April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

PONK

by Sos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

PONK in 1kb made on a real C64 in around 8h.

Hint: Press Fire button to

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#5Theme4.55
#70Humor3.56
#185Mood3.40
#216Overall3.54
#294Audio3.13
#381Innovation3.35
#512Fun3.03
#554Graphics3.03
#1744Coolness28%

Comments

triplefox says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:16am

Works in VICE. The zip compression isn't supported by one of my archiving programs though!

BleuLlama says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:33am

I can't wait to read about the process for this one. Mega cheers!

The Jahn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:07am

... Woah. Nicely done.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:52am

Next step : analog pong, no programming, digital signals only !

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:49am

This is amazing

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:44pm

now available on cassette!

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Pretty neat. Congratz for this prod.

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Those skills

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Certainly impressive! Am I missing the controls being explained somewhere? I was only able to work out the left players controls by mashing the keyboard :p

Sos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:14pm

You need to configure joystick settings inside Vice. Joystick #2 is left player, Joystick #1 is right player.

finefin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Sosowski, you are a true nerd, sir! I actually watched you soldering that usb cable. good job!

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Nicely done.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:33pm

It won't run on my non-c64-machine :(

madeinpda says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:31pm

superb!

SamoojaMies says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:15pm

I am amazed. The game works nicely. Enjoyed the twitch stream also. Very good job :)

Gremlin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Awesome idea. I'm going to try this after I get back home.

henrykun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:01am

So awesome, really

vandriver says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:02am

motherfucking commodore 64. i salute you.

Shigor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:12am

I can't find any words suitable to describe this... :)
the game, when taken out of context, is... well pong. But the process of making it must be the awesomest in this LD :)

shinestrength says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:25am

So, so cool.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:40am

Ha! Mad scientist indeed. Incredible hacking job and making it on an original C64 is inspired. I set up both joysticks and tried to play myself. The ball is about 100x too fast! But I did manage to hit it back and forth a few times. Should win a technical achievement award for sure.

gamaral says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:31am

I grew up coding C64 games from magazines, it was an awesomely nostalgic experience to read through your code, I can't remember much anymore, but you inspired me to go dust off the old C'.

Martze says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:17am

Sosowski, someone needs to save you from yourself.

jerombd says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:24am

You deserve a Trophy for coding the game on a C64! And the postmortem is interesting.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Hats off for even daring to something like this. I read your blog post on this and my jaw fell down in amazement. Respect,good sir!

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:56pm

The ball moves faster than the paddles can react, at least on an emulator. But its a working C64 game in 48 hours!

Pierrec says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:53pm

It's hard not to give you 5/5 on theme ^^

Misfit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26pm

damn, maybe I have to make vic20 game next time :D. thumbs up! Cool game.

BenW says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:23am

Fun game dude. It wasn't clear that the fire button actually did anything, you may want to make a note of that somewhere on the page. I'll be sure to play actual multiplayer when I get a chance.

robc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:34am

C64 for the win.

Fun little pong game - though not so much when you have the emulated joysticks setup in a weird way ;)

fr_automatik says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Woah!
*Prrrrlllllllll*

Gravel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:52pm

You are crazy.

entrusC says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Crazy idea. But perfect match on the theme. Still I'm a bit disapointed that you didn't solder real potentiometers on your C64 to play the game like it was meant to be played ;)

sittaman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Just for that odissey you described on the post mortem you already deserve 5 stars. Sos, you are sick! And I thought that McPixel was crazy.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:11am

Total props for doing on the C64. what a really cool idea :)

Misael.K says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:09am

Insanity or genius? You'll be the judge. This is impressive.

tankete says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Once I finally figured out how to get the control working, it was fun! Any way to slow down the ball? Nice job!

qdowngames says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Kudos. Nice work, really.

shawn42 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:13pm

You sir are crazy for writing this. Good work. Thanks for keeping LD interesting in ways I would not have imagined.

fishbrain says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:47pm

....so ....beautiful

numpad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Awesome! Doing something on a C64 is great work!
I don't think this will win, but it's awesome. I think I also got a C64 laying somewhere in my basement ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]