April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

hedraSeed

by RobKat - Jam Entry

hedraSeed
---------
An ambient minimal first person jumping puzzle & exploration game.

Controls
--------
WASD - Movement
Space Bar - Jump
Mouse - Look

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#27Theme(Jam)4.17
#154Graphics(Jam)3.67
#169Mood(Jam)3.29
#236Overall(Jam)3.24
#239Innovation(Jam)3.09
#315Audio(Jam)2.75
#365Fun(Jam)2.67
#409Humor(Jam)1.28

Comments

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:48am

Really cool visuals and levels. The only issue I have is the movement is a little slippery.

fysx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:21am

This could be a really fun game, but the controls and game are very unforgiving. Maybe some mouse smoothing and a bigger fov could help.
Apart from that cool idea and nice realization of the theme!

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:21am

Lovely visuals. Like the music, too. One of the coolest team logo openings I've seen, too! Loved it.

mollymus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:25am

Movement felt a bit awkward, but part from that neat graphics and cool idea!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:27am

I really like the mood of this game.

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:30am

Very cool graphics. The skill jumps are difficult. Frame rate was slow (about 10 fps), even at the fastest graphics settings. This made making the jumps a little too frustrating. I think that having the mouse cursor on screen is confusing.

RobKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Thank you all for you comments, we have tried to address the performance issues with the web build by downgrading the shaders, if you could let us know if it has had any effect it would be muchly appreciated. We have already begun planning for the post jam version, with more 'trees' and finer tuning to the movement tackling the issues of slippery and the awkward unforgivingness. Great idea with the FOV and we will experiment with that to see if it improves gameplay. Thanks again :D

gre says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:00pm

The game has potential but the controls are hard, especially the web version is impossible to play with a laptop touchpad

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:00pm

My nimble fingers are not designed for this! I love the idea, but I just couldn't play it far enough to really get into it. Its too hard, and the controls are too slippery. Checkpoints would go a long way. Not big on your company name title screen thing, its totally pointless and lasts ages! Remember that the theme is minimalism ;)

sick says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Screen.lockCursor = true; ;) Just FYI.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Original !

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Nice idea!

Movement is a bit wonky, and falling down every step is definitely not fun.

Also, I can move during the intro. Is that on purpose?

Holofire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Fun and difficult. Couldn't get passed the first 'level'. I raged. Awesome game.

RobKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:47pm

The movement does need tweaking but we also didnt want the game to be too easy. Yeah the intro sequence movement was intentional, thought it would be a nice twist. Thank you to 'sick' for the FYI about screen.lockCursor. Checkpoints idea is a good one but the falling aspect is the difficulty in the game, death has no meaning here, only starting again.

RobKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Holofire - Love that you raged! I totally did too during testing :D

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:29pm

i like the game concept. specially with the cubes being hidden until you get there. but the player seems to stand on, so you glide of the cubes pretty often.

Bloated Hippo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:14pm

I really did the graphics and gotta love the platforming. Unforgiving! :)

rogueNoodle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:38am

Ah, first-person platforming - always frustrating as hell, but rewarding when you pull it off :) Gave me flashbacks of Mirrors Edge in all the right (and wrong) ways ;) Awesome entry!

metalcan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Cool game! Very pretty. I got past the red tree, but after trying the first difficult blue jump 20 times, finally making it, and then failing right after it, I had to give up. The most frustrating for me was the lack of precision in the controls. Too little friction.

RobKat says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:53am

Awesome to hear someone made it to the blue tree, Ive been working on the friction for the post jam version, Ive also concluded that friction is not the only culprit, upon landing the input keys needed to be nulled for approx 0.2 - 0.5 seconds to allow players to 'reset'

May 2, 2013 @ 10:31am

Simple and nice idea. As everyone already said, the controls are very unforgiving. You could have made the platforms bigger and the level more navigable. Good job!

reverso13 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:36am

Nice game! Very good graphics for this theme. =)

I agree with the others, the first person controls are difficult. I think it will be better with a 3º person camera and a character (a cube?) so you can see better where is the character.

Alphonsus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:18pm

I kept falling after several attempts, so I got discouraged and quit. But other than that, it's an interesting game and I love the ambience and the visuals. :)

May 2, 2013 @ 4:25pm

It's way too frustrating when you fall from a high place. Somekind of checkpoint or an "easy path" would have been great, cause i really don't want to climb that tower again.

john_conder9 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Well I personally think if the challenge is in the move controls it's generally not a good design, and this doesn't appear to be an exception to that rule of thumb in my opinion. The controls really took away from the experience, I made it halfish? (I'm guessing) way up the blue tower thing before giving up when I hit ESC to break full screen and it restarted the level (very annoying !)

If the jumps were at the same level of difficulty but with tight controls I would have enjoyed myself much more. I also agree that a third person view would have helped make this enjoyable here. But, overall, love the concept and it wasn't a bad game, just infuriating and not in a good way. Great job!

mtrc says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Loved this. One of my favourite Minimalist games so far!

Floko says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:39pm

nice idea! The stage appearing as you go is a nice touch. The movement is a little slippery and that can be frustrating, specially when that makes you fall..

pansapiens says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:36am

Great surreal atmosphere (and minimal). I find 3D platforming a little frustrating under ideal conditions - in this case the mouse seemed too sensitive and made it tricker than it should have been. Still enjoyed progressively 'building' the structure - looks great when you step back and survey it from a distance.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]