April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Glide

by Sgt Squirrelly - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In "Glide", you play as a bird navigating through a field of balloons and windmills. My intention was to make a very relaxing, flowing experience, and I think I succeeded!

Highscores will be erased at the end of the session in the web version, so please tweet at me (@joshuahriley) if you get a really high score, I'd love to see it! Once I get some stand-alone versions working, the local high scores should save themselves.

If anyone has a mac or linux machine and is willing to help me out in testing them out, please let me know!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#512Audio2.77
#529Humor2.25
#720Fun2.80
#789Graphics2.73
#882Overall2.87
#926Mood2.50
#1169Innovation2.17
#1187Theme2.72
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

Saturnyn says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Hi ! I did 1081 :)
Nice game, gameplay is good, and the music is quite appeasing.
A suggestion if you make it evolve: give the clouds and the sky less distinct colors, it will be easier on the eyes.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35am

I lost an eye on clouds but this game is relaxing and challenging !

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:37am

I dig the graphics, except for the clouds. They feel like they are in a different style than everything else. A little wider horizontal view would be good too.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:22am

Poor bird! Keeping him alive was harder than I thought!

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01am

Very cool, got 981. Love the graphics and the audio. Especially the walking people. Didn't think the balloons would hurt me. The controls were a bit more touchy than I would've preferred, but still managable.

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:54pm

The music made this a pretty soothing experience. It would have been nice to cut down on the obstacles for the first 5-10 seconds of play or so to let the player get a flow going. The experience of flying felt more like the experience of crashing, over and over, since it was very easy to hit obstacles right out of the gate. Since you were trying to convey the experience of gliding, a very smooth movement, it was jarring.

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:12am

Nice game, also about a bird :p. I loved the floating mechanics ;).

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:20pm

855 for me (the end is realyy hard). Simple but fun !

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:24pm

This game creates an interesting atmosphere. It's a hard game, mostly because you can't see the objects coming. I keep crashing a lot, so I do not get into that flow experience you mention.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26pm

this was a very fun and challenging yet relaxing game I like how the windmills rotate and the music over all great game!

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:09pm

The game is fun, but my spacebar says that it's not as relaxing as expected from the description XD

sharbelfs says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:03am

This kind of game is always addictive. One thing: i don't know if the sound you made, but i believe the music can be better with no drums, or a more relaxing one.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:08pm

It's fun to see the flight paths that emerge. Flying near the ground reminds me of seeing people at a carnival while riding one of the rides.

kedume says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 10:00pm

The movement of the bird is the clue, and the dificulty of the game. I don't know if this is good or not :-S

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]