April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

U

by KEFIR - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Left/Right (or A,D keys) to move. Press two times quickly to run.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#64Fun3.74
#107Theme4.09
#108Audio3.56
#127Overall3.71
#138Mood3.52
#238Humor2.80
#279Graphics3.47
#515Innovation3.17

Comments

dx0ne says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:32am

WHY SO SHORT?! Anyway it's great. Good use of theme and fun to play. Great ending ;)

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41am

i enjoyed it!

justin35f says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:23am

Awesome game, deserves to have more comments!

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:16pm

I love the crushing animation. fantastic!

gre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Good job, fun, match the theme, and I like the ratio of the game and the cinematic display :)

AlvaroH says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Good game!

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Ahhhh square gore! Love it! Getting squished on purpose :D

igrowbeards says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Fantastic job - there's really not anything about this i didn't like.

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Great game, got stuck on the maniac one...

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Sweet crushing animation! Fun little runner.

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Great game! I really liked the graphics and it's pretty fun :)

@SamPotasz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Well done! More levels please :)

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23pm

This is way more fun than a 1-dimensional game has any right to be! :P Well done!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:41am

This is the most polished game I've played from this competition, and I was surprised how fun it turned out to be. The "Maniac" level was a bit tricky, but the solution is clever. Very well done, sir.

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:23am

Really fun game, but I've got three little complaints:
- too short :)
- the SFXs for the saws seem to overlay; that makes them a bit too loud on the later levels,
- you should've hinted at the fact that Maniac's death makes it safe to cross him (his saw is still spinning, looks like an obstacle); maybe by fading out his entire body or stopping his saw.

But still, it was fun. Sorta like a 1D Meat Boy.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:58am

I enjoyed everything about this. The art, the music, the gameplay. Very slick and neat. Agree it was too short! I thought I was done with training about the time the game ended :) I would work on this, extend it and give people more.

KEFIR says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:05am

@Spierek your complaints is indeed fair :) I will mind these if I decide to continue development. Yey! You noticed my Meat Boy reference :) Also there is some notes from Limbo :-D

TBW. Thanks everyone!

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Really excellent entry! I intentionally threw myself into the first saw just to see what would happen, but it wasn't really necessary since I hit every one after that at least once ;)

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Nice! Simple yet interesting.

martijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Death animation is great.

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:18pm

cool game concept and level ideas. more of this please. i also liked that the game size was so small and long

kunzbe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:59pm

wow, i really like your game. it's smooth.
the pixel 'blood' is hilarious :) quite tantalizing

saguaro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:47pm

I like the look and the challenge level. I enjoyed the pixel gore.

cadin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:40am

This is a really great little game. Perfect for the theme. I love the pixel blood splattering all over everything.

Really great work. I think this is one of my favorites so far.

Mikel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:41pm

I liked it very much. Nice blood-like particle system. It feels short :-). But in the Maniac level I nearly got stuck after the maniac is dead because I didn't consider that possible exit [to avoid spoilers]... that puzzle looks a bit unfair... I don't know if it is intentional . Anyway great game

jim3wg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Nice !

_Rilem says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Cool! I like the graphical style and the gameplay is simple and fun. Had to watch your 'Maniac' video though. :<

atraxgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:26pm

This is a challenging little gem with beautiful music, and fits perfectly the theme!

FREEZX says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Awesome concept, a bit short but i enjoyed it!

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Pretty interesting concept. I can't tell if it's difficult, or if I'm just bad at it. Either way, it was a good game.

someone says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:34pm

"This application is not correctly embedded (wrong wmode value)"
Running Firefox 20 on Linux.
Looks awesome though.

Tanius says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:34pm

oh god! pixel splatter i love it *-*

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Really great, simple game. I didn't mind that there were so few levels really because it was well made enough for me to actually want more levels! :)

Covenant says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:02am

Awesome one, really loved the being cut effect... :)
Sometimes the U wouldn't start running, and other times I'd get the opposite (running without me asking)...
Good concept, you can build a whole full game from it!

Jellycakes says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Pretty short, It's so polished and fun you want to play more! Really nice simple visuals and violence too. good job!

