April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Primary Reaction

by garygreen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Create a chain reaction between the symbols on the screen to clear the stage.

Do this by clicking on the screen to start the chain reaction.

You only have one click per stage to complete the stage.

Avoid contact with the "no" symbol otherwise you'll lose the game.

NB: To run the game on the Scratch page click on the green flag & click the mouse to start the game.

I used Scratch to make the game, Tile Studio for the graphics and sfxr for audio.

4/5/2013 I've linked to a Windows exe version of the game too, as I've found out that the Scratch site is due to be down at some point during rating/judging period.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#430Innovation3.28
#714Humor2.00
#788Audio2.29
#810Theme3.28
#838Mood2.60
#1009Graphics2.44
#1074Overall2.65
#1130Fun2.28

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:12am

lol, this game is pretty brutal, but in a good way. I'm not even totally sure what's going on, but I like it. =)

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:18pm

The visuals are garish but totally do it for me somehow. Same with the gameplay, come to think of it; I like it even if it doesn't fully click for me.

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Weird, but a lot of fun and a good idea to dig deeper !

kratorspore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:19pm

There's a jem of a really great idea here. However it was hard to plan any sort of strategy as the physics were too complicated/erratic and thus the game too hard. I liked the graphics.

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:22pm

WHAT IS GOING ON I DON'T EVEN

This is by far the most brutal game I've tried so far. I'm proud to say that I beat the first level. ^_^'

larb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Difficult to know what the result of a click is. But I enjoyed figuring it out. I wish I didn't have to redo all the early stages to get to the later ones.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:42pm

The idea its good, but its too hard! xD

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:16pm

A weird game, that's for sure. But it's a good weird!

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:10am

great concept. The sounds and wait between losing made it a bit annoying tough.

glisk says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:55pm

the concept is really intriguing, but honestly it's a little too hard to decide what to click and why, but the idea remains really cool

May 3, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Really unintuitive what will happen, but I liked it!

May 3, 2013 @ 10:50pm

a bit long waiting time when losing tough :(

garygreen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Thanks for the positive feedback everybody. :-) I plan to develop the idea & include a hint of which direction the 1st object will move in before you click.

Norritt42 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:59pm

I don't get it. Sorry I did try for about 40 times and I don't get why lose all the time.

kyru says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Weird game with off-putting sound but I like what it did. Fits the theme well.

May 14, 2013 @ 8:49pm

this is cool... would prolly like to see different objects and different ways for them to interact with the environment (little walls and stuff, maybe, idk) cool concept tho, very original...

garygreen says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Norritt42. You have to choose which object to click next to that will start the chain reaction. On the first screen if you click just below the triangle that will start of the chain reaction to destroy all of the other objects except the "No".

garygreen says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:00pm

I'm thinking I'll remake this game from the ground up some time. And I'll definitely take on board the physics and interaction with different objects ideas. Thanks all.

RawBits says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:23pm

I haven't see anything like this in my life. :) I get the idea but it's a little hard. Maybe with a little practice... I got scared by the sfx by the way. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]