April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ASCII 219

by richtx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Single Button Platformer

** Updated to tone down the background which some found distracting. Level edits to demonstrate that keys toggle the gates on/off. Also, the one button only control is what I intended to be the minimalism factor. ***

The name of the game is "ASCII 219" (cursor block in ascii).

You play as the simple text cursor looking for adventure.

You control this platform game with just the space bar.

Make sure the game window is focused to get key input working.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#173Fun3.48
#249Theme3.88
#303Overall3.43
#316Innovation3.43
#584Mood2.84
#627Humor2.13
#761Audio2.35
#804Graphics2.71

Comments

ThreeUp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:19am

Using Chrome for PC,

NoClassDefFoundError GameApplet (wrong name com/caprockgames/ld26/GameApplet)

richtx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23am

Sorry about that. I'll get that fixed. You can try the jar file directly until then.

San says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53am

This is Minimalism. Amazing controls. What else to add?

richtx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:30pm

The Web version should work now.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:49am

Very nice single-button design.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:49am

Not a fan of the jump-only games, but this was surprisingly well designed. Nicely done.

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:55am

Surprised how much control you get with just one button, liked the graphical style.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:59am

This was fun at first, but perhaps a little long. The fuzzy background was a little hard to stomach, though I realize it was chosen to add mood. The game reminds me of some Sega Genesis exploration game I played when I was a kid, or of Super Metroid (wall jumping!).

Tricky and fun, though! Good job!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:06am

Fun! For level design, I would put two doors near each other at the beginning, so you can see that the keys "toggle" doors. (By the way, there is no 219 in ASCII -- the block character is from code page 437).

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:07am

I beat it, but there was a path that I couldn't quite jump to right at the very end. Is there something hidden on that path? Is it a potato?

richtx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:10am

I wish I had thought of that. It is a path for misdirection. I didn't want the last key to be as obvious as the others.

richtx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:13am

Ditrich Epp. here is an ASCII chart. http://www.asciitable.com/index/extend.gif. On windows you can type ALT-219 and should see the block character. Not sure it will show here thought. █

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:28am

Minimalism in terms of controls.Good job on that.

LionelJitro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:29am

Interesting take on the runner/platformer hybrid.

Having the mini map in the top right was pretty cool as well.

Nicely implemented idea. Enjoyed it.

Arcana says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:32am

Interesting level design. I too agree that the noisy background got distracting. I'm not a gigantic fan of 2D scrolling games like this but this one was interesting. The level was amazingly long, but I missed a jump and didn't want to try navigating backwards for a minute to recover my progress. :(

Very cool, I especially liked jumping off of walls.

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:35am

This game is GENIUS. Love it love it love it.

At first I was skeptical; I thought it wasn't going to work as a core mechanic, but you proved me wrong. It's awesome.

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:50am

Nice one-button platformer execution. I just could not get past the second pit - too many fails in a row. But the map is a nice touch to give me some perspective!

LoneStranger says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:04am

Very well done. Complete game that fits the theme.

moomoo112 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:46am

very interesting, worked a lot better running from the jar than running from inside my browser

rxi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Came back to this one and it looks like you fixed it, as it works now!

Interesting use of the theme. I found it a fun little exploration game with obviously minimal controls and graphics to boot. I did find some parts incredibly frustrating (almost to the point of giving up), when it wouldn't register my jump and at other times would register me hitting a wall when I was simply cruising along the ground!

I did end up giving up, though I think I was near the end at this point:

http://i.imgur.com/scFZLDk.png

My guy just kept going back. and forth. and back. and forth. and there was little I could do about it while the same plink sound kept playing over. and over. and over. I couldn't even leave it unattended for too long, since if it DID manage to escape the gap it would have ran back into it. I do try and play every game through to the end and give it as much of a chance as I hope people do to mine, but I unfortunately wasn't willing to either restart the game or wait for my escape!

Up to the part where I got stuck the game was good and overall I enjoyed the experience. I appreciate that me getting stuck may have been me "losing", but the frustrations with the bugs put me off playing the game from the beginning again.

Kalakian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Great game, one of my favourites that I've played so far. Well thought out, good level structure, and fits the theme.

There was a few glitches in the audio later on in the game (on Firefox, Windows), but nothing to severe. Made it all the way to the end.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Pretty nice game for one key press all the time. Kept be interested until the end. Nice job!

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:40am

Cool Name, Game fits the minimalism-theme very well... I like the gameplay. Good Submission...

oldtopman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:44am

Decent game, but it is linear and can get a little repetitive.

captainkraft says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:12am

I love the controls. And the simplicity is pretty cool. Well done

May 3, 2013 @ 1:25am

Awesome great game I wasn't very good at it though.

radmars says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:38am

surprisingly fun one-button game! I really enjoyed the level design, I think a tiny bit of color variation in different areas would help you keep your bearings a bit better, but overall really slick. :D

evilDan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:03am

That's damn clever. Pretty impressive for one button!

May 3, 2013 @ 2:43am

Pretty fun. The jump felt a little floaty. The keys were a little confusing that they toggled the doors, maybe switches would have been more obvious.

hi-scor.es says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:54am

That was great!

stqn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:56am

Fun and smooth, but it would be nice to know where we've already been and/or where the end is! I stopped before the end, not knowing if I was progressing or just running in circles.

miotatsu says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:18am

nice little game, it's surprising how you managed to add a fun twist to a single button game. At first I thought the orange squares did not have a point, but later a few seemed to provide a bit of misdirection. I felt that the mini-map was completely unnecessary. It's an interesting concept overall... good job!

Jan Marcano says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:25am

It was really good! I was kinda bothered that falling of a pit made you start over, but since they were only near the start it didn't matter anymore. Also the box would sometimes sound like it hit something and turn back even if it was clear in front of it.

Great game nonetheless! Nice work

messiano says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:28am

LOVED this game! Great concept and very well done, the gameplay just feels right. Fun!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]