About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 9 days, 13 hours, 28 minutes, 54 seconds
  • October Ends: in 10 days, 13 hours, 40 minutes, 54 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 45 days, 14 hours, 28 minutes, 54 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Feint Signal - brxtr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Feint signal bars.

    This is my first finished Ludum Dare game since LD23. I think the theme suits the style of games I make and by making the game I was procrastinating from university coursework.

    It features online high scores if you play the game on (and login to) Game Jolt.

    Made using FlashPunk, FlashDevelop, FL Studio and Fireworks (I seem to like software with names beginning with "F").

    View brxtr's journal. | View all entries by brxtr

    Ratings

    Coolness66%
    #38Audio3.91
    #72Fun3.72
    #121Theme4.06
    #158Overall3.66
    #186Graphics3.71
    #266Mood3.24
    #529Innovation3.15
    #875Humor1.82

    Comments

    Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:58pm

    That's fantastic! Really addictive gameplay and it looks great! :)

    syawqy says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:20am

    this look solid and polished
    kinda like super hexagon

    Orni says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:13am

    I've player super hexagon a lot the last couple of days, so I felt right at home in this game. very well done. it's also quite polished.

    make a mobile version out of it, I'm sure it would sell nicely

    Hypnohustla says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09pm

    Addictive. Loved the filmgrain effect on it and the overall look :)

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:49pm

    Awesome game. really solid and well executed!

    tudd says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:49pm

    nice!

    maybe if you could turn left and right...

    Jellycakes says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:30am

    Really nice game, nice visuals. Interesting concept with the wheel avoidance, haven't seen that before. Nicely done.

    dalbinblue says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39am

    That's really my kind of game. I would like to see the difficulty start off higher as it took a long time to ramp up, and also in my first play I got hit with a wall where all five sections were blocked so you might have a glitch in the level generation logic. Second time got to 100 before legitimately dying (jumped up too early).

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:44am

    This a simple yet a very nice and addicting game.
    I like the visuals together with the music :D

    ataxkt says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:38pm

    Great fun! Nicely polished too.

    Casino Jack says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:41pm

    Oh wow I think you broke my vision - the warping was seriously trippy! A simple concept wonderfully polished.

    alcazar says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:49pm

    This is a fucking amazing Game,i feel Super Hexagon spirit in GG guys :)

    uncade says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:58am

    Great music in this, nice minimalistic art and gameplay too. Great job!

    LizEngland says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:50am

    This is some of the best music I've seen so far! And your art is gorgeous and feels modern while still being minimalist.

    pansapiens says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:35am

    Wow, that's really good. Now please excuse me while I go over here and *barf*. Okay, let's play again :)

    metalcan says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 11:28am

    Love it. Awesome graphics and music, really challenging. This one goes into my favs. My record is 30.

    zatyka says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 5:34am

    Very fun to play.

    May 3, 2013 @ 6:20am

    Awesome. The music was so good I kept playing to hear it. Simple mechanic, slick presentation and fun. I got a little dizzy :) Good work.

    sparkleswirl says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 6:32am

    Great game! Simple, polished, challenging an gorgeous graphics. Loved it.

    aquilicoco says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 7:02am

    Great job. I loved it.

    Jorjon says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 8:50am

    Wow nicely done!! Nice effects!

    anatolat says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 9:13am

    Awesome!

    Angerus says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 10:49am

    Excellent idea and visual!(although "simple", they feel great!).

    Are says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 11:49am

    Very cool :D Visually this game is one of the best!

    8BitPimp says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 1:43pm

    Nice polished game. Really addictive.

    Tifu says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 3:01pm

    Cool game, love the way the circles pulse, and the simple but challenging gameplay.

    Rongon says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 3:32pm

    Really enjoyed simple gameplay, very fun to play. There could be local high-score, so I can brag about how much far I went.

    JonRB says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 4:34pm

    Well rounded game, but it became a little headache-inducing and tedious so I stopped.
    The music is decent if a little repetitive. It occasionally had this strange blip when it started over but otherwise it suited the game well.

