April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

soundscape

by Ragzouken - 48 Hour Compo Entry

a maze in which you must navigate by sound

when you've won, or had enough and pressed escape, you can see your route overlaid on a map to form some minimalist art

keyboard / mouse / xbox 360 controller

the closer the object you are looking at is, the higher the pitch the noise it emits
at the closest to a wall you will hear static
the heart beats louder as you approach it
headphones may be better than speakers

p.s don't worry if you find it very difficult to navigate, because it is. ideally you need more information than i give

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
Innovation4.54
#20Theme4.36
#70Audio3.69
#105Overall3.76
#183Mood3.41
#271Fun3.32
#433Graphics3.21
#470Humor2.35

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:00pm

awesome game i made after like 200 trys

evelyn-jolli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:41am

it's a kool game and also made my ear hurt

GetFun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:13am

Very original game. I like it!

ella guro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:19am

i like this idea a lot. i had some trouble navigating, though. i'd move a really long time in the direction of the static and i never got anywhere. maybe i'm missing something. though a lot of it was that i had to stop after awhile cause it was hurting my ears

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21am

Neat idea!

Infin8 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26am

Very fresh take on the entire theme! I couldn't get the hang of it though and trying to memorize the layout when the it was zooming in didn't help much :(

B says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:27am

Interesting concept. Haven't seen any game like it before :) It's a bit difficult to tell which sound is good and which is bad for navigation though. But +1 for innovation :)

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:30am

ella, yeah I think I made a bad choice on the static/movement - it's supposed to signify that you are almost touching a wall, so movement isn't going to do anything. However my code actually lets you slide along walls so it doesn't really tell you the whole truth. The screen will always make it look like you are moving even when you are stuck - I didn't want to give any information about shape visually, but I think it's just confusing.

It is very difficult to navigate - even with the same information presented visually instead of aurally I think it would be too difficult to navigate... imagine and FPS where all the walls are coloured by how far away they are but you can only see a single vertical slice of the screen.

NiallM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:28pm

I like the idea, but this is hard! For some reason I had a lot of trouble judging when the heartbeat was louder/quieter, and how close I was to the exit. I think I'd have found it easier if the speed of the heartbeat varied rather than the volume.

Love the zoom out at the end, and seeing the path you traced through the map.

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Very cool, nice concept!

Ysty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Very neat indeed. The map it gives you at the end is a really good touch.

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:49pm

This is pretty freaking cool.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Very original and intriguing game. Best played with headphones, obviously.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Brilliant idea!

Moving at the same time that you move around with the mouse is a bit messy, though. Keys only worked best for me.

Despite this minor issue, congratulations for a great job! :)

adventureloop says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

This game is freaking awesome, Im not really sure what to say. I could easily have say here for hours trying to find my way out.

Well Done Ragzouken

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:24pm

It was a little creepy. I think sometimes I was running into a wall, but the background was still moving. That's confusing.

VDZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Very interesting game. However, the difficulty is very high and the learning curve is very steep - it took me ages to figure out how everything worked, and even after I understood how it worked it was still extremely difficult.

VDZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:44pm

By the way, the game freezes for me when I don't have my gamepad plugged in but I do have bluetooth input devices configured. Apparently it's checking for gamepad input even if there's no gamepad (analog stick is probably also a requirement), as long as there's some other input device. (I occasionally connect my Wii Remote to my PC via Bluetooth; it's an input device, but not a gamepad.)

Screenshot of error: http://i.xomf.com/bkwsz.png

Felix20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Ooh very nice concept and good game. It was fun and it its the theme good. I like how it shows your path when you're done.
The weird thing is when you look away from the heart it sounds the loudest. The first time I failed misserably, until I looked at my path and saw I was going in the opposite direction :P

alts says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:05am

This is excellent. It took me a while to figure out the controls, but once I got the hang of it I really enjoyed navigating the maze. I'm still not sure how I feel about the static movement. On one hand, it helps to be so audio focused, but without directions, and without helping guide the player in the direction of static = wall, it's easy to get lost. Fantastic work.

argo15 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:37pm

The path at the end is a nice touch.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:03pm

This is really excellent! I love that it gives you a picture of your itinerary at the end, giving you an idea of how you stumbled around. This little idea pretty much makes the game for me.

BleuLlama says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Really original and challenging without being tedious. I really enjoyed this one! Thanks!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Interesting mechanic, haven't seen that before! Was fun to play with. Nicely made although a bit short. Would appreciate more levels!

