April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Voice of Fire

by theGiallo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Gameplay type: runner
Tech: As3+Flashpunk

There is no loader, so you'll have to wait it to be completely loaded [4.540kB].

---------

Use X to control everything (the mouse in the menu works too) (maybe double... ;) )

----------

The original idea was to make more mini games based on minimalist paintings, but I had no time.


This time I used Flashpunk instead of C++ to be quicker. I had only 3 hours on Saturday and half Sunday, but I managed to achieve a game :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#122Audio3.51
#376Mood3.12
#657Theme3.44
#768Humor1.95
#770Overall2.97
#940Fun2.56
#942Graphics2.55
#1233Innovation2.05

Comments

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:50am

simpe but fits the theme, liked the sound design too

atraxgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:12am

Perfectly fits the theme, sound design is awesome!

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:14am

A lot of game in this ludum dare with this game mechanic, but this one is classy. I enjoyed graphics and audio.

ArkadyDracul says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Perfect entry!

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Very nice, I think that this game will be an awesome mobile game

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Wo theGiallo, very classy and polished!! Congratz :)

peggiosoft says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:23pm

i have runned?

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:04pm

absolutely loved it

MrHalfman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:24am

Cool game, fits perfectly with the theme. Nice audio too : relaxing and accorded to the game.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:27am

Nice audio, really made me feel like I was inside the run.

Dohan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:28am

The music really set the mood for this game.

Greg Power says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:38am

I thought the jump was bit 'floaty', but that could have been a design choice. I love your idea of creating a series of games based on paintings. Kind of like William Carlos Williams' poems about Bruegel's paintings.

theGiallo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18pm

lol gramatic-post-LD-disorder :D

theGiallo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Thank you all :)

About floaty jump: yes, I tried to make all dreamy.

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Really nice music and sound on this one.

saggiosoft says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:55pm

It seems a minimalist episode of "Twin Peaks". Good!

May 2, 2013 @ 1:35pm

I like the floaty feel. Pretty simple concept, but it works nicely.

rzfmzn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:07pm

I like the mood of the game
you could add a point system and make the player keep the square inside the blue for score and even more score by landing on black, this should make the player risk more =O)
nice game tho (and gj since you had so little time =OD )

Prudiiarca says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Nice idea, smooth gameplay. fine!

May 5, 2013 @ 6:12am

Nice audio. The jump physics were off enough that I never really enjoed it. I was only able to clear maybe 5-6 barriers. Why the slow motion jump physics?

theGiallo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:35am

Thank you all :)

@rzfmzn: I tried to remove, or at least reduce, as many "meta" as possible. In fact the time, a sort of score, is displayed only at the end. I didn't wand the player to be affected or distracted by them, ruining the dreamy experience.
@GeorgeBroussard: Did you used the double jump? The jump is not really "slow moved", but I wanted to achieve a dreamy sensation, so as final effect it could be perceived so. the physics is almost as it would be in reality.

theGiallo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Wait... That George Broussard. Whoa.

Brassawiking says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:30pm

This had a good serene tune to it. It felt organic. Also, don't know if it was intentional, but the movement was not entirely linear, instead it had a pulsating feel to it, which in this case fits really good. Could see this turn into sort-of zen runner where you kinda dance forward without a care in the world.

theGiallo says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Thank you. I tuned the movement very carefully.
I like the idea of the zen runner :)

Sylvain says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:34pm

It's a kind of minimalist canabalt. Good job

Xanjos says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Pretty good take on a minimalistic endless runner. The background music gives a very relaxing mood.

theGiallo says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 10:56am

Thank you :D Canabalt is to me an awesome runner game :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]