April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ALPHBT

by eli - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimalist puzzler with a wordy feel.

Something I dreamed up in microsleep on the first morning of the challenge, so I went with it.

Built in openFrameworks. Windows only -- a Mac version will appear if I can get my hands on a machine in the next few days. Source freely available on Bitbucket.

All sounds contributed during the competition by Choochy (age 11 weeks).

I generated the names of the levels so they would have nothing to do with their content or solutions. This is in response to what I believe mcc said about "indie games giving the solution in the level name" or something.

You may need the Microsoft VC runtime for VS2010
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=5555

Source freely available at:
https://bitbucket.org/elibrody/alphbt/

openFrameworks necessary for compilation:
http://www.openframeworks.cc/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#405Innovation3.31
#565Audio2.69
#657Theme3.44
#711Fun2.81
#872Graphics2.63
#940Overall2.81
#1828Coolness22%

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:45am

The gameplay didn't really open to me that much. Cute sounds, though :)

galman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:21pm

I really loved the idea of this game, it's really sophisticated! The game was very clear to me(In the good way) and it is really rewarding in the end. More levels would be awesome :D

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Great game! Well done :)

caranha says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:05pm

The sounds were very cute, the controls were nice and responsive, and the gameplay was interesting :-)

My only complaint is that the game was too short. When I was starting to get the hang of it, it ended!

Thanks for the game

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Interesting. I would have liked to see more, but what you have here was very solid. My only gripe was how much backspacing I had to do on the "Powerful Sunlight" level (the stairs one). Love the sounds! xD

sharbelfs says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:21pm

great game, loved it

zinfandel says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:07am

Very nice!! Played it and enjoyed it through the end.
Clever puzzle, it can go a long way from here as well.

The first time I played A was unresponsive from some reason.

May 4, 2013 @ 11:09am

Sadly it just crashes when I try to start it. :( (Windows XP, 32bit)

eli says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Thank you all for playing my game!!
Your positive comments surprise me and warm my heart.

eli says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:03pm

If you have trouble running the game, please try installing the VC Runtime:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=5555

eli says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Oh and ...
During any level, you may invoke "free mode" by pressing F12.
(Your "progress" will be lost. To return to the original game you have to close and reopen it.)

Tom 7 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Nice idea and implementation. I like the way it taught me the rules as part of the game. I was sad that it ended just as I felt I understood what was going on -- it badly needs a level or two that show off the puzzle possibilities. Good, though!

@SamPotasz says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:53pm

I really like the concept of building bridges toward your goal. Well done :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]