April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

DeaN

by Sakuyan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(To be honest I recommend you watch the Story mode video rather than play it ;-; *i'm sorry* it seems buggy to most people)

Controls are (Up Down Left Right) and Escape is to get out of the current game.

All of the things you see were done within the 48 hours.
;-; my wrist is red.

Second time competing in LD48, tried to put in as much as possible!

Sorry if the game mechanics feel clunky, I'm a really horrible programmer. >_<

Also if you get frustrated with the storymode please try to play the game mode, it's much better! (I think... >_<)

[Edit] Tell me your highest scores on the Game mode! :)
[Edit2] My high score is 1042

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#42Graphics4.17
#291Mood3.21
#344Humor2.57
#644Overall3.09
#908Innovation2.64
#922Fun2.59
#1018Audio1.66
#1053Theme2.96

Comments

StuStutheBloo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:40am

Cute. You were right that the game mode was a lot more fun than the story mode, haha. Having to press enter while you're trying to play was very distracting.

saguaro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41am

I like the aesthetic. In both modes, I reached a point early on where I was no longer encountering any enemies.

gokuhd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39am

Beautiful graphics :), did you make the drawings by yourself?. For some reason at the begining I didn't know I could move back and forward. My highest score was 335 :) not so good :(. Nice game!.

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:49am

Why are the cars so big

jgnilka says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11am

Those cars are gigantic

TrentSterling says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:33am

Is it bad that I just want to kill all the old people?

Also, at first, I thought enter/space was the only button and I was getting so confused! Helps to read I guess!

bobo72a says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:40am

I somehow bugged out and was no longer encountering anybody, but it was fun up until then!

chobrah says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:16am

Love the art, very well done.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:41am

Oh man, those old people death animations xD

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16am

game feels a bit empty, but the graphics are awesome

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:52pm

cars so big oh gosh

Spanfile says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Sometimes the game spawns clusters of people you can't just avoid. But to think of it, so does my game :)

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Great graphics and good game play. Once the initial group of people were done there were only sporadic encounters making the game quite boring and easy.

free_napalm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Great graphics, but I closed each game mode when no obstacles appeared for a long time.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:56pm

The animations are really well done. Great job!

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Very nice graphics. I too ran out of enemies in story mode.

Webravenz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13pm

nice graphics, but I too ran out of ennemies, with (so) long pauses in story mode

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:57pm

These graphics <3
I ran out of enemies as well.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:11pm

The game advances a bit slowly. Nice storytelling and graphics!

Tinco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Very pretty game, but unfortunately there's a bug where after a while there are no more enemies, in chrome on linux it is rather soon.

Spierek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:26pm

The pacing in the story mode could've been much better, and the game lacks some audio in the background, but man...

Those adorable animations are making up for it nicely :)

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Deeeeaaan! Love the graphics! Animations are beautiful, and I love the little heart meter <3 This is cute. I wanted to get the girl, but playing with the cutscenes just takes too long, gets frustrating when you suck at games like me.

atraxgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:04pm

It's a very original take in the runner category, also graphic is very nice.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:26am

One-word- Awesome.

visibleatom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:00am

Someone tell Dean that he could avoid a lot more people if he stopped walking :P

GameNacho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:14am

Great art style!

daydalus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:30am

Really great looking game. Love the smooth animation and style of the game world. Nice twist on Infinite Runner style gameplay. I did find one issue - when I played story mode, or game mode and got past ~300, no more enemies would spawn. Other than that, great work!

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:56am

Cool. Wasn't sure about the difference between game and story modes. Liked the graphics a lot. Wanted some sounds. Like another, it reminded me of: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1BiMYjVvhxE

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:58am

This is a really lovely entry. I was sad that the story mode just suddenly turned into an endless walk... was that intended? Game mode was innovative in the sense that the danger was not you being killed by an obstacle, but rather that you want to avoiding killing them.

I killed a little girl with a balloon... It was an accident!

