April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fractured

by dalbinblue - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Help guide Pie through his fractured word in this puzzle platformer.

Controls are super simple:
--------------------------
- Left and right arrow (or direction pad on a gamepad) move player
- Space (or "A" on gamepad) reset level

Written in C# using XNA 4.0. If you haven't run an XNA application before, you will need to install the XNA redistributable, available from Microsoft at http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914. Note that you will not need to install the game itself on your machine, just unzip the archive and run the game executable.

Constructive cretinism is encouraged. I hope you have fun playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#20Overall4.09
#25Graphics4.28
#36Mood3.92
#48Audio3.81
#64Fun3.74
#113Innovation3.79
#434Humor2.41
#694Theme3.40

Comments

billybombill says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47am

Very nice! Love the graphics, music, art (pretty much I love it all). Amazing, and only in 48 hours! :)

saint11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:42am

I really like this! Congratulations :) Maybe it's just a bit too hard for me, but I love the idea!

harleylaurie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:56am

Awesome art style and music. Great puzzle design!

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43am

Very nice game! The character looks really good. Sometimes, with all of the rotating, I had trouble keeping track of which buttons went to which block. Maybe if they were color coordinated or something?

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:53am

Aw. That's too cute. And so clever! :) <3

Peter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:41am

Good job, like the art

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:48am

I thought this was an excellent game! I really just loved everything about it! Nice job!

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:54am

I really liked this game. The art is great; simple and impressive. The sound goes really well with the feel. Also, the controls are very minimal.

The only criticisms I have are that the theme isn't very apparent and it's a bit hard. It took me a very long time to figure the puzzles out.

Great game, thanks for making it

Hayawi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:01am

Nice game, it would be a very good idea to make this into a mobile app

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:06am

Really nice game. Some interesting game mechanics and definitely looks good. Cute characters too. Well done!

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:19am

@Hayawi I'm seriously considering picking up an Apple developer account and expanding this game out. I've watched a few people play it to understand the design issues (thanks Jellycakes) to see what works and what doesn't.

@captainkraft, I wish I had more time to make levels to ramp up, they get hard quickly.

@cahman, my brother suggested that I actually put in a zooming function to make it possible to see the level as a whole (though too late to get it in). Others suggested a hint system; something subtle.

Cranky says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:41am

Very enjoyable and innovative, I liked it a lot.

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:50am

I'd say it's the best game I've played so far.

Stryphe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Nice game, I enjoyed playing it.

KevinZuhn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:11am

I'm in favor of the ability to zoom, or at least see a map. The game looks good at the current size, but a lot of times it seemed like I was affecting blocks off-screen, and I lost track of what my movements and button presses were doing. So especially in the later levels I ran around a bit hopeless trying to stumble into a solution!
But it's totally a solvable problem, and I like the basic gameplay and puzzle ideas! I hope you do a post-compo version.

ilovepixel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:01am

Really nice game, i spent a while trying to solve this hardcore puzzle. Graphics and music were great!

Ryusui says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:49am

Cute, clever, and very professional-looking. I love how the reset button makes the little guy sit down and cry 'cause he's stuck. XD

frankbsad says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:51am

that was amazing.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:53am

Amazingly creative, and the art is beautiful! If I had any criticism, they'd be that the difficulty spikes hugely after the first three or so rooms and that there aren't enough obstacles. Super game though, would play again.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:03am

I love the basic idea! But a lot of times it feels like I'm just guessing my way around puzzles, since the buttons are connected to blocks off-screen, or just because I get turned around about which blocks affect which. If you work on this some more (which I encourage!) maybe you could connect circuit lines from buttons to blocks, code the buttons and blocks with shapes/colors, or show a zoomed out view that lets me see what's happening. Or all of the above, really.

whiteravens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:06am

Wonderful and emotional!

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Really, really great. Easily one of my favorite LD games ever. LOVE the sprites, LOOOOOOVE the music, and the puzzling gameplay is outstanding. Very tricky but very rewarding! CONGRATS ON SUCH AN AMAZING GAME!

dalbinblue says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:32pm

@Tyro I agree there as well; the game needs a lot more puzzles in between that teaches the user patterns. I got teaching the core elements, but I need to make the initial puzzle smaller to teach techniques. I also need to remove the guessing puzzles like the four buttons in a line puzzle (or a least simplify it so that the player can see the rules).

@Dietrich, I've watched a few people play and the biggest issue is feedback. A user needs to know one way or another that an action has an effect, I'm designing out a few solutions, some subtle, and some more obvious (like a zoomed out camera).

@SonnyBone Wow, really? That means a lot to me!

