April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pixel Ninja

by Nsmurf - Jam Entry

You are a ninja made of pixels. Collect the orbs to win!
Instructions:
Arrow keys: Move
R: Restart from savepoint
P: Restart from begining

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#126Audio(Jam)3.42
#186Humor(Jam)2.50
#219Graphics(Jam)3.41
#226Fun(Jam)3.04
#283Mood(Jam)2.88
#292Overall(Jam)3.07
#424Theme(Jam)2.78
#490Innovation(Jam)2.12
#1659Coolness33%

Comments

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:38am

This looks pretty good. I'll vote when I can. You can check out my game if you want.

D33jay says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:40am

Plays really smoothly and collision is great. Game itself gets sort of boring, though. I really enjoy the graphics, however.

Killswitch says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:10am

I think those mechanics are common. Overall, it's fine.

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:18am

I enjoyed the music, and your little ninja graphic is pretty cute.

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54am

Adorable, but get repeating fast.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:27pm

I like the ninja.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Love the ninja, good game!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Very entertaining, I can't get bored with this simple platformers. And the map was huge, I got lost a few times >.<

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:01am

The controls are a little floaty, but otherwise its a solid platformer.

heuermh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:28am

I really liked your ninja sprite!

luch174 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:38am

I found a potato!

lasergans says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:54am

I really love the graphics and music! Good job! :)

Nsmurf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:35pm

D33jay:
Thanks! It was hard for me to make a minimal game without it getting boring, so I tried to make the map huge to compensate.

Ludipe:
Thanks, I was trying to make the map huge to make it more fun, I'm glad to see that it worked!

PurpleMoustache:
I'll keep that in mind for next time.

luch174:
Good job!

3.14 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Fun little game. I fell in love in the music though. For all I know it doesn't fit... but it feels great and set the chilled-out mood for the game. Good job!

joe40001 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:47am

I liked it but I think song 2 is very inferior to song 1 and I think game would have been better with a simple jump sound effect.

Still oddly fun/calm. Good mood good take on the theme of minimalism.

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:41am

Pretty cool, I liked the jazzy music kept me interested. I only got 20 points but it was some pretty solid gameplay. Nice one!

TehSkull says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:25am

Doesn't have anything to keep my interest. Needs a minimap. The music doesn't loop well in the slightest. (Not to knock the quality of the music, because it's GREAT.)

Alucard J says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:06am

Challenging little game, some of those orbs have to be approached the right way. Good controls, great pixel art, music is really cool but like it has been said before not really suited. Needs some sort of effect to show the spawnpoint has been saved. Well Done =]

MegaBrutal says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:49am

I won this game, though it took some time. It would be nice to have a minimap, 'cause when there are less than 5 trinkets left, it gets quite frustrating to find the remaining ones. Also would nice to end the game after you found all the trinkets (+ the potato).

Btw, I did find the potato before finding the trinkets, though I couldn't do anything with it. Does something happen if I get to the potato after finding all the trinkets?

Anyway, really nice graphics and great mood. The music is also great, though it gets a little annoying over time.

Well done! :)

Overall: 4; Innovation: 2; Fun: 3; Theme: 5; Graphics: 5; Audio: 3; Humor: N/A; Mood:4.

Nsmurf says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:28am

Alucard J:
Thanks! A spawnpoint effect was something that was out because of time, but I would have put in time allowing :(

MegaBrutal:
I'm thinking that a minimap would be good, but not nessicarly to show the orbs, for that I'd take a Knytt style effect over a minimap. (If you haven't played knytt, play it *now*)
Nothing happens when you find the potato, even if you have all the orbs. I wanted to put in something awesome, but I didn't have enough time.
You an press M to mute the music, but I forgot to mention that :(

Thanks for the ratings!

Detocroix says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:09pm

I found the tato! Did you make the music by yourself? :)

Nsmurf says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:38am

Detocroix:
Good job! I didn't make the music, one of my friends did, all within the time limit :)
The music was the only reason that I was in the jam, everything was done in 48 hours.

MinionStudios says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Fun and huge! There are points where I got lost...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]