April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Keep It Simple.

by PixelMonkey - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A top-down shooter. Upgrades are freely available from the beginning, but using them will lower your score multiplier. You need to decide between being minimalistic with your upgrades or lasting longer. Also, potatoes.

The game took roughly 16 hours to make, in total. Graphics use Dawnbringer's 16 colour palette, though I ran out of time to make proper art with it.

I added leaderboards using Clay.io, but note that you don't have to make an account to post on the leaderboard! Just click the 'Guest' tab when it asks you to login/sign up and you can put your scores up without making any account.

Enjoy, and feel free to share your scores and what upgrades you used to get there in the comments!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#261Fun3.33
#316Overall3.42
#477Graphics3.13
#574Audio2.68
#759Theme3.33
#1051Innovation2.38
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Pretty nice idea!

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57am

Really polished, looks, feels and plays fantastically. I keep coming back to this one to play again. Really difficult as it goes on. I love the ricochet potatoes.

omaromeir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:40am

I loved it, the power-ups at the beginning are a nice touch. A bit difficult though :p.

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Liked the style of the graphics and sound, though the options were maybe a little unnecessary and extraneous given the minimal premise. A hold and shoot would be good too, rapid fire clicking LMB got tiring after a while.

pansapiens says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:55am

This has a unique sort of feel for a dual-stick shooter. Love the explosion visual effects and the bigass score display. Nice idea allowing different ship features at the cost of multiplier - no idea if it's actually balanced (I seemed to do best with just shields+speed) but theoretically it could be a good way to allow players to adapt the game to their play style and compete on the same leaderboard.

dvdking says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:50am

I liked upgrade system. I wish there was music, it would be way more dynamic.

chowdy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Fun game with a really great feel. I had to keep playing until I topped the high scores :)

Cheshyr says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:10am

I like the upgrade/score tradeoff idea.

May 3, 2013 @ 5:20am

Awesome game. Tying upgrades to a score multiplier was a great idea, although it could likely do with some balance tweaks. The visuals were simple but effective. The view distance could maybe be brought back a bit, and I imagine there's not much replay value after you try out the different upgrade combinations. But the core is solid, great job!

bvanschooten says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:16am

Nice game. I like the idea of choosing between upgrades and score. This would probably benefit from a more complex upgrade system. I preferred more bullets and shields.

May 4, 2013 @ 4:10am

Very retro, and very solid. The ship-improvements at the expense of score multipliers is a cool addition too. Nice work!

TurboDindon says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Mawaha! This is great great great, so fun!
Nice the hidden potato bullet.^^

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

May 20, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Solid shooter mechanics, I like the risk/reward thing with the loadout affecting the multiplier

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]