April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Malice Mighty Maze

by Xellinus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first game actually completed in over 10 years. So that's something.

It's a 1 button interaction maze. Click to move.
The goal is to get to the magical vegetable with as much power (blue bar) as possible. Each click costs power. Moving through zones do different things. All that jazz.

It may not be a good game but, it's a game. ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#931Audio2.00
#1029Innovation2.42
#1029Humor1.48
#1175Mood2.10
#1187Theme2.72
#1238Fun2.00
#1243Overall2.36
#1255Graphics2.03

Comments

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32am

I know that feel when it takes 10 years to do stuff and finally make one game, i like it :)

Xellinus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:07am

Thanks. =)

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21am

Congrats on the first game in ten years. I know how it feels.

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:54am

I really liked it once I figured out the strategy in it. Great job!

Waynetron says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:21am

I found it a bit hard to work out how to play. I like the idea though.

NuSan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28am

At first, i though that the motion cost you, but it's a per click cost, so it whent from very hard to pretty easy. I like the color field idea.

GetFun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:34pm

great path finding

bvanschooten says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Nice game. Pity I have to start on level 1 every time. Also there are situations where I cannot avoid taking damage, at least I think so.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:33am

nice job -- little quirky but i like the idea with the different zones for movement

May 17, 2013 @ 8:01pm

The different fields make for a good mechanic, it's an interesting take on the theme.

Xellinus says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Thank you everyone! Great to see people liking it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]