April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Shrinking Contract

by pikmin4000 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Shrink. Just. Shrink.
This retro game is like Mario meets Pong!

Space to Shrink.
Arrow keys to move.

How is this minimalism?
Well, when I googled it, google said an artistic movement. Movement. That gave me the main mechanic to mess around with. I did not add any special features to over complicate things I wanted to keep it as 'elegant' as possible. I also took in the artistic approach as well by implementing a clean shape-ish design to all the objects in the game (including the player)- the goal is to collect triangles. I'm keeping the story as simple as possible. I also only have 5 different colors throughout the whole game. I only have 5 words throughout the whole game as well trying to keep explanation to a bare minimum. My last reason is the word minimalism itself. I took the prefix 'min' and made that the main mechanic- to Shrink.

Game made by Andrew Hoyt, AKA. pikmin4000, AKA. chillhammer.com

Music made by Daniel and Sam (Estudio Evergreen)
http://estudioevergreen.wordpress.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#185Innovation3.63
#416Overall3.30
#428Audio2.92
#478Fun3.07
#566Mood2.86
#699Graphics2.86
#732Theme3.36
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:12am

For a better experience, play the windows version. If you insist, play it on Google Chrome to hear all the sounds and music.

Fervir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

The game's pretty tough, due to the controls, but I really like how the shrinking mechanic works.
For some reason when I move left or right, I jump as well.
Tighter controls, and this would be a pretty cool platformer

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:11am

what a crazy weird (and hard) game this is! in a good way.. great fun!

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26am

Very interesting but hard to master shrink mechanics.

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:17pm

@Fevrir - well you have to jump when you move left or right as it gives a new sense of direction for you to minimize and move in that direction.

free_napalm says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Nice shrink mechanic, but I was unable to pass through the first level where you had to go through a small passage.

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:32pm

@ free_napalm thanks! all i can say is that with only three controls, I was able to make several techniques to make the game easier/possible to play, like sliding on the floor with friction perhaps

Thanat0s says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:01am

You gave me a very nice and thorough review so I figured you deserved the same. :D
It's such a wonderful mechanic! Takes some time to get used to, but man, it's cool.
I got stuck on the second level, so there are a couple hitbox issues, but other than that I really like it!

AlbertoSM says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Weiiiiiiiird game. Yet fun!

SmilingCat says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Interesting mechanic, at least if I'm playing it right - move, and hit space when dude is heading at the angle you want to fly.

HelkeGames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Nice game, very minimal! :D

spacechase0 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Seemed like level 5 was harder than 6 for me, but it was very fun. Needs more levels. :P

aquilicoco says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Good game. I's a little hard to master

Blinked says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Pretty good, but the controls made it a pain, though that may have been intentional. Overall pretty good though.

May 3, 2013 @ 11:06pm

This game is very hard... But I like the graphics and the audio of this game :) ... Great game.

Fnkee says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:19am

Awesome concept. So simple, yet very addicting. Took me a couple of tries to understand the mechanics, but once I got the hang of it, it was really fun! Goodfeel music as well. Good job! Top score on innovation!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]