April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fading

by Blizzil - Jam Entry

There is only one download link but it's a flash game, so you can play it on every OS (Edit: As suggested i embedded the game on a webpage and added the link).

Fading is a stealth game were you need to sneak past some bad robots to steal one of the last living things on a destroyed world. (Tutorial + 1 Level). Sadly i had to scrap an entire gameplay element because i could not get it to work in time, but i hope it is a little fun anyway.

Controls:
------------

Move ... Left & Right Arrow Keys
Jump ... Space
Double Jump ... Hold Space

You hide automatically behind objects
(player is shown grayed out)


Tools used:
---------------

* Programming: Flash (IDE: FlashDevelop / Engine: Flixel)
* Art: Inkscape
* Music: Bfxr & Audacity
* Level Editor: DAME

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#265Graphics(Jam)3.23
#282Humor(Jam)2.10
#285Fun(Jam)2.85
#322Mood(Jam)2.76
#340Overall(Jam)2.94
#361Theme(Jam)3.03
#382Innovation(Jam)2.61
#405Audio(Jam)2.12

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:04am

Enemies look cool. Pity we can't sneak yet!

acro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Nice simple mechanic and I like the enemies. It’s a shame you didn’t get a chance to implement all the features, what I played was still fun though. Well done.

rxi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:00pm

I found it a bit strange that you didn't embed the game on a page somewhere, rather than making the user download it -- I imagine the swf would also play on OSX and Linux, so some people may be missing out on the game assuming they require windows to play it.

Really liked the stealth aspect of the game, someone made something quite similar last ludum dare (though without robots), but your attempt is much better. The level design felt solid too.

The graphics were minimalist and stylized and I felt fitted well with the theme of minimalism without just being a way out of making nice graphics.

The sounds fitted very well with the content. I've never heard a robot suddenly become suspicious, but I imagine if I ever did encounter this in real life it would sound exactly as you portrayed it.

It's a shame you had to scrap an entire game mechanic, but I think it's something everyone who's entered this competition has had to deal with more than once, so it's very understandable!

The ending was very depressing.

Blizzil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Thanks for the feedback, much appreciated! Only having a Windows download link is a good point, i added a mention in the description.

ahm99 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:37am

Go to edit your entry, then change the name from windows, to something like "Download (all OS)" That way, non windows users won't go away right away.

ahm99 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:49am

Pretty cool.

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:04am

I really liked this. I know right? thought provoking commentary. I really liked the look, and the great choice of colors. gameplay was simple, but enjoyable. I feel like music would've been nice... but not like, full on music. just like a periodic stealthy cello riff.

smealum says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:30pm

i felt like it was too easy to avoid enemies just by jumping over them. it's also usually possible to just run through and hope you make it to the water cooler in time. other than that, good idea, solid base imo. :)

Jiddo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:26pm

I really liked the graphics for all the objects in the game. The level itself was a bit boring, but I guess it fits well into the theme since it still clearly conveys everything it needs to.

The gameplay was simple, but it worked really well. The only complaint I have is that the jumping "physics" felt a bit iffy. I'd rather see faster jumps with more gravity and adding some sort of momentum rather than just immediately stopping in mid-air if you let go of the direction keys.

The game worked well on Linux, but as mentioned before, it'd be much more convenient for users if you just embed it in a webpage.

Also, the alarm sound when detected by the evil robots is truly menacing. It really got me thinking: "Omg, what have I done?!"

Great work!

reverso13 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Nice game =)

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Fun and simple idea, I love how the protagonist robot fades behind the water coolers!

May 2, 2013 @ 2:31pm

I must admit I didn't get to the end - a silly mistake sending me back to the beginning got me pretty discouraged. But I like the aesthetics, the simple mechanic and level design.
As rxi already pointed out - I'd recommend embedding the game on a webpage - you can even do so on dropbox - that's the most comfortable way to experience a game, and since it's a flash game, you can do that! It does indeed work on OS X and probably other platforms, but I'd imagine a vanilla install of OS X or UBUNTU not knowing what to do with an .swf file. Oh, and don't use .rar! It's an outdated closed proprietary format - zip is good enough and works on everything. I just noticed i'm sounding like a rant, so once again - good entry, love the looks! ;)

Alphonsus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:10pm

I love the clean minimal graphics as well as the level design. Awesome work!

May 8, 2013 @ 6:09pm

I like a good stealth game, and this one has a neat mood and (minimalist) graphics. The writing was very nice. My only complaint is that the difficulty is pretty unforgiving in places.

A solid entry. The tutorial level is well implemented, too.


SPOILERS

The ending made me a bit melancholy. Good job. (Though I'm still somewhat in shock that the MacGuffin wasn't a potato. Not that this is a bad thing, though.)

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Great look, and nice directing.

PapaGrimbles says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Really dig the core hiding mechanic. Simple, yet really effective use of the layers. Nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]