Dmitrix says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Reminds me of Super Meat Boy a little bit. Maybe because of all the saws. XD

May 4, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Great Job!

May 4, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Awesome game

Tyro says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:47am

I was impressed that there was a decent amount of challenge even though you couldn't jump. Pretty clever take on minimalism!

Catman says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Cool idea, 1D gameplay :D

Rafael Sales says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Awesome game! Fits very well to the theme and has a challenging level design. Congratz!

0beah says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:00pm

lovely little game. Tight controls. Great use of theme. Found the hit boxes a bit large to my liking tho.

Tifu says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Good use of theme, good challenge, a little short. Really liked the death particles =D Good job!

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:28pm

We can feel the Limbo influence here, but with an awkwardly peaceful music. I was surprised to reach the end of the game so fast... but that means it was a good one!

larb says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Great all around. Like the music. Wish it was a bit longer. But great for 48 hours.

thatwhichis says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:31pm

I woke up, huzzah! Took care of that mean old maniac. :-)

SaintHeiser says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:37am

Good work!
I like how it cannibalistic, and how you make level design.
I really enjoy with Hurry and Maniac levels =)

rykounanba says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Great game, I loved the mood and thought into it. It wasn't long but it was fun. The only thing I did not like was the difference between walking and running pace.

patrickward says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:02pm

This was very well done. Easy to grasp, but tricky to master. The maniac level had me stumped until I realized it would chase you. The soothing music juxtaposed with the saw sounds was eerily perfect for this little game. I would love to see you build this out with more levels. Great job!

GranaDa says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Loved the audio and the "maniac". Nice game!

GaTechGrad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:36am

Neat concept of being restricted in one plane of movement. I gave up on "Maniac", even after watching tutorial video. Just couldn't time it right to collide with the other saw.

TurboDindon says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:42am

I really like the sound atmosphere and minimalist graphics.
This is a bit short. I want to see more. :D

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

ashdnazg says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Truly Wonderful!
I really liked the "blood" effects and the music.
The maniac challenge was amusing as well :)

Good job!

kill0u says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Amazing entry!

jacklehamster says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:10am

Nice game but for me the saw sound effect really got on my nerves.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:03am

Not bad, but the fade effect on death is too long as you can die a lot in the game (it annoyed me). Also a bit frustrated by the hitbox of the saw, sometimes I felt my deaths a bit unfair. Apart from that, your game is nice :)

f7f5 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:16pm

I liked the visuals and music very much. In the first couple of levels it was annoying to completely have no reference for where the obstacles were when they sled out of the way entirely. Loved how I got addicted enough to beat maniac without watching the video.

There was a problem with the text(? I think it was supposed to be text because it wasn't displaying properly).

May 13, 2013 @ 2:48am

Simple game but fairly fun when you play it. Especially love the brutal animations.

My Milked Eek says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 3:27pm

The only downside is that it's too short.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:19pm

uhhh ! It's hard ! Really nice mood and very stressful. The saws hitbox are maybe a bit too big, and the death cinematic too long (and too frequent fore me :-) )

someone says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Its working ok now, though is that supposed to be text? its not rendering it properly.
Great game. Good fun though a bit short. I was looking forward to some really hard levels.
In some of the earlier levels it was hard to see how you are moving when no evil stuff is on screen.

Puccini says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:31pm

I like it , but it's very short. Later I will play your post compo edition!

Xanjos says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Pretty short but it was still a fun game. The mechanics were well thought out, the animations are really nice and that last level was quite clever. Would definitely love to see some more levels.

sparkleswirl says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:34am

Really fun game! I like the post-compo version too; glad you're continuing to develop it.

marnaouf says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:30pm

fun game

pl0xz0rz says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Pretty good, didn't know what it was supposed to be at first,as there was a bug that made the graphics look weird, and completely unlike what was in the walkthrough video.

omaha says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Fantastic work. One of my favorites

May 18, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Well done! Wish it were a bit longer though!

loxo says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:44pm

The feedback of the game feels really realistic in spite of the minimalistic appearance. I like the combination of the simple graphics, animations and sound effects. Only the U seems out of place to me.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]