April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Scout Droid Bravo 325 Jr

by Mark Hildreth - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Scout Droid Bravo 325 Jr" is a puzzle game that was inspired by the following "minimalist" quote:

"Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away." - Antoine de Saint-Exupe

Each map has multiple devices that help you move around, but can only be used once. You need to use each device, thereby removing it, in order to complete the level.

Written in Javascript with Canvas.

NOTE: For best results, you will need a recent browser (try a new Firefox, Chrome).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#55Humor3.66
#210Fun3.42
#303Overall3.43
#455Mood3.00
#573Innovation3.11
#746Graphics2.78
#928Theme3.14

Comments

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:08am

Loved the dialogue!

whitetigle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35am

Fun dialogs and interesting puzzles :)

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:41am

Very nice puzzle mechanics! the controls aren't perfect, though.

I love the look of the general.

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13am

Had trouble with level 5 -- not sure why but i got stuck there, otherwise good job!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:16am

Very cute! I like the mechanics a lot!

Zener says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Dialogs and the gfx inside them are pretty cool. The puzzle mechanics are very good, playability takes it a bit down.

tnovelli says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:24am

Rewindable dialogs, the killer feature missing from...every RPG i've ever played :D

ming_tea says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:29am

Amusing dialog and a pretty enjoyable game.

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:14am

Some of the puzzles felt like they could be solved in more than one way, but over all they were fun to play. Also, a lot of content for such a limited time, well done.

mort96 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:17pm

I love how you also used JavaScript and Canvas - not relying on browser plugins FTW!

Also, nice game.

Mark Hildreth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:32pm

@ilo: Yeah, I started realizing early on that building the levels would be a lot harder than I expected. So I built an AI to help brute force the levels, which I then modified to help me create the later levels (which should only have one solution to them).

ecool377 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:50pm

cool

dreamlogician says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:02am

Funniest entry I have played so far! The combination of the lighthearted tone and interesting, quirky characters mixed together well with the simple puzzles to give the whole thing a very "adventure game" feel.

One suggestion: Only advance the text upon initial detection of key down, rather than continuing to do so while the player is holding the button down. I accidentally skipped past some of the dialog at first, which was a shame given the quality of your writing. :)

katsumottojp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:35pm

The mechanics are very interesting, pretty decent design, with more refining, it could be an awesome game.

Whats bad: No Audio, too much text, lack of other screens (intro, menu, etc...).

Alex Rose says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:58am

This was awesome. So big, and so much great dialogue.

At first I was really cocky with it too, like "Man, I'm the best at this". Then I got to level 22, and played it for 6 minutes before giving up. I kept getting stuck with one device of three devices still active (trapdoors on the midright, midleft and a sliding platform in the mid left).

Either way though, it kept me compelled to try that many times in a row. Eventually I gave up because I've clearly reached my level of incompetence :p .

Great game, nice work.

amodo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Great mechanics, great dialogue, great game :D

ddionisio says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Love the dialog, it served the story well! So much content!

Pretty cool puzzles, albeit sometimes I have to guess where those jump-pads land you to. I end up doing a lot of trial and error.

shohs says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Cool game. The dialog was really well done, and it was my favorite part of the game. The levels weren't too difficult, although 22 was pretty hard. Overall nice job!

SmilingCat says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:54am

Really awesome! Great puzzle mechanics, and some pretty funny dialog.

Teejay5 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:21pm

That's some funny dialogue xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]