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:39am

Strange...I never encountered anybody ever, but I did like the visuals!

multikorv says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:23am

Nice artwork and style! Not sure about the goals though.. All of the sudden nothing spawned.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:31am

The graphics are lovely. The game mode was a lot better than the story mode, since that seemed to take ages to get started. It would have been nice with some audio, since you can definitely feel that it's missing.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Very good graphics, cute little story !

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Great endless runner story/concept, love the death animations, had to reset the game just to watch them all.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Nice pixel art and your animations are cutely good. You sure had focused on visual :)
Too bad for the game. Around 400, nobody spawned so I could let the little guy running forever and ever without meeting anyone.

Good job anyway :)

(oh, I was sure your graphic style felt familiar, I remember you from Limit. No wonder the animations are so great)

rujo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:07pm

nice alternative to classic autorunners
the pixel art is superb, in particular on the player and the choice of the limited palette.
very good entry.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Love the idea and the graphics. The gameplay wasn't too innovative, but still fun!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:09pm

It bugged out on me as well, but I watched the video.

Gameplay: fine for what it is, but I feel like better hitboxes/more refined controls are in order to make it properly fun.

Story: that is really excellent use of gameplay/story integration! it gets a bit clunky waiting for the text to come up and then cycling through it slowly, but the way the story gives your actions varying context and goals that directly relate to the meaning of the mechanic is handled really well. Excellent job! I just wish it ran p_p

igrowbeards says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:35pm

I liked the concept and art a lot but i got the "nothing to do here" bug very early on both modes unfortunately - please fix that after the judging ends, i'd like to give this one another try in a more complete form

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:53pm

You did some seriously job with the graphics and animations. Love it!

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Cool concept, and I really like the art style.

Zed says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:01pm

I liked it! Very cute. I got 3,053. Here, I took a screenshot for proof and everything. http://i.imgur.com/uVEl5YG.png

Stiju says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Nice and cute graphics, would have been nice with some audio.
Story mode had way too many "Press Space or Enter" moments but other than that it was good.

Highscore in game mode: 606.

Szedouu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:34pm

excellent graphic design!

Cryovat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:58pm

It looks gorgeous, you did a great job on the visuals. I'm very envious of your spriting skills.

Unfortunately, it's buggy on my machine (Chromium, Ubuntu). During the story mode, it seems to get stuck and in game mode, they stop spawning.

Thanks for the video, I'm glad I got to watch the story to the end. :)

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Love the pixel art.

richtx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:30am

I really like the style. The game is a bit slow in pacing, otherwise it was a great game.

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:55am

Like the graphical style. Very polished!

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:27am

Great backstory and art style! Really sucks you in :)

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:44am

Love the Dean sprite! Very cute and well-animated :D The graphics set a nice mood but having to press Enter almost felt like pausing/interrupting the game. Great job!

May 1, 2013 @ 4:45am

I liked the game. Some details could be added, like a font type in text skip ("Press Space or Enter") similar of a menu font type. But, in Overall it's a great game, i love the art style.

MaxSzlagor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:19am

Awesome graphics! I was able to play game mode just fine but story mode had no enemies in it. Would love to hear some audio as well. Great job on making an interesting world. Thanks for sharing!

Crazi456 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:17am

Very amusing, great art!

ddionisio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:39am

The sappiness and cuteness of this game overwhelmed me! I couldn't handle it! Beautiful pattern and artwork! The story was a bit cliche but it got interesting. Especially near the end!

I got stuck after I was told to kill 100 old men, do I really have to do that? I ended up just watching the vid :P

Needed some sort of audio, but the story and art felt more than enough for me.

Great work!

robotality says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:06am

That was nice, even if the story mode seems to be broken. No one was there to jump over...

Aceria says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:18am

Nice while it lasts, but I also suddenly stopped having anyone to avoid. Lovely visual style!

juaxix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:12am

I love the graphics, looks like made in Paintbrush (WindowsXP) XD
I'm in a infinite loop of streets with the same things...