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:12pm

I didn't really find it difficult at all. It was amazing to explore!
I got the hang of it pretty quickly. The hints you have left under the description are enough for finding out what is is about. Very good experience

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Awesome game. Somehow it was fairly addicting, and seeing your path at the end as a nicer extra. Good take on the theme!

paulmcgg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Really interesting idea using a kind of 'sonar'. Works much better than nearly any audio-only spatial game I've played. Well done.

sharbelfs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Very nice, it's extramally innovative!

Tifu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Great concept, though I cannot find the heart at all, I don't seem to notice any change in the volume of the heart beats. But maybe I'm just wandering in circles :P

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:45pm

This is really cool! Love the unique concept and use of audio as a game mechanic :D

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:21pm

One of most innovative games in the LD so far!

Norgg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:45pm

yes Yes YEs YES YES.

May 1, 2013 @ 12:28am

The user created map at the end is great and this game fits the theme so well. It nearly eliminates the use of vision, and makes a compelling, minimalist, audio based puzzle. Very cool.

Potentialing says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:08am

Very creative idea, and tons of fun for a while! Unfortunately, the frequency changing made the audio very unenjoyable to listen to, though to be fair, there wasn't really a way around that. Graphics were minimal but clear, though!

loxo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:20am

Very challenging game, especially due to the hexagonally frame. And I like the map at the end, where you can see the way you went. The game fits the theme very well, overall.

Xaychru04 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:23am

This idea is very original, and a sound game is very cool. It's pretty difficult to find the right cell, and the only bad point I think is that when we're moving toward a wall the dots on the background are still moving...

yokcos700 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:25pm

While creative and innovative, I simply can't find this game largely fun. However, the idea is excellent and its workings seemingly completely sound. (pun intended)

nintendoeats says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:38pm

The fact that the background moves even when you are up against the wall is incredibly confusing, which I assume is the point. I do really wish that I could press a button to turn off the pulse from a beam, if if only for a second or so. I often had a lot of difficulty picking out the heartbeat.

Neat concept, and nice selection of sounds. Did start to give me a headache after a bit.

wzl says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:40pm

The sounds chosen where highly irritating and i couldn't bear the game for too long. A shame since i liked the idea. Would love to see a different or more comfortable sound design in it. Good work overall!

Dir3kt says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Very nice idea! Tried a few times but didn't managed to win :/ It's very funny to see the path at the end.

Oh the static sound was a bit irritating but I guess it was on purpose because it means you are blocked.

henrykun says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Really nice idea!

Spiridios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Made it! Very interesting game. The moving dots were confusing, because at first I thought they indicated my actual movement, not just the direction I'm trying to go. I think adding some positional feedback would help, so rather than just volume make use of stereo. Also, to orient the player, the first level could have the maze visible so you get a mental connection between the sounds and movements. THEN take away the visuals. It gave me some ideas for my sound-based game.

Ragzouken says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Yeah you are quite right about positional feedback - I have a few ideas of audiogames that can do this better. I'm now following you on twitter so hopefully you will post something there if you do any more audiogames :)

Test User says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:09am

VERY innovative. I don't think I've ever played anything like it. My two suggestions are easier sounds on the ears and a little more global sense so you know where you are (maybe if the walls were still invisible, but the outside of the maze and the heart were visible so you have some sense where you are going and where you are in a relative sense at least). Really cool concept overall.

wademcgillis says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Sad :(


Error

joystick.lua:42: attempt to perform arithmetic on local 'dx' (a nil value)

Traceback

joystick.lua:42: in function 'poll'
joystick.lua:101: in function 'poll'
main.lua:258: in function <main.lua:248>
(tail call): ?
(tail call): ?
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

wademcgillis says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Also, don't you need to supply the source to be able to enter the competition?

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Sorry wade, this is probably because you have a joystick plugged in that doesn't have an analog stick - my code is not very robust. You can open the .love file as a zip to see the source, but I should add a zip.

kovacs says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:09pm

This is *really* cool. I kept my eyes closed almost all the time and I think that helped me focus. I've never played a game by sound only before. It's really different. Must be a bit like finding ships using sonar. I can imagine getting quite skilled at it - there must be tricks you could learn to help navigate.

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Super cool concept, and masterfully executed. Closing my eyes regularly helped a lot. I thought this would be LOT harder, and tons more frustrating, but after starting to get the hang of it, the stereo nature of the heartbeat really helped me get my bearings. The map at the end is spectacular, and really makes it all worth it! What would really be fun with this is to have another screen (hidden from the player) show others in the room where the player is, so they can watch as you stumble around blindly. =)

Kvisle says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 1:28pm

This game is really cool. I didn't manage to win yet, but it def. deserves some special kind of attention. The mechanic is great, and wonderfully implemented. The only downside is that I can't show it to people I know who are hearing impaired on one side.

SamoojaMies says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:28am

Cool innovation here

MinionStudios says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Is really fun, but extremely difficult.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]