April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Shoodir

by ryebread761 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I hope you enjoy :) This is my first time ever submitting to new grounds, hope it all works out well. If not, it's also on DropBox. Made with FlashPunk.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#802Humor1.90
#901Theme3.17
#985Audio1.86
#1024Innovation2.43
#1135Fun2.27
#1219Mood1.93
#1255Overall2.33
#1266Graphics1.97
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

syawqy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

need proper ending, like final boss or something

Overv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:38pm

A bit too simple.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:21pm

+1000 for epic potato.

FenrisWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Cool game, I thought the music was a little repetitive, though. Would've liked to see a little more depth (upgrades, levels, etc.) in the game too. Perhaps in a later release?

Farfin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Some way of knowing how many hits the "bigger" enemies needed to be killed would be good or at least some visual confirmation on hurting them. Controls were interesting Nice attempt!

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Great job. Starts out simple then gets tough quick.

puttputt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Very simple. Interesting take on "space invaders"

lody says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Goes from 1 at a time to a hoard in seconds flat!

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Simple, but it's a nice concept. I liked it :)

scriptorum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:38pm

This goes from very simple for a minute to OMG BLOW THE FAILSAFE!! in a few seconds. For greater difficulty, I'd suggest taking a life for accidentally shooting the box, and a firing delay or recharge cap. Also later enemies should take a less predictable path to the box. Maybe give each type of monster a different type of attack vector.

multitude says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:25am

this is a nice attempt, but could use some more variation

Komradus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:29am

That was good, I enjoyed it. Some of the tougher enemies could use a health bar, maybe.

Potentialing says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:33am

This most definitely fit the "minimalism" theme, however, it also caused its downfall, because I genuinely felt it was too simple to be enjoyable. Many of the enemies flew in the same predictable patterns with very strange graphics (almost reminds me of Action52 in a sense, no offense), and the audio would've been better left mute than two ticks playing over and over again. Sorry, but this wasn't very fun, nor was it very innovative.

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:54am

Nice concept. Score: 2002.

caranha says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Hmmm.... I really liked the control scheme. Control was smooth and precise, and it felt like fun shooting.

But balance was a bit off. It was slow for a looooooooong time, and then suddenly (after I got around 1200 points) *BAM* enemies everywhere. I think the difficulty curve could be a bit smoother - with an intermediate level of difficulty between 1 enemy on the screen and 4 enemies on the screen.

Cheers, and thanks for the game :-D

May 2, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Interesting shooter! Haven't seen that kind of control-scheme before.

ilovepixel says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:25am

Nice game, I really liked the idea of the arrow but it could have 8 directions. The art could have been better too.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]