Skywilly says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:06am

Great concept & cute graphics. Very nice idea ;)

May 1, 2013 @ 12:12pm

I like it :) It is an addictive fun game :)

WiseGAMER says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:13pm

very good graphics and animation , the story is simple yet enough , I hated those flying girls :(

NuSan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Sad story, but great mood and i realy like the art style. Controls seem fine to me, but after several second, the number of people to not touch drop a lot, until a point where ther is no challenge, and no fun at all ... This entry is realy great i think

caranha says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:16pm

I really liked the graphics style, and the "la la la, I'm a cute little boy WITH THE TOUCH OF DEATH" was a cute twist.

Story mode is not working. After "he avoided as much as possible", nothing else happens. Game mode was a bit hard.

I liked the idea, hope you iron out the rest of the game :-)

BrothersT says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Very nice! but ran out of enemies after only 2 passed :(

Casino Jack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Really beautiful graphics. I think the story mode might be bugged though: after the intro I came across one person, then absolutely no-one else (left it running for a good few minutes). Game mode seems to work fine.

Grouflon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:47pm

The game is a bit classic in the gameplay but the controls responds well and it's quite challenging on some obstacles. But I can't figure out why old ladies want to kill you... It's a bit strange :) I think the game is not finished surely because you focused so much on the graphics and the animation (superb) that you forget the core gameplay.

LizEngland says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Really excellent art - you managed to pull together a beautiful game while still staying true to the minimalist theme.

Celticraft49 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Great Game! The ending is so sad though.

Tozy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:40pm

5* on graphics! I love those animations. Also some of the deaths are funny xD
Well, enemies stopped spawning for me too :/
The story mode has this bug too, wich makes it anoying :P

Broxxar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:43pm

I felt this was more of an animated story, player input felt it had little to do with it, and it just sort of played out on it's own, at a slow pace.

rubapi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:53pm

I think it goes not with the theme "minimalism" but i really love the story and the graphics.

omaromeir says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:59pm

At a certain point no more enemies appeared in story mode. I tried game mode and it's a cool idea. Amazing art btw, the bugs are expected and can be fixed but what's there at the moment is amazing ;).

Rafael Sales says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Awesome game. The art is fantastic and the reverse concept of death is interesting.

rzfmzn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:01am

Loved your art, imo you could make things a bit more difficult overtime, like spawning more of those ballon guys. After a while (around 600 points i think) the game just became empty =O(
nice work tho =OD

Arcana says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:02am

NIce artwork, but story mode seemed to bug out on me. Gameplay seemed to be along the lines of "avoid the enemies", was that right? Seems like there's something really solid here though.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:23am

Neat concept. I quit after about 600 points because it seemed like nothing was happening and it was stuck in a loop.

Tiago says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:42am

Nice graphics and animations! Hard game too, only got too 244 points! Just missing some sounds to give it the right mood but good job overall!

lotusgame says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:52am

Graphics are so cute ! I really like your design style :) The story is interesting but there is no obvious relationship with the theme. I did 828 but i've got a long run without any obstacles.

May 2, 2013 @ 1:48pm

I love the story, starts off fun then gets sad, then gets really evil and then sad again. Ran into a bug where the enemies stopped appearing and then nothing happened. Great Job!!!

PhaZ90771 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Really cool concept. I wish there was a way to heal your character, like in the story mode. Maybe have a pet dog that will appear every once in a while that you need to survive, but could kill off if you get too close.

PhaZ90771 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Really cool concept. I wish there was a way to heal your character, like in the story mode. Maybe have a pet dog that will appear every once in a while that you need to survive, but could kill off if you get too close.

My high score so far is 928.

Andrei Barsan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:31pm

The animations were great. Sadly, I also encountered the bug that lowered the enemy spawn count dramatically.

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Good graphics. Story mode never went into game mode or anything. Just endless scrolling. Tried the gamemode and it was fine.

May 2, 2013 @ 10:25pm

great gfx .good job :)

May 3, 2013 @ 1:13am

Excellent story and graphics, well done :)

AaronYip says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:13am

The story was cute, and the animations were very pretty but felt kinda morbid to me. o_O Lol, great job. (:

MvT says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:43am

So cute game, nice job dude.

amodo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Very "cutiful" graphics and nice story. Unfortunately, too few people showed up when I had to collect the souls, so i didn't sit through it. But still, awesome job.

