April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Gallery

by TehSkull - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is The Gallery, your only source of destructive minimalism fun. Take beautiful masterpieces and BLOW THEM UP.

I'M GONNA WRECK IT!

Best played in full screen (right-click, Go full screen).

Controls:
Left-click to fire, arrow keys to move.

When the purple block says "Nice!" you've won that level.
Try to score as low as you can on each.
Shoot the green block to reset the level.
Shoot the purple block to submit score and/or return to the level select.

The Web build is the only one tested so far. Far too sleepy to test it now. Mac/Linux users, please let me know if it works for you.

Recreated art featured:
Voice of Fire - Barnett Newman
Composition in Red, Blue, and Yellow - Piet Mondrian
Free Ride - Tony Smith

Bugfixes:
4/29 4:10 AM: Fixed serious bug in which the CurrentScore variable no longer resets. This was fixed using lines 44 and 49 in TNT.js.

5/2: Apparently the Web build never got the update from 4/29. That is remedied.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#543Humor2.24
#664Theme3.43
#821Graphics2.69
#982Innovation2.51
#991Fun2.49
#1084Audio1.21
#1127Overall2.57
#1206Mood1.97

Comments

amazon says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 5:30pm

You should capture the mouse :(

TehSkull says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:15pm

@amazon: Done. Should've done that a LONG time ago. :P
Thanks for the input.

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:45pm

It was cool to see which pieces of art you chose, and fun to shoot up Voice of Fire, but I had trouble getting shots to register on the other paintings, and the camera was very jerky.

ovenchips says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00pm

I'm a big fan of the 'select a level in-game' type of thing (in fact, I did the same in my game!). :) The level behind the viewpoint runs at very low framerate for me for some reason. Nice physics set pieces - very satisfying to take the rigid body stacks down.

TehSkull says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:06pm

@hissssssssss I haven't had any reports of issues with the Piet Mondrian piece. Can you be more specific? What platform are you on? If Web, have you tried the native version? I know the Tony Smith piece has a lot of issues on some computers. Too many boxes all having physics actions at once. Thanks for your input.

@ovenchips As a game designer, one of my favorite things is in-game menus. Another good experience of that variety can be found in Antichamber. Check it out sometime. Can you be more specific as to which level you're having troubles with? All of them have labels, which should help. Likely you're having trouble with Free Ride which is 117 rigid bodies and over 300 fixed joints. Thanks for your input.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:56pm

I especially enjoyed knocking down the Mondrian. Full marks for humor. Nice work.

Alexander says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:10am

I can't seem to get this to work? I am running osx, i click the mondrian, but the shooting doesn't seem to register any sound or visual effects??

eteeski says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:11am

cool idea. actually a good bit of fun. too bad on the last two levels the clicks stopped working :(

TehSkull says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:41am

@Dark Acre Jack - Thanks for the input.

@Alexander Thank you for reporting that issue. I'll try to get more reports in from other OSX users. Tell me, were you using the Web version or the OSX native version? The Mondrian is a difficult level to take down if you lack patience. It can be done in one shot though, a friend showed me how. Thanks for your input on the matter.

@eteeski Which 2 levels are you referring to? The Mondrian and Free Ride? I've noted that the Free Ride piece has a lot of lag until the first shot is fired. Why that is baffles me. Thanks for your input.

dark_hunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:38am

Nice graphics and physics!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:46am

It's fun for sure destroying art like this. Try to add some mood next time, maybe add some background or voices, because it's a good game !

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:00pm

It is always fun to shoot stuff up on a physics based environment.

I had some performance issues on my laptop. At the beginning of each level the framerate drops to the ground. Suddenly after the first shot it goes OK.
Lacks sound on my end (tried both WIndows and Web).

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:20pm

The concept was cool, but it lacked a bit in gaming fun. Nice idea though. Would like to see more of this.

TehSkull says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:01pm

@EdoMiyamoto One thing I regret is that I completely lack the ability to make music. No instruments, no synth programs. Doesn't help. The only way I'd be able to have music in it, is through help from a friend, which would mean it wouldn't be a Compo entry anymore.

@PsenFilip I haven't yet figured out anything on the performance front, but I know my comp has issues on the all black level too.

daniel2357 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:20am

I like this game. it a bit to easy. The theme is senn in this game. Cool game !.

DaveDobson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:53am

Voice of Fire was cool to shoot; I couldn't hit the Mondrian one at all (gun didn't shoot). I also heard no sounds. I liked the physics and graphics a lot.

netpro2k says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:00am

Nice integration of the theme. Had issues with 2 of the paintings no responding to clicks, but the one that did was fun to blow apart

May 1, 2013 @ 6:13am

Knocking over actual minimalist works is a fun idea. And I can never get enough of physics playgrounds. The Free Ride section ran sluggishly for me, but otherwise I enjoyed this a lot.

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:33am

Cool idea, I like how simple the mechanic is yet it still keeps me interested enough to play. Really nice job!

May 2, 2013 @ 7:42am

Crazy game, dont understand what i must to do, but i like the idea and graphics

Shigor says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:01am

The Free Ride Tony Smith completely kills my framerate (webplayer, chrome).
Also suggestion - make gun move only when Screen.lockCursor is true

Alucard J says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:23am

Fun physics game, reminded me of the Detonator pack. But destruction is always fun! I had major slow-down on the second level. Issue with drawcalls / textures not batching? Needed some audio (check out the Tools link on the LD 'site). Otherwise, keep making games, Well Done =]

Jan Marcano says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:52am

It was kinda clunky with the controls. First room played normally, second got ultra slow and I couldn't move well so I pressed return and it was normal again at the menu. Then at the third I clicked and nothing happened, I couldn't shoot down the piece neither could I return.

The concept was good anyways! I had fun :)

TehSkull says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Alucard J: This is my first experience with any 3D game programming. What do you mean by "drawcalls / textures not batching?"

Jan Marcano: The piece by Piet Mondrian is designed a bit awkwardly, but should behave normally. Just be patient when you fire. If you're still having issues, if you could give me more details, I'd love it. Free Ride, however has some major lag issues.

Xgor says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:56am

The voice of fire level worked fine, otherwise it was waaaaay to buggy.

TehSkull says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:29am

@Xgor What was wrong with the Piet Mondrian level? I'm well aware of the problems with Free Ride.

shawn42 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Had fun destroying these; it was fun but I'd definitely like to see you add a post compo version with lots of other levels. Nice work.

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Wreck it

Zim the Fox says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:31am

First of all, thank you very much for commenting on my game! <3 I will be posting updates on it soon.

I like the minimalistic art and being able to destroy it, but it lacks more content. Also, there seem to be some queer physics in here: http://i.imgur.com/Z2S5br1.png :P

Free ride is unplayable on the browser build. I'm running Win7 64bit on Maxthon.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:32am

Dangit, sorry for the double post. I'm tired and forgetful:

I'd love it if you'd told me what games like mine have you seen. I want this game to be fully a puzzler where you can take as much time as you want, but I can always take a hint or two from similar games.

May 19, 2013 @ 3:36pm

This was really fun. I would have loved to see more levels.

Jedi says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:55am

Take THAT pretentious bullshit! So cathartic! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]