    Nice graphics, I really liked the 'noise' overlay effect.
    Lost seemingly randomly once or twice but otherwise a good game.

    rogueNoodle says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 4:34pm

    Great presentation and really simple but addictive gameplay. The pulsing was little hard on the eyes (for me at least), but yeah - awesome work!

    Puccini says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 5:33pm

    Great game

    DaanVanYperen says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 6:54pm

    Pretty hard, nifty idea!

    Robotic says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 7:40pm

    Cool fast paced little game :)

    Sylvain.p says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 10:17pm

    I love the graphics and the mood, but I think the gameply is maybe too simple.

    0beah says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 1:10am

    Really love the audio. Creates a lovely vibe. Boppin up and down in my chair while I play.

    hughsk says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 6:16am

    Really nicely polished, and good audio - it does remind me of Super Hexagon though!

    cwilloughby says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 7:46am

    Very nice. This is truly excellent. Great work for 48 hours. Here because of the 10s video and how great it shows. Nice work.

    Madball says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 10:34am

    What I saw its 10 second video, I thought: "I must play it!"
    That's very addictive, and visuals are amazing. It shows that you don't have to be a super artist to make a good-looking game!

    KEFIR says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 11:51am

    Really smooth! Great music! Concept fits theme perfectly!

    BrothersT says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 12:10pm

    Nice game. People really have gone minimalist this time! Slight problem with collisions at one point but apart from that, quite fun. Only thing is I wished the pulsing of the screen was in time with the music.

    MinionStudios says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 2:56pm

    Great work! this colors, filter and music works so well!

    bompo says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 3:05pm

    Remembered me at Super Hexagon. Well done!

    protensity says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 7:56pm

    It has a really distinct style and fun music. Well done!

    Colapsydo says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 8:27am

    The bouncing effect of the speaker is nice but maybe a bit too pronounced.
    Good adaptation and good music too.

    Covenant says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 12:47pm

    Very cool, very hard (but that just adds to the flavor, imo)... Really like this, amazing work!

    rujo says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 3:36pm

    nice one! very challenging gameplay.

    jadams says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 7:41pm

    Impressed with the overall polish of this, great concept and graphics.

    The pulsing is what stopped me playing it for longer. I'll be coming back to it again later.

    JustinMullin says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 12:48am

    Great art and music - motion sickness kicked in overtime with all the spinning and pulsing, but it was fun while it lasted. =)

    Jeremias says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 6:36pm

    The music and your visual style is great. Nonetheless I'm so unbelievable bad in this game :D

    Maple says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 1:04pm

    You also like to make your software start with "F" too, huh?
    Ooh, this is good. I ended up getting a score of 53 after a bit (probably due to occasional frame drops -- don't worry about that though, because my computer is bottom of the range as of 3.5 years ago). I think the music is fitting, and the static really adds some texture to the visuals.

    Now for the constructive criticism: I think the player hitbox should be a tad smaller -- a lot of my deaths were due to moving ever-so slightly too soon or too late and just clipping the edge of myself on the wall. Also, this is just indulgence, but I feel like free vertical movement may have been more interesting to play.

    Good job.

    kill0u says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 9:39pm

    Great game :)

    Dir3kt says ...
    May 9, 2013 @ 11:43am

    Haaa this one is a lot of fun :) Good job!

    Beerman says ...
    May 9, 2013 @ 9:22pm

    Nice job! Simple game, perfectly polished, fits the theme to a tee. I love the grainy film effect and how the bouncing keeps everything just slightly off from being perfectly geometrical - almost feels like you're playing the credits sequence to some late 60s spy movie :)

    finefin says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 4:34pm

    love the aesthetics of this game. awesome music, I dig those breakbeats. my highest score is 25. fun game!

    Zim the Fox says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 8:48pm

    The only one thing I didn't like was the instructions flashing on and off.

    I got a score of 43 and the music reminds me of the band Plaid (which I love <3). Fantastic entry! All 5!

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]