April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Blue

by TheFudster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game starts out pitch black. Something has happened and the color has left everything. You play the embodiment of the color blue and it is your mission to find out what happened and set things right. Since everything is black you will need to navigate the world by adding a little bit of color. However, since the character himself is a color it costs a bit of himself (in other words, his health) to throw some paint around.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#169Mood3.44
#267Overall3.47
#291Audio3.14
#316Innovation3.43
#374Graphics3.30
#487Humor2.32
#533Theme3.56
#741Fun2.78

Comments

NAMKCOR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22am

The dialogue was so slow it was painful. Good idea, but it felt like a slog.

avidgamerNino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:39am

I like the pixel art,sound did not need a off button(like it was) Took me a slight second to click the yellow then try to shoot, unless someone said it and I missed it

guestcheap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22am

If I could offer one suggestion... don't go with too much text next time. You have a solid platformer mechanic, so in theory you really don't need to waste time on a story. Focus on level design.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22am

I agree with comments before me, felt a bit slow/sluggish, but a good concept!

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26am

Very polished for a game made in 48 hours.

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:27am

Pretty similar to the unfinished swan, but unlike that you can't control as well where you wanna shoot so you can't see stuff in front of you :x

TheFudster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41am

Thanks for your feedback. I generally feel like I was so worried about having a game with a beginning middle and end that gameplay itself got kind of left in the dust. I wanted to add more "weapons" for painting the world but I ended up not having enough time. Oh well there's always next time!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:14am

I like this, a side scroller "unfinished swan" approach. Good work. Dialogue is a little slow, but that is just balancing with time, which you dont get in 48 hrs! great stuff.

bummzack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Great game. I wish it was easier to aim though :)

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:33pm

There's a *lot* of content here for something made in 48 hours. It's good to see an LD game with some story!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:42am

I liked the gameplay and paint mechanic, though the dialog -while good- was a little slow and unminimal.

PixelOaks says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:39am

Wasn't sure at first but this is a pretty cool idea that I'd like to see some more of. Only had a few problems with this; the slow dialogue, the controls tutorial after the title screen showing the controls (minor problem but I hate tutorial levels lol), and trying to shoot while in front of an interactive object.

May 1, 2013 @ 12:44am

Overall a nice game, maybe jumping could have used the UP key instead of space. Otherwise, it's a good game! :)

sharbelfs says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:59am

Unfinished Swan 2D. And this is not bad if you think.
Terraria is a great success today.

May 4, 2013 @ 3:01am

Nice Idea!

zanzindorf says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:05am

That was pretty cool. I wish the read command was a different button than the shoot command. Signs kept getting in my way when enemies were after me. I thought it was very ambitious of you to include a story. I think you pulled it off. Good job!

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:03pm

This one put me in a hypnotic state! Very nice pigment ability... it gets tricky near the context-sensitive areas like doors and signs, but is really nice

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:07pm

A mix of unfinished swan and VVVVVV? :D
Loved it!

docix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Fantastic concept! Just needs to be a little quicker to get to content and moving through what you do have.

voxel says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:44am

Nice to see an entry that takes longer than 30 seconds to play :). Would have liked a little faster pacing but I think it works well

May 20, 2013 @ 11:13pm

>>don't go with too much text next time. You have a solid platformer mechanic, so in theory you really don't need to waste time on a story. Focus on level design.

This. Solid effort, but would have preferred to see quicker jump speed, way less text, and just let me play and explore. Text pop-ups are evil :)

Very solid for 48 hours though and a lot done here. Continue working on it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]