April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

moomieware

by Catmoo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

moomieware is my compilation of simple tasks, I wasn't sure how to approach the theme, but this is what I came out with.

Two buttons are used, spacebar and left mouse button, the only other direction you'll get will be words and how you figure to take those hopefully directs you to the right button press.

There are 12 mini games in total, see if you get all of them :)

Also there's sounds so I recommend playing with your speakers/headphones on :)

*UPDATE 1*

I just fixed two big bugs for the game which were due to silly late night working while falling asleep on the game last night.

fixed: game hanging on html5
fixed: speed up of the game working (typo)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Humor3.74
#174Audio3.37
#271Graphics3.48
#323Fun3.24
#363Mood3.13
#494Innovation3.19
#532Overall3.19
#590Theme3.50
#1744Coolness28%

Comments

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Awesome fun! I love the sounds and the tune! :D also, random puppy speed up is genius. Very well put together. Impressed :D

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:20pm

cool graphics. wait times were a little odd.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Brilliant, I love stabbing the potato and blowing into the cartridge, playing with the sound is a definite plus, nice and simple game.

Was a little difficult at first to differentiate which games were a space, a space hold, or a mouse click, I'm still not sure how to speed up the bus!

sythe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Suggestions: Display a loading bar/indicator, and display the controls on the start screen.
Rather bizarre, neat little game. Quirky sound effects.

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:33pm

A little weird, but well made and surprisingly fun to play. Sometimes I didn't know what I did wrong, though - I DID add sugar! :) Also, the loading times seemed awfully long.

Catmoo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:40pm

@sythe & @rwos They aren't actually loading screens, they exist as a breather between games as well as a way to show you the lives. They aren't doing anything other than existing between games as the game is all loaded in on start. I was going to have music to indicate when they start and finish but I didn't have the time. They should speed up though as you keep playing, I guess I just made them a bit slow to start with.

Also @sythe I think the idea of displaying the controls on the menu screen is good, I reckon I'll add that in with any improvements I do.

Catmoo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Oh and @rwos sorry about the tea one, lots seem to do a hold and figure they're doing it. I should have made it a hold instead of repeatedly tap the space bar :) Holding definitely suits the gesture better, just over the weekend I thought otherwise.

lanz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Weird, but fun .) I liked "ohh" and "yee" best!

May 3, 2013 @ 11:35pm

I think it's pretty impressive to put this together in a weekend, some of the game left me a little bemused by the controls I should have used; I think just sticking to mouse gestures may have been helped in that regard. Having said that I get exactly the same frustrations happen with Warioware, and I guess Nintendo do alright out of this whole making videogames thing. Overall very cool

May 6, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Nice game! Almost all of the mini games are fun, except the one in which you blow the old cartdrige: i always lost a life on this one (I assume this is one in which you have to keep pressing space very fast?) Congrats!

Sebastian says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Interesting!

@Tiago: I think I beat that one by just holding down the spacebar..

davidwparker says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Interesting, cute little game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]