May 3, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Lovable visual aesthetics and a pretty decent game to play. Won't complain since you had a limited time to make this and still it came out pretty well if you ask me.

mostley says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:48pm

great Graphics!

zeelyndz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:53pm

This is absolutely adorable I love it. I like the story too :)

miotatsu says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:34am

really impressive for 48 hours and the artwork is really great

messiano says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:14am

Congratulations on the graphics, awesome work! Love the heart animation.

SmilingCat says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:59am

Like the Gameboy style graphics. I also ran out of enemies in Game Mode, at about 500 points, so I didn't get to play long.

omaha says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:56pm

loved the art

May 4, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Wow... that's a heartbreaker. Very original set-up, and as for the graphics: this is the first game in this compo I've given a solid 5-star ranking for graphics. I particularly love the balloon girl, and how the balloon bursts when Dean... does his thing.

Unfortunately, I can't give this game a very high Overall score, since it seems to be unfinished: Story Mode has no other sprites, and Game Mode just runs out of sprites after a while.

I really hope you keep developing this game after the compo. The graphics and mood in this piece are amazing.

mortl8324 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:53am

I just get a blank screen? Maybe it's my internet since it seems to work for everyone else....

Angerus says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:46am

Very neat game and interesting concept!

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Really good! Liked the art style and the story you made.

Infin8 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:48am

Nice aesthetics and great story

alcazar says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:45am

The visuals are cool, and i like that you made it on constuct2 gg

gosferano says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Nice game. I like mood, gameplay, graphics. Everything.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Love the art style, Good use of theme.

ovenchips says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Graphics are the star of the show here. Beautiful - you have an awesome talent of which I'm very jealous! Please add some audio to this post-compo - it's a crime not to. Wasn't sure of the connection with the theme - but I'm probably missing something.

Catman says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:32am

Nice mood and graphics, simple mechanics in a novel setting. Good job!

May 7, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Lovely animations and a pretty cool story. I can't really play the game since "enemies" stop spawning after a while in both game modes, but judging from the video and my first few impressions it's really well done.

May 8, 2013 @ 6:06am

Such cute exploding people!

mildmojo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:54am

Beautiful art and animation. Gameplay's pretty simple, but that's okay.

I watched the video of your story mode, but it didn't match my gameplay. In both game and story mode, obstacles just stopped showing up after a little while and I could walk forever. FF 20, Linux.

deathray says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:39am

It was interesting... good graphics, dark mood. Dean always dies, huh?

xdegtyarev says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:54am

Looks very cute, but after a while there is now obstacles spawned

Make A Game says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:46am

It's a beautifull game, congratulations.
Poor Dean.

Fnkee says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:49am

Wow, top score on graphics. Lovely animation, and an entertaining story. Poor Dean. After 290 points I stopped encountering people btw. Would love to see more of this, with harder levels and perhaps new kinds of people. Once again, them animations were splendid!

angelk says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:29am

The graphics are outstanding. The motivation that you kill people by touching them, but you don't want to is very cute, and coupled with the art style starts to tell a nice story. Great job!

Nikteddy92 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Really nice graphic, but it lacks of audio and enemies.. little bit boring..

Zener says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Great idea and lovely graphics!!

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:21am

Very cute graphics. The story mode did not work quite well for me (nothing to avoid?), so I played the game mode and it was pretty fun!
Good entry overall :)

Jod says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:31am

Sadly it bugs when I need to gather a 100 souls. Love the idea, very thematic. The gameboy graphics just rock :).

May 14, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Sorry, but i have to get up early tomorrow, can't just wait until he kills 100 grandpas... Which is a shame, I would have liked to know the end...

theomnis says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Watching people die has never been so much fun!

Purplescape says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Interesting graphic style, and in greyscale. The people with balloons were especially difficult to avoid sometimes. Great story idea.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]