April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mix

by Leebo86 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Click and drag the hollow shapes to match either the color or shape of falling shapes. Match 3 in a row to get more time. Dropping a shape on another shape causes them to swap places.

I'm hoping to port it to mobile before the judging ends, but for now it's Flash only.

Timelapse video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jtkrv_8HMJQ

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#334Overall3.40
#365Innovation3.37
#458Fun3.09
#505Theme3.58
#512Graphics3.09
#778Humor1.94
#824Mood2.61
#832Audio2.22

Comments

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26am

interesting concept! I can see this probably works best on a touch-screen.. very nice

Diventurer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28am

It was very tricky with a mouse, but yeah, as @orangepascal said - this is probably very fun on a touch-screen!

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33am

Cool, just needs some music and it could be really addictive!

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49am

Echoing the comments of other - very cool, well-executed, not easy with a mouse! Good job.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:54am

Simple but fun, it'd be nice to play it on a touch device.

I was doing well until I missed a square and then I got nervous and missed many shapes. The first run I completely forgot about color matching.

caasi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04am

Your game reminds me this:
http://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/1197/blink

But mouse slow everything down.

Gama11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Seems like this was designed for a mobile device - so I'm neither a huge fan of the control scheme on a normal computer, nor the resolution.

That being said, I like the concept, which certainly fits the theme, and I think this could be quite fun if you implemented another control scheme for PC. Like, Pressing keys 1-3 to select a shape and the arrow keys to move them around.

Leebo86 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:47pm

I'm a little surprised that the mouse-only controls are considered a downside. I like to designs games that are intuitive on mobile and browser. To me, it seems like keyboard controls would have complicated it considerably. But perhaps that's just my personal preference.

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Very trick with a mouse, but I liked the idea!

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Nice, but I gotta say I agree with the mouse comments. I think I'd do far better with keyboard controls on this.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:46pm

As others have said, some music and putting this on mobile would be really neat. Otherwise, nice entry!

Mysterarts says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Addicted! the mechanic work completely!

NAMKCOR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Not bad, though it's a little clunky to click and drag everything. It would probably play really well on a touch screen device.

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:54pm

nice variation of the guitar hero game. i liked that you can either use color or shape.

LoneStranger says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:02am

Great job. Hard to get the hang of at first, but not too hard to pick up.

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:59am

Interesting controlling idea!

wonderwhy-er says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:18am

Interesting concept, lacks something to be fun for me, hmm.
It kind of reminds all those "guitar hero" games, just no music dimension.
Hmm, my be its because I can't relate this to real world activities in some way that would made it fun for me :) Mashing buttons in music rhythm games feels more fun probably cuz it relates to music instruments and rythm part of them is better visible then here...

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Interesting game. Unfortunately the controls are very slow for me and the game crashes every now and then on Chrome/Win.

I really think you should continue working on this and perhaps release it for mobile. The graphics and concept would work very well for a casual mobile game.

Good work!

lotusgame says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Very nice polished game, without music, but with a progression of difficulty. Very good job !

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Great work, very original!

Alink says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Very fun. I like the contrast between the beginning when you have time to do optimal moves, and the end where it becomes very hectic.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]