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:36pm

This is a truely good game. Nice concept, nice music, nice audio, good mood and fits well the theme. Congratulations :)

May 3, 2013 @ 5:08am

Outstanding. I love the little caterwaul <3

Finn Stokes says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:44am

Great minimalism, using only walking plus (approximately) two environmental mechanics to produce an elegant little game with great visuals and audio.

I love the way you teach the mechanics implicitly by beginning with simple levels that convey lessons through play. It is something I try to do as much as I can and this is as good an implementation as I've seen.

As has already been discussed, all it needs is an elegant solution to the feedback problem and possibly a mild softening of the difficulty curve.

Well done and good luck if you take this further!

Tom 7 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Excellent graphics and sound! I love it! The game itself is creative, though I found the button-based stuff frustrating because there was no indication of what buttons went with what door.

StMatn says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Awesome game! Some music would have made it perfect :) The mechanics are great

dalbinblue says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:07am

@StMatn The game did have music. Were you accidentally muted or was there a glitch in the game that I need to address?

Cosine says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:46am

Great game.

Baknik says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:56am

Great animations and puzzle design.

Maple says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:56pm

This was really nice. I kept playing until the end. Constructive criticism: I thought you should be able to look around the level, because a lot of the time I had no idea what buttons were doing, and I had to just guess where to go. Also I think some levels that came earlier were harder than some levels that came later. Otherwise, great job.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:58am

awesome game -- i love the style and the puzzles are awesome!! great job!

ethankennerly says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:47am

Fascinating rotating platformer with charming pixel art! if you are developing this further, i found it easy to get into for the first few levels, yet got into a level that bewildered me; surely i did something dumb, yet i wasn't stretching my mind to see your solution.

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Great design, super polished, clean and simple. Love the character!

SonnyBone says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:57pm

I remixed/re-arranged the theme from Fractured. Thanks for such an awesome game, dalbinblue!

https://soundcloud.com/sonnybone/fractured-remix-dalbinblue

Fnkee says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Had to try both yesterday and today in order to complete the game. I finally made it though. For you to have made this in 48 hours is amazing. Graphics and music were splendid, as well as animations and storyline. Very cute story, and what a happy ending(except for all those who had failed in escaping). And of course, the gameplay concept in itself was simple, yet very innovative. I'm overwhelmed, my friend! Amazing job!

ethankennerly says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:23am

Fascinating rotating platformer with charming pixel art! if you are developing this further, i found it easy to get into for the first few levels, yet got into a level that bewildered me; surely i did something dumb, yet i wasn't stretching my mind to see your solution.

May 8, 2013 @ 6:48pm

fun, get's hard fast though

Tifu says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:01pm

This is awesome! Love the cute graphics, the music, the puzzles are super hard but I somehow managed to beat it anyway. Good job.

Xanjos says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:00pm

It's quite hard but the general gameplay was really excellent and I loved the graphics and audio.

deathray says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:47am

Impressive puzzler! The only things I would add are a way to view the whole board, and more animations to make pie even cuter.

Taro Omiya says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:00am

Liked the minimalistic story, puzzles are excellent, well-thought out. Definitely liked mechanic. Can see this as a legitimately sold indie game!

kill0u says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:52am

Nice! The end is brutal though :D

Spiridios says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:52am

Wow, where to start. This is probably one of the games in LD that impressed me the most. The integrated tutorial is awesome. Not just for an LD game, you did a wonderful job leading the player through each of the core mechanics before throwing them into their first puzzle. The little cries from the little orange critter when you reset were great. It makes you actually feel a bit bad for giving up without actually punishing the player. The little blue critter and it's whine give you mystery you want to track down. The fractured graphics help with that. I gave up a few levels in, because I'm not really up to a puzzler right now, so I'm not really sure of those mysteries are answered. As has been said, some better cues on where/what buttons are doing would help. And continuing the tutorial by having a better ramp up on puzzle difficulty would help too. This is definitely a game to continue developing. Great job!

Spiridios says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:00pm

I came back to play again. :p So here's some more feeback. This one's very very minor: because the .zip doesn't have the game name in it, it was hard to find in my LD26 folder of games.

Since this is an XNA game, you might consider trying JSIL. It may or may not work, but if it does you'll have a web version of your game.

Having come back, a way to skip levels you've already completed would be nice.

There's one place in one level (second to last I believe) where you CAN walk on empty space. That seemed like a bug, except I couldn't find any way to continue the level without using that.... Except, now that I solved the level, I think it may be possible to solve without using that glitch. This also may be why it took me so long to solve the level because I hadn't discovered the other path and kind of dismissed that area as being "done"....

I like that standing in the way of walls doesn't punish you in any way.

SonnyBone says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 1:58am

20 OVERALL!!! YEAH!!! Great job! Congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]