April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rainbow Rocket

by Zccc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this colourful game, you controll a spaceship that needs to grab every item in each stage. You controll this ship by placing little blackholes that will make you move around them. This way you can controll the direction of the ship!

Avoid walls and other enemies, and try to get 0 deaths in each level!
Thank you for playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#48Innovation4.02
#113Graphics3.88
#113Theme4.08
#139Overall3.69
#182Fun3.47
#196Audio3.31
#376Mood3.12
#509Humor2.29

Comments

deeJayUA says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:14am

Great game!! Here is an example of Minimalism!! Well done graphics, simple but perfect!!
Nice Work!!

Nangie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46pm

This game is genuis ! really ! I love the graphics and the sound design eventhough i got some trouble understanding how to place black holes.. Congratulations !

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45pm

That is a pretty awesome way of controlling a ship. Can get quite difficult though sometimes when maneuvering through tight spots.

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Somehow, you managed to take completely contrasting colors look really good together. The goal is simple, but the mechanics are fresh and fun. Nice work!

Kom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:46pm

An interesting concept, although I feel that it may have been easier to control the ship if it was always in the center of the screen.

Spiridios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Loved it. Great take on the theme, interesting controls. A bit frustrating at times, but good job.

MathiO says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:20am

Pretty inventive mechanic, love the drum sound effects in line with the music!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Very cool! Made me feel like I was in the 60's! Placing black holes got a little more hectic than I would like to admit though..

Moist says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45pm

The mechanics take a little while to get used to but apart from that it's a great entry. Good job!

Moist says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Oh boy, forgot to vote. :P

nseward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Amazing! I loved it. I think I would have gone with physics instead of an exact circle but I think you made a better decision for the theme of the game. Great work. (Music was perfect.)

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Probably the most interesting and innovative controls I have seen at this Ludum Dare. Really nice graphics - minimalistic. I really liked the sound that plays when you die, but not the rest of the sounds. Great game !

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Nice game! I really enjoyed it :)

Beerman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Nice. Between the colours and the drums it feels like you're flying through some kind of insane space disco.
Very cool control method - takes a little getting used to but it really works well with the game. Having said that, only some kind of devil person would fill a game like this with things that shoot at you. You monster.

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Good game, love the graphics. You've got an eye for colour. Found the controls a bit too frustrating at times.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Wow, very nice game! I like the colorful but simple graphics. The controls are interesting, but a bit frustrating at times. ;)

Zccc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Thank you so much everyone! :D
I really don't know why you like the music so much, it clearly shows that I had no idea what I was doing when creating it! ahah I'm no musician, but I like to create different things.

@nseward - With physics, it would end up a very different game, and more difficult, I think, but that was my first idea. I thought that the mechanics like this I would be able to create more amusing levels.

@Beerman - Your comment really made me laugh! Everytime I create a game it ends up being super hard for most of the people.

As a lot of people are "complaining" about the difficult, I feel inclined to create a trailer video for the game so you can see how I play it. It feels super simple to me, even tough I'm still struggling to get 0 deaths in every level :P I think it just needs to grow on you, it needs a lot of practice. Thank you once again!

WauloK says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Hit the nail on the head for all ratings. Well done!

michail says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Good game. The black hole doesn't behave very realistic, though.

May 2, 2013 @ 10:42pm

good little game.. kind of found it abit hard to properly control the ship but i think its just me ;p good job :)

JohnnySix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Interesting and unique concept, I liked the control system, if a little confusing at first. Does the music change based on how many items grabbed? It seems a little random like Aphex Twin playing on a 808.

Zccc says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:23am

@michail - It isn't supposed to be realistic, I just called them black holes out of nothing ahah.

@binarygirl - Well, it looks like it isn't just you :P

@JohnnySix - No, just me trying to come up with something that looks like "music", eheh, but nice reference!

Thank you everyone once again!

mattperrin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:34am

Really impressive and enjoyable. Great job!

mattperrin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:35am

Also, the Aphex Twin comment is right on. But it's cool how you've done it.

May 3, 2013 @ 11:50pm

great game all is real good, graphics, controls, i love the concept GOOD JOB!

gerritg says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:28pm

If you get a hang of the controls it's really great. Loved the artwork!

GingerMess says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:53pm

This game...this game! I love the style, and the pseudo-music that plays throughout. Great entry!

imagnity says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Wow! This is awesome!!! Best work of color so far in this LD. :)

KunoNoOni says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Really cool idea. Great use of theme.

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Love the graphics, and the game is pretty fun. The music was crazy. xD

enzo says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:34am

Interesting controls (hard at first, but I like to think I got better at the end) and great sound!

EggDestroyer says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Ok, I liked your game. A lot of things are well made : innovative controls, good atmosphere, elegant graphics. Still, controlling the ship is IMO really hard, maybe you could have put some feedback on the trajectory of the ship (a dot line ?) or made it a bit more responsive... somehow. I had very hard time to control it even if I really wanted. But hey, that's the price for innovation ! Thanks for the experience ! :D

cakemonitor says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Great looking game and a really nice concept. *Almost* perfect! Unfortunately for me the frustrating controls spoiled it and after completing the first five or six levels I didn't want to play on (sorry!). As other's have said - it would be better if the ship was always dead-centre in the viewport. Also, it seemed the steering system was, quite simply: 'define the centre of a circle and the ship will follow the tangent around that circle' but just sometimes in my experience this wasn't the case e.g. I'd click to the left of the ship to have it steer left but occasionally it would first veer wildly to the right so I'd end up on a much wider turning circle than I anticipated which would often cause me to crash. If you fix the frustrating controls (but keep the control concept the same!) then this would be a game worth paying for. Overall a superb job! :)

Sestren says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:27pm

I thought the black hole mechanic was a really neat way to control a ship, but I couldn't get over the fact that all of the levels seemed designed for a more conventional control method. I think it would have been a lot more fun to have to arc my way through a series of long, circular gaps instead of micro-managing the turning radius on my ship to dodge enemy fire and floating barriers. Overall, I really liked this game, but the mechanic seemed to add more in frustration than it did in fun. I loved the percussive music, as well!

Zccc says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Hey, those are some really nice comments, really helpfull and inspiring :) thank you everyone!
I will take your experiences in consideration when remaking and porting this to mobile, which is a thing I have in mind, but don't have the time just yet... Glad I didn't do it right away, you all have been helping me make this more enjoyable :D

MinionStudios says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:43pm

An amazingly well-crafted mechanic! And so simple. It took very little time to get into the groove.

numpad says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Nice game! Looks nice, great game mechanics and innovation. The sound was a bit odd.
Had much fun playing it.

zanzindorf says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Nice work! The art was fun. It reminded me of a Windows 8 commercial for some reason.

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:23pm

The idea is sound, but it doesn't work as well as it could. I expected the black holes to pull the ship toward them, and it spins around. Which would be fine but sometimes I couldn't gauge when the ship would go left or right. Placing one on the left, for instance, might make it jog right. It was hard to get an intuitive feel for it. The graphics and sound were nice, though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]