April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Damn invaders

by dvdking - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Scroll shooter.

Your "ship" will grow, after collecting scrap from enemies

There are two bosses. And one of them will kick your ass!

CONTROLS: WASD, arrows = movement
space, ctrl = shooting
anykey = skip menu
enter = skip intro

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#27Overall4.04
#32Fun3.89
#148Theme4.02
#160Humor3.06
#219Graphics3.62
#274Mood3.23
#302Audio3.12
#459Innovation3.24

Comments

lukedirago says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 5:19pm

awesome!

MisterMagnus says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Awesome!

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:33am

This was a lot more fun than I thought it would be. I burst into laughter when the first level "boss" appeared. :)

Very nicely done, everything works perfectly, although the music could use a little more variation.

Puffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Great game, only thing that sometimes bothered me was that moving vertically became hard once you grew (very) large.
Overall very good

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:38pm

really liked it. works great!

doobdargent says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:40pm

I liked it. Sometimes it's a bit difficult to know what is good/bad for you but it doesn't matter much because you don't die in one shot like in most shooter.
Nice work on the scaling.

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Wow, this is a very awesome game! It is very polished, and I could never tell it was made with GameMaker if it was not for the icon in the beginning.

I loved it, seriously. You have one mechanic (get smaller/bigger) and work it through its many relationships: faster, slower, easier to hit, easier to hit others.

The only suggestion I would make is to pick another song - I feel something with a faster beat would fit this game better.

Thanks for the game!

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Awesome

Hyaku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Great concept and well executed.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Not a valid win32 application :<

vegard1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:59pm

i really liked the intro, fun game

kyyninen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:14pm

One of the few reporting in. Solid game! One thing I found disorienting: boss bullets in second level do MUCH more damage than other similar looking projectiles. I don't mind taking more damage from boss attacks, but they should look different.

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:35pm

I love this! Like Gradius but a hundred thousand times better. Please expand this into a full game and I'll pay $5 for it on Steam.

Moist says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Playing as a white square has never been so enjoyable.

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Totally worth the download, only complaint is the music is a bit unfitting

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:11pm

That was a lot of fun! Got pretty hard too!

bytegrove says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Wow, really nice work, love the intro! :) I really liked how the gameplay changed based on your size, like how the challenge while small was navigating, while when large you had to plan further ahead of where to move as you were slower. It was fun to be able to lob your bullets while large. The boss on level2 was weird though, I was too large when I arrived, so I couldn't avoid the projectiles, and as they it shot so many at once I shrunk and died almost directly. I guess it forces the player to plan ahead on the perfect size for the boss fight while playing the level. This could be a good thing, but it was annoying in my personal opinion.
Nice clean graphics that go well with the theme, and fitting sound effects, nice work! :)

r3d5 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:40am

5 starrrss!!

I played this one a lot. I found holding control is a must (auto shoot). When you're really huge, you have to move up and down to ensure your bullets hit every Y height on the right side.

Really great mechanic of the growing and shrinking. It make some very organic moments in the game.

mollymus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:32am

Very cool game! Impressive to do such a cool game with only simple shapes!

daandruff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Nice game! The controls where a bit sluggish, but other than that there isn't really that much to complain about. I loved it!

shotiris says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Nicely done!

Jod says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:21am

The second boss did kick my ass....

Loved this. You really nailed the minimalist theme. The introduction made me laugh, commander cube really has a hard time with his cube cadets. I think it's great how getting bigger makes you more powerful but also more vulnerable.

One of the better entries I've seen!

multikorv says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:25pm

I really liked this. Nice feedback embedded into the game with the "ship" shrinking and all. Good with some decent boss fights. You did a really nice job!

JohnnySix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Wow, love it, the gameplay is amazing, and the 'eating' mechanic that sizes up the ship is nicely balanced, being as you become a bigger target for enemy fire! Excellent stuff.

glisk says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:14pm

a great shooter! really nice mechanics, really nice graphics, I love it

Xaychru04 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:39am

Very good game! I enjoyed the mechanic of the changing size. The graphics are pretty simple, and fits very well with the theme. The music could have been a little less repetitive, but that's not too annoying. Good job ;)

Thijsku says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:42am

Really good game! I loved the fact that you can grow bigger and stronger. (and also more vulnerable!) Second boss was really hard, but I'll try again soon! Good job! :)

May 5, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Sadly I can't start it. It doesn't seem to be playable on my Win XP (32-bit) laptop. :(

mokujin says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:35am

куку епта
норм игруля

mokujin says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:40am

ooohh shhhhhiiiitt maan. imposible!!! awesome!!!
im excited with your game 0_o
my mark - 5 5 5 5 5
bro

mokujin says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:41am

why you didn't come to the technical school today?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]