April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Minimalists

by S0larCode - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your universe is being destroyed. The Minimalists, a highly advanced and evil race, have begun to drain your universe of its detail and beauty to power their machines and aid in reproduction. However, there is only one object that the Minimalists can't harm. You guessed it, it's the potato. These objects are so unique that not even the technology of the minimalists can drain them. If you reunite the pieces of just one potato, the concentrated uniqueness of the reunited potato will start a chain reaction which will restore all of the detail in your universe. Pilot your ship using the arrow keys and fire by pressing the spacebar. Collect pieces of the potato from 5 different Minimalist motherships by first destroying their turrets, then attacking their hull. The fate of the universe lies in your hands. Good luck.

*This jar may not be compatible with some platforms. Please test it on your Linux/OSX system. Runs well on windows.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#374Audio3.00
#566Mood2.86
#643Fun2.89
#714Humor2.00
#928Graphics2.57
#929Overall2.82
#1053Theme2.96
#1204Innovation2.11
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:12am

Ship shooting was pretty difficult to control and keys and clicks were pretty laggy (Linux).

May 1, 2013 @ 9:33am

This is brutally difficult.

infinitedog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Run nice in Windows. It's difficult but remember me the old school shooters.
I like it.

zazery says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Loved the music and the art. It set a good mood for the story which I quite liked. I beat the game.

Anyone who is having trouble beating the game should be holding down spacebar for rapid fire. Your shots have a longer reach than the turrets too.

dalbinblue says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Quite difficult, also the in game music is pretty jarring, enough that I needed to turn it off. Title music was good though.

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:38pm

An enjoyable shooter.

ThirteenWB says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:54am

Playing under linux, was getting a solid 60 fps as expected.
Was pretty fun, but I had a tendency to die almost instantly. :/ Nice to see a game with good audio, I liked it :)

stevejohnson says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:41am

On OS X, I was able to launch the jar, but could not click [Start] or [About] to start the game.

madballneek says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:23pm

It's a challenge, which is good! I'm going to assume it was a design decision to keep the player bullets traveling at the same speed as the player ship when you shoot at full velocity?

KEFIR says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Nice oldschool game! I think you should give a little more health to player.

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Reminds old school shooters. Good job!

PhilZ says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:47pm

It was an okay game. It was very challenging. I would have liked been able to go backwards. Music was pretty good, very "spacey". Overall and okay game.

nathanj439 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Fun old school shoooter. I liked the slight dissonance in the music. I thought it fit the game well.

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Very hard, but pretty fun. The arrow mechanics worked well but were kind of in the way of the action.

Jellycakes says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Plays pretty well. I enjoyed it, was really fun. Good job potatoes exist otherwise we would be doomed. Nicely done.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]