April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Stress Test

by MattySVN - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So this is the game i made in 48hours! I think it it okay for my 3rd time entering Ludum Dare. So i tried to keep the graphics and sounds to a minimum(trying to follow the theme minimalism). You use the Arrow key's to move around and try and avoid everything i.e walls and other squares! It was made in Action Script 2 using Adobe Flash. Please tell me if there are any bugs! Enjoy the game!

-MattySVN :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#539Audio2.73
#1054Fun2.40
#1072Innovation2.33
#1152Overall2.53
#1159Graphics2.20
#1247Theme2.60
#2059Coolness0%

Comments

Cybearg says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Neat puzzle game! Since it's about fighting the controls while doing the puzzles, I think that it does what it's trying to do well. I think there's a bit of buggyiness with some hit boxes, though, and I was sometimes sent back to the start even when I didn't visibly hit something, and I'd occasionally go right through one of the other squares without a collision detection.

Overall, though, an enjoyable game that's actually not as stressful as the name may imply, though still fun. :)

sparksgently says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:26am

Although it was hard to move around accurately, I liked the "feel" of the controls. There was a certain... pleasant elasticity.
One of the levels -- it had a green section in the middle, entrance on the left, exit on the right -- seemed to have an invisible bouncing box.

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:39am

a bit rough to manage, but still fun and I understood what you were going for :) Nice job!

Alink says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:30pm

I like the high inertia, but the collisions seems very imprecise. Good levels and the difficulty is well tuned.

MattySVN says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Thanks for the good feedback guys! :D

May 19, 2013 @ 1:01pm

i quite liked the controls actually.. collision seemed abit off but good overall :)

Xanjos says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 2:27pm

I can see why this is called 'Stress Test' because if you're not calm, you won't be able to breeze through this XD. Really loved how the controls worked and how it sets apart from every other simplistic 'guide something across an obstacle course' game out there. Overall, a pretty fun and challenging game.

Sebastian says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Controls took a while to get used to, but I guess they need to be difficult to prevent the game from being too easy. As others have mentioned: some weird collisions. But overall it's pretty cool.

May 19, 2013 @ 3:40pm

The collision detection needs work, but overall pretty good!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]