April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

X0RQUE

by qgi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

X0RQUE is a minimalistic space exploration/mining game.

The theme inspired the art style and the gameplay *cough*.
I used HTML5/JavaScript.

Works on Chrome, Safari and Firefox. The game is currently not playable on a mobile device.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#624Audio2.59
#816Theme3.27
#824Mood2.61
#968Graphics2.51
#984Humor1.63
#1009Fun2.46
#1074Overall2.65
#1077Innovation2.32

Comments

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22am

Fun idea, but it needs a win condition or something else to do. The links are broken for me. If you remove the www then you can access the game.

unclejunkie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54am

I liked the monochrome visual concept and exploration idea.

qgi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Thanks. The idea was to have some sense of inifinity/endlessness to it. So instead of a win condition it should have intermediate aims and clearer progress indicators would have helped.

Fixed the links.

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46pm

I loved the graphics, gameplay was fun and smooth, I kept pressing space to shoot at the start haha! :p

Ryxuma says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Cool game but the thing I get is that when I press space to shoot the browser moves down the page (As well as the player shooting)

sanojian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Nice game. Good music. Sometimes the coins/minerals would go flying off faster than I could catch them.

bigbazwa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50pm

I spent quite a while playing this, in spite of it not having a goal. It was pleasant just flying around collecting minerals.

Polar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Enjoyed the game, but I didn't quite get how cargo corresponded to station - it doesn't look to be 1:1, although I may be wrong. It would have been nice to see the station grow/shrink or something as an indicator - I definitely agree with the infinity aspect though.

qgi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41pm

The game has some systems/rules which aren't clearly visible or communicated. The station actually grows, but slowly. The ship speed at impact determines who fast meteor parts will move away. Larger meteors do more damage. Before unloading cargo is used to recharge the shield. Afterwards it grows the station (not 1:1) but linearly.

Anyways, thanks a lot for playing and commenting, learning a lot from the freedback

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:52am

I admit, I kept trying to destroy things with my station ping at first.. the natural instinct to not collide with things is pretty strong.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:11pm

This is actually conceptually almost identical to the project that I built last term. Except our project went through development hell and was barely comprehensible to people who didn't make it. Nice concept and execution. It really does need some goals.

And it ran fine in FF for me >_>

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Fun little game, smooth controls. Minerals are sometimes too fast to catch - maybe an afterburner would be a fun addition? The music gets a little bit repetetive after a while. Nevertheless nice one :).

tonic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:12pm

The ship controls are a bit weird, would be nice to see from shape which direction is the front. Nice twist to asteroids not having to shoot stuff. Nice game. :)

Exergy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Nice twist to a classic. The lack of a winning condition was the only downside! Well done :D

kunzbe says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:54pm

I felt a good mood here. the music track could have been a bit longer

Yakka says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:20am

There was no background when I tried it on Chrome and SPACE button was scrolling my page, so quite hard to play well :-/

Alucard J says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:46am

It was fun both having to collect objects and avoid objects. Well Done =]

xandy says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:39pm

good ideas. but this very short un-mutable music really killed the fun for me :(

qgi says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Thanks for the feedback, guys! I'll fix the bigger technical issues (Space, a mute button for the music and fix loading) when voting's over.
I'll try to come up with a longer music track (and some more substantial gameplay) next time.

AndyBumpkin says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:28am

Not too bad, certainly fitted the minimalism theme for me. The music got a little repetetive, but the gameplay was fun!

Would certainly play a more in-depth version where there was a more long term goal.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]