03am

This is a really nice puzzle game with solid mechanics and clever level design.

danblack says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:12am

Nice puzzler but using Silverlight leaves me feeling